What can I expect from WSA public beta securitywise sofar? I still keep Antivir

Discussion in 'Prevx Betas' started by Rivalen, Sep 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rivalen

    Rivalen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Posts:
    413
    because I havent heard any reasureing comments on how good this beta really is when it comes to the bottom line - stopping malware?

    When will this be tested and by whom?

    Best Regards
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    It is designed as a standalone as that's how I use it but also they designed it to work with other AV's if the user feels they need to! So it's a personal choice!

    TH
     
  3. PatG

    PatG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    South Alabama
    @TH: Have you heard anything about WSA running alongside Outpost Security Suite Pro in any negative way?
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    No I have not but if you do make sure WSA gets full rights in the OP Firewall and please report back to let us know! ;)

    TH
     
  5. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We'll be having several organizations test it as soon as it is ready. It is still beta software so it isn't as strong as it will be but you can always use it with another AV in the meantime if wanted. If it means anything, I use only WSA :)
     
  6. Rivalen

    Rivalen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Posts:
    413
    Thank you for your answer to my question. I ask because I heard that WSA beta is not yet on par with Prevx. Is it 85% of Prevx - what is your feeling?
    I have my payed Prevx license but I dont want to go back.

    If I get a malware during beta and as a paying Prevx customer. If I cant erase the malware myself - am I entitled to the "Prevx team logs on to my PC and fixes it" feature ( the main reason I bought Prevx)?

    Best Regards
     
  7. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    The WSA database is built on top of the P3 database and covers 100% of what it currently covers. The new behavior types from the WSA database can't be ported back to the P3 "world" but we are sending a feed back of all of most of the new signatures to cover P3 users as well.

    If you find any infections which we don't fully clean automatically, we'll log in to fix it during the beta as well, although cases of this have been few and far between :)
     
  8. Rivalen

    Rivalen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Posts:
    413
    Perfect!
     
  9. pabrate

    pabrate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    685
    Wow, now that's surprising :p
     
  10. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    I'm using WSA by itself for some time now and nothing has bit me yet.
     
  11. PatG

    PatG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    South Alabama
    Perhaps this question has been asked/answered, but didn't see it anywhere. What is the reason the firewall does NOT show in the Action Center in win7/64, but shows its "on" in the WSA program? o_O

    Think I found the answer by a diligent search. If its still this way as posted 8-09 ok, if its been changed, please advise:

    Can I ask if the Team has decided to integrate the WRSA firewall into Security Center? If yes will it show 2 Firewalls as it shows how many AV's & AS's you have?



    We currently haven't - we ran into some incompatibilities with other firewalls thinking we were incompatible with them so it has been safer to not integrate into the security center at the moment.
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2011
  12. PatG

    PatG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    South Alabama
    OK, been running OP on my LT for a couple of days. Only found 1 minor thing and that was OP blocked WSA on the initial run. However, OP gives the user an option to either "Block, Allow, or Add to Exclusion List", the latter which I chose. Since then, all running alongside with nary a peep out of either being jealous of the other. ;)

    BTW Daniel, how does one give "full rights" as you've mentioned?
     
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Just the way you did! Never Block anything related to WSA! I call it full rights as that is what I do with Look'N'Stop Firewall when installing WSA I get a pop-up and I allow and after install and then it starts to scan and get another pop-up and Allow, that's why I know when I get new update for WSA as is asks for permission every time from LNS because a program changed! ;)

    Capture04-09-2011-2.12.43 PM.jpg

    Cheers,

    TH
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2011
  14. PatG

    PatG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    South Alabama
    And I thank you! Already had the answer and didn't even know it! Sins of an old man. ;)
     
  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Your always young at heart! :D

    TH
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.