What AV does PC Wolrd use

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by AnthonyG, Feb 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AnthonyG

    AnthonyG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Posts:
    614
    I took my machine into the store for an upgrade today and the technician said they would do a heath check. I didnt have time so i said no. But they said they have this professinal virus checker which is better than any retail software version you can buy and will find every possible virus on your machine.

    I am curious as to what it was. I asked if it was mcafee enterprise or kaspersky and they said it was better than either of those.

    This has made me very curious. What is it they are doing to check for viruses and where can i get it.

    Thanks
    Anthony
     
  2. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    If they said its better than those I belive its got to be a multi-engine AV. There is one enterprise AV that can integrate upto four or five AV engines and use them together for a virus scan.

    Or maybe they're just conning you?

    Cheers,
    Firecat
     
  3. chaos16

    chaos16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,004
    Which AV has 4 built in scanengineo_O?
     
  4. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    The name I do not remember - But it uses 2 engines and optionally another 2
     
  5. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,650
    Location:
    Hawaii
    That would be my guess. In fact, I'd lay odds on it. :cool:
     
  6. webmedic

    webmedic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Posts:
    123
    Location:
    just curious how much info you can get into here a
    thats very true you would be hard pressed to beat those two for on demand scanning.
     
  7. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    OK the product is called GFI DownloadSecurity and it is a SERVER-SIDE AV meant for scanning HTTP traffic...it comes with Norman and BitDefender engine and has KAV and McAfee as optional engine..

    But then if they want to maintain PCs, they must have something like that...
     
  8. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    But I just feel that they're conning you (@anthony1uk)
     
  9. chaos16

    chaos16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,004
    could i get that if i wanted too_O?
    coz that is 4 antivirus built in 1o_O
     
  10. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I dunno...its meant for corporate use and even if you got it its only good for scanning HTTP/FTP traffic, and I have no idea whether it can be used to scan your PC hard disk also.
     
  11. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    If it's a paid service, I think you've a right to enquire as to what you are paying for!
     
  12. webmedic

    webmedic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Posts:
    123
    Location:
    just curious how much info you can get into here a
    Hm possibly but it really depends on how much you want to spend. Most corporate solutions like that are very expensive. Of course you could use a free alternative and run it on linux which is what I do for my mail servers. With it you can run a virtually unlimited number of virii scanners. Not that i really need them under linux but it comes in handy for the windows users out there.
     
  13. chaos16

    chaos16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,004
    but is there any coporate antivirus that has like 2 AV built in one
     
  14. webmedic

    webmedic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Posts:
    123
    Location:
    just curious how much info you can get into here a
    there are a couple but at least one of them wont be around much longer most likely. As for the other two they dont really do much better if any than kav for on demandscanning. And i'm not sure they would beat nod32 for on access scanning.
     
  15. Mr2cents

    Mr2cents Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Posts:
    497
    I agree with bellgamin here. My cousin took his computer to a computer repair shop once. The technician informed him that "all windows updates" were totally unneccesary as long as he had a firewall. He also told him that "internet explorer" was totally safe and did not need to be tweaked in any way :rolleyes:

    I believe this guy needed some business. It's always about the money isn't it? :D
     
  16. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    He's very right
     
  17. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    chaos16,

    I don't think you need to look at corporate AVs, there are home AVs with multi-engine:

    1)GDATA AntiVirusKit (AVK) - Uses KAV 4.x (x because I do not know) engine alongside BitDefender
    2)eXtendia AVK - Uses KAV 4.x engine with RAV (now owned by MS) engine
    3)F-Secure with 3 engines - KAV, Libra (uses F-prot database), Orion (basically useless)
     
  18. chaos16

    chaos16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,004
    can u give me a link for the best one of thoughs 3 pls
     
  19. webmedic

    webmedic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Posts:
    123
    Location:
    just curious how much info you can get into here a
  20. chaos16

    chaos16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,004
    Then why does KAV have the best detection rate theno_O

    If f-secure or others have KAAV and other antivirus built in thereso_O
     
  21. webmedic

    webmedic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Posts:
    123
    Location:
    just curious how much info you can get into here a
  22. webmedic

    webmedic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Posts:
    123
    Location:
    just curious how much info you can get into here a
    um best detection rate does mean they dont get false positives. It just means they catch allot of whats out there.
     
  23. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    chaos16,

    here is the link to a free 6-month trial of F-Secure from Microsoft:

    http://www.f-secure.com/protectyourpc/

    I personally never tried it because I'm on dialup internet. F-Secure has false positives because of that almost useless Orion engine...I say almost useless because it helps F-Secure to give cure for new virus faster than others.

    Also, I can give you link for GDATA AVK 30 day trial:

    http://space.gdata.de/dl_shop/shop/avk2005e_trial.exe

    This one is slightly heavy on PC resources.
     
  24. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Well since F-Secure and others have KAV engine in them they are considered as part of KAV or a 'KAV-clone' so they are generally not included in the scope of AV testing or recommendation.
     
  25. chaos16

    chaos16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,004
    and they are supposed to be better than KAVo_O
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.