What FreeAntiVirus Software Today Comes with a Toolbar?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by space, Jan 10, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. space

    space Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    Hi


    I remember some time ago, I friend of mine told me he installed a Free AntiVirus,
    and that free antivirus installed him a Toolbar on his computer, which was very difficult to remove later on..


    So in order to know what to keep away from,
    What antiviruses today contain a Toolbar?


    Thank you
     
  2. Impet

    Impet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    895
    Avast, AVG, Avira, Panda .. nearly all.
     
  3. space

    space Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    Really?
    That situation is that bad?

    They do allow me to choose If I want it or not, during installation, right?
     
  4. guest

    guest Guest

    Avast! has a toolbar now? Last time it was only Chrome. I'm pretty sure it hasn't changed.

    Yep, most allow you to opt out. The only free AV that is not ad supported is MSE. I personally suggest to stay with the big names. They do include toolbars. But at least the toolbars shouldn't be that offensive. They have their reputation on the line.
     
  5. tuvalu_tt

    tuvalu_tt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Posts:
    47
    Location:
    Finland
    Are you sure, last time i uset it (last November), there was no toolbar for Firefox.
    I used it almost 10 years, also i did clean install in September or October 2013, and no toolbar was added.

    edit: there is no drama why i stopped using Avast, i only wanted to see how some paid products work.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2014
  6. FreddyFreeloader

    FreddyFreeloader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    527
    Location:
    Tejas
    Forticlient doesn't have a toolbar.
     
  7. Impet

    Impet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    895
    Sorry, it's not a toolbar, it's Google Chrome. :oops:
     
  8. space

    space Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    IMHO, Google Chrome is worse than a Toolbar.
    Google is the mother of all Spyware :)
    And Chrome is a Spyware Toolbar disguised as a "Browser".
     
  9. guest

    guest Guest

    Hoo boy, here we go again... :rolleyes:
     
  10. quanzi_1507

    quanzi_1507 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    320
    Google Chrome and Google Toolbar for Internet Explorer :ninja:

    I doubt the latter is "hard to remove" though :argh:
     
  11. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,728
    Location:
    localhost
    Most if not all allow UNcheck the toolbar at install. So, you can install any free antivirus but you only mind to read install process and remove the toolbar. Not difficult and only requires to read what you install :)
     
  12. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    Yup, that's why Im recommanding it to all my friends and family.

    +1
     
  13. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Avast free does not have a toolbar.
    The rest have optional toolbars for web protection etc so its entirely up to the end user as to if they are installed or not.
     
  14. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,095
  15. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Just because something was not uninstalled correctly does not mean it is malware.Lots of security programs have toolbars..even browsers have toolbars installed..Are they malware also.?

    absurd to say the least.
     
  16. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,095
    Don't stay on the title only. Read on:

    ".... I am currently typing this article with AVG Secure Search Toolbar still on my computer (although I have it blocked from my browsers). I have tried everything I can think of to get rid of this crap but it keeps coming back, just like malware.
    ...
    ...
    As luck may have it, I’ve never been an AVG user to protect my computer, data, and files; for one reason or another, I’ve always gone with AVG’s competitors, notably Avira and Avast. Now I’m glad I’ve never used AVG. If they have a
    malware-like toolbar, I can’t see how their anti-virus — and releated programs — will be any better. And, based off my experience with AVG Secure Search Toolbar, I’d recommend everyone using AVG security software to switch as soon as possible. It just isn’t worth it."
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2014
  17. space

    space Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    OK, luckily at least we have the option to Uncheck it.


    BTW, when using the RescueCDs that most Antivirus companies release(free download most of the time):
    http://www.raymond.cc/blog/13-antiv...-compared-in-search-for-the-best-rescue-disk/

    Is there any risk that when scanning with the RescueCD, the RescueCD will leave any remainder on the scanned HDD?

    Remainder = Install anything to the scanned HDD..

    Have you heard of such phenomenon ever?
     
  18. Windows_Security

    Windows_Security Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    3,081
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Avast also installs Google toolbar in Internet Explorer
     
  19. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    And browser protection of Avast is toolbar/addon too?
     
  20. WildByDesign

    WildByDesign Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Posts:
    1,631
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  21. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,095
  22. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    The question here is not whether they come with the toolbar, but if the toolbar is mandatory. For example, with avast! it was not. You could just opt not to install it and you'd still have all the functionality. AVIRA on the other hand required it for Web Filter to work in free version. Same goes for Panda Cloud, though with some fiddling with uninstaller you can remove the toolbar and keep the URL filter.

    Though yes, i'd rather see them not use any of this crap. It's why people use security software, to get rid of such crap, not to install it even more.
     
  23. m0use0ver

    m0use0ver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Posts:
    81
    Amen to that.

    We use security software to protect our data so it absolutely smacks to know they are harvesting and then monetization our data at the same time.

    Irrespective of what a toolbar or BHO is supposed to be doing on the front end they are all harvesting our data on the back end and transmitting it home.

    I challenge any security company who installs a BHO or Toolbar to say theirs does not perform this fundamental function.

    Alas a safe challenge as I know known can rebuke it :(
     
  24. jack76

    jack76 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    Helvetin Kylm
    Just installed Avira Free to friends computer...There was no web protection/toolbar installed.Not even asked if I want to
     
  25. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,095
    "And finally, we’ve kept our popular Avira SearchFree Toolbar as a separate optional package, which continues to offer our highly appreciated Browser Tracking Blocker and Website Safety Advisor."

    http://techblog.avira.com/2013/10/1...ira-releases-version-2014-of-all-products/en/
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.