What do you think of ThreatFire (formerly Cyberhawk)?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dcdc, Oct 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dcdc

    dcdc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Posts:
    195
    Location:
    Boston area
  2. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,056
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    It caused slowdowns and several freezes on my machine. It may work well on yours, but when something does not play well with my machine it gets uninstalled quickly.

    NOD32
    Windows XP Firewall
    WinPatrol Plus
     
  3. dcdc

    dcdc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Posts:
    195
    Location:
    Boston area
    Oddly enough, that's why I uninstalled the latest version of Spyware Doctor. It caused several freezeups a week, or at least they stopped happening with I removed SD.
     
  4. acr45

    acr45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Posts:
    63
    I actually love it. I was worried that it would conflict with my other security apps that are active on my computer. I have mcafee virus scan +, spyware doctor and comodo firewall all running with threatfire and some might think that my system should've crashed by now but oddly enough it hasn't. Haven't had a problem with it since install.
     
  5. BCEE

    BCEE Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Posts:
    14
    I think I like it overall. I may be experiencing a slight performance hit, not completely sure. Other than that, I've had no conflicts with any other software on my PC. It hasn't flagged anything as suspicious or dangerous yet except for when I run PrevX CSI.

    I'm running AntiVir PE Classic, Windows Defender, Spyware Blaster, No Script, Firefox and ThreatFire. I run ASquared and PrevX CSI as back-ups.

    I tried Cyberhawk back in the day (can't remember which version) and it made my pc un-useable, so I uninstalled it. This seems to be much much better.
     
  6. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    I love it.I launched some leak tests and behaved fine!I would use it,if i could disable the net module.Because,unfortunately,when i browse with FF,Threatfire has CPU spikes(from 15% and above in dual core Athlon 64) in every new page i open.Once the page is loaded,it goes back to zero.At the end,i watched my task manager and saw that TF was the most CPU time hungry program i had running.And that is unacceptable for me.
     
  7. dcdc

    dcdc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Posts:
    195
    Location:
    Boston area
    If you are using Task Manager, you might consider downloading the freebie Process Explorer : http://www.microsoft.com/technet/sysinternals/utilities/processexplorer.mspx, once an application from sysinternals, but now a part of Microsoft.:(

    I'm not that sophisticated a user, but I still find the information presented invaluable.
     
  8. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2007
  9. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I had it running with Avira PE and Sandboxie on a PC, and this to me, it was I would call a "Suite".;)
     
  10. JCorliss

    JCorliss Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Posts:
    84
    That's a combination (plus a router) that is working fantastic for me right now also. Couldn't be any lighter.:)
     
  11. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    I found a potential problem with ThreatFire used with BootBack.
    I added ThreatFire a couple of days ago.
    Today I tried to copy my primary snapshot to the second snapshot.
    While in the process, TF popped up a screen showing BootBack as a potiental risk. I allowed it. Popped up the 2nd time and I also allowed it.
    Shortly after BootBack showed 4 errors.. Cancelled the copy and tried again. The same thing.
    I did a total uninstall of BootBack and tried again to make the 2nd snapshot.
    Received the 4 errors again.
    This time I uninstalled ThreatFire and tried again.
    Worked perfectly.
    It would seem that Threatfire is the cause of this problem.
    Has anyone else had this problem that uses BootBack or FD-ISR?
    I was getting to like ThreatFire but can't use it under these conditions.
    Dan:cool:
     
  12. zhanwest

    zhanwest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    42
    a good auxiliary security software, modest resource usage
    but its alert information is too simple:doubt:
     
  13. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    In all fairness to Threatfire, I reinstalled the program to try again.
    Still leaves the errors in BootBack, but if I suspend TF while I'm copying the snapshot it causes no problems.
    If I put off anyone from trying TF because of the previous post, I apologize. :( As for me, I think I'll keep TF around awhile.:)
     
  14. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    I would never use it because I like my privacy. ThreatFire is just as big a privacy violater as was CyberHawk. I would not want a Unique Identifier on my system nor would I want my IP identified because I blocked a threat.
     
  15. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,633
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Not very much anymore i'm afraid.

    As an early fan of (fomerly) Cyberhawk, i found one maybe two versions fresh after beta that seemed to be as close to reliable and useful as a behavioral blocker could possibly get.

    Then there went a stretch where after awhile previously unseen issues began to crop up in a variety of manners, such as system/boot delays (heaviness) or in another release persistent FP's alerting to normal (safe) activity over and over again. Then even now in ThreatFire theres still i believe (4) program drivers and i just can't help but believe theres something to do with the coding of one or more of those items that have made issue with it.

    Of course theres also the aforemention privacy issue, if using Community Protection, which i normally wouldn't use anyway (Just Custom Rules), if i did, i would have to choose Prevx which is been around a bit longer with that type of concept.
     
  16. solcroft

    solcroft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,639
    Personally I've never understood the paranoia behind these concepts - as far as I'm concerned, it's like going "eeek!" just because people can see what hair color you have or how many blue cars you saw on the streets today. These kinds of data are totally useless to them if they wanted to spy on you or your personal habits in any way, but I suppose to each his own.
     
  17. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Well said and I agree. :D
    The Eula says it collects this info if you participate in the Community Protection, which I do.
    The user has a choice.
    As I said in another forum, I'm not going to lose any sleep over this. :cool:
     
  18. LUSHER

    LUSHER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Posts:
    440
    Solcroft I think the westerners tend to be more paranoid about privacy rights.
     
  19. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,160
    Hi, folks: This privacy issue definitely has some users upset, including me. But when I sit back and compose my thoughts; don't we in our daily life divulge and pass along more private information to Uncle Sam, financial institutions, employers and the list goes on and on. And do you have a minute not worrying about your privacy been violated by these handlers ? By comparison, This(or these )Eula issue is just a tiny fraction of others combined. Like My mother always says, If you adopt it, do not cast any doubt. If you have any trace of doubt, do not use it by all means. I am using TH now and feeling just good and well. Take care.
     
  20. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    Don't forget the A-rabs Lush.
     
  21. dNor

    dNor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Posts:
    212
    Location:
    Irvine, CA, USA
    Been testing TF for a while and it's been a fine product. An nice added layer of protection. It always takes a while to bring up the GUI for me for some reason, and I'm not sure if I'll use it in my security setup for good, but it's a fine option.
     
  22. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Not me, I could give a rat's *ss about any of that stuff.... ;)
     
  23. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    A choice ? How is it turned off other then an uninstall ?
     
  24. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408

    With the click of a mouse. :D
     

    Attached Files:

  25. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    A Side note.
    If Community Protection is turned off, in the free version, it also shuts off auto updates.
    At that point it would have to be checked manually.:)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.