What AV are you using with Comodo Personal Firewall?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by duke1959, Sep 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. duke1959

    duke1959 Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,238
    I have used AOL AVS with Comodo Firewall, not a bad combination, but my PC ran slower with them together. Really liked AVG Free with Comodo, and my PC ran faster. Now using Antivir PE and CPF, and while my PC only seems a slight bit slower than it did with AVG, I'm not sure if Antivir's better detection rate is worth the slow down because of the great protection CPF offers? I swore after deciding to uninstall CPF and install SKPF 4.3.2 with Antivir that I was done trying different combinations, but the lure of the Comodo Firewall was just too great to stay away. LOL. Now I just want to know what AV others are using with Comodo Firewall, and why they like that particular combination. Also thanks to everyone in advance for your replies.
     
  2. Seishin

    Seishin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    204
    Just dumped Sygate Personal and installed Comodo after being hesitant for the last two months. Don't regret it though. It works like a charm.

    Running it along Avast Home.
     
  3. Demoras

    Demoras Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Posts:
    33
    @duke1959:
    Has your computer really slowed down that much by switching from AVG to Antivir? I'm running CPF with Antivir and I'm not noticing any real slowdowns.
     
  4. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    I have DrWeb AV. No problems.
     
  5. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Comodo and Antivir- no slow down I think but the issue may be just subjective.
     
  6. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    I tried Comodo and I have KAV 2006 and Process Guard. One or both are incompatible with Comodo. I got rid of Comodo as I would never give up KAV or PG for a firewall. I only tried Comodo because I was curious. I am behind a router as everyone should be so a software firewall is not needed.
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2006
  7. beetlejuice69

    beetlejuice69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    780
    I`m running Nod with Comodo...no sweat.
     
  8. duke1959

    duke1959 Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,238
    I think now with the last update of Antivir there is no noticable slowdown except when logging off. This may be do to the way the Antivir Guard works. In any case, I've decided having better detection is worth any small difference in speed. Thanks so far to everyone who has posted.
     
  9. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Comodo\BitDefender\Sandboxie\Spyware Blaster\Opera 9.02 (just released) on my resource challanged laptop. Work very well together. Little or no lag. Also just started running Torpark (will not run in Sandboxie) :( o_O at times for "private" surfing sessions. :cool:
     
  10. Seishin

    Seishin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    204
    Nope. Remember the onion approach to virtual security...

    ;)
     
  11. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
    originally posted by Mele20

    The Comodo firewall version 2 added some HIPS functionality so it will probably conflict with other similar programs. One option is to shut down the HIPS feature in Comodo. That might solve the conflicts.
     
  12. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    Running Comodo with Vba32.
    No problems.
     
  13. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    Layer, layer, layer. Behind a router as well. Still run a software based firewall.
     
  14. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    Dr.Web AV & Comodo FW are running perfectly together.
    BC. :thumb:
     
  15. duke1959

    duke1959 Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,238
    It's still early, but no AVG Free users yet. gesc, how do you like Avast with Comodo? This seems like a good way to have added protection for the web, since Avast has the Web Shield. Antivir does scan FireFox as I log on and surf, but not sure if it scans actual site like Avast. I'm tempted to go back to Avast because of the way it updates. I do have Antivir set to update three times a day, but I will get three notify windows this way. ccisto, is it HIPS or IDS in Comodo, or are these the same two things?
     
  16. Alphalutra1

    Alphalutra1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,160
    Location:
    127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0
    No, Mele20 is correct. If you are the only computer behind a hardware firewall, have closed all of your ports, or have only trusted computers on the LAN, than any form of incoming filtering by the software firewall is redundant. Also, PG offers great application firewalling which would prevent anything unwanted being able to calling home since it could never get the chance too.

    More is not always better, in fact, I believe that less is more.

    Cheers,

    Alphalutra1
     
  17. Drew99GT

    Drew99GT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Posts:
    338
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    I'm running Antivir, Prevx Pro, and Comodo together with no conflict.

    As to the IDS/HIPS part of Comodo, I think it would be closer to an IDS as it will alert you but not stop the various items listed in the Application Behavior Analysis where as a true HIPS program will prevent something from doing nasty things .
     
  18. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
    Duke1959,
    I am not sure if Comodo has HIPS or IDS functionality. I do know that several users had issues running Process Guard with the firewall, so apparently they are doing something that conflicts with each other.

    Originally posted by Drew99GT

    This sounds very similar to Prevx1 paid versus free versions. After the trial period is over, the program only detects malware and doesn't stop the injection or installation of it. You then have to shell out money if you want their help at that point (or get help elsewhere).
     
  19. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    I run KAV 6 and PG without problem
     
  20. timcan

    timcan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    USA
    No conflicts with Comodo and Bitdefender v10.
     
  21. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    How would I do that? In Safe Mode? The problem I had was that the computer froze immediately after installing Comodo and rebooting. Upon finishing the reboot, I was immediately presented with 5 popups from Comodo asking if I wanted to allow stuff but the computer froze before I could click on any of the popups. I was able to bring up Task Manager with the intention of killing the Comodo process (although I wasn't sure I could identify all processes connected to Comodo since I had just installed it) but Task Manager froze and I had to resort to using the button on the tower to shut down the computer. I rebooted to safe mode and removed Comodo.

    My suspicion is that there may have been KAV ProActive Defense popups under the Comodo ones. They both produce popups in the lower right portion of the screen. I hate that location. I far prefer PG which puts the popups where they should be in the middle of the screen. Anyhow, if there were KAV popups under the Comodo ones that would explain the freezing.

    I was told at the Comodo forum that I should have chosen custom install and configured the firewall during installation. I'm not sure that would be very good as how could I access the help file during installation? I don't think Comodo should run until the user has a chance to both read the help file and then configure the firewall. I had PG disabled during the Comodo install and it was disabled on the subsequent reboot that Comodo required so I don't think the conflict was with PG but with KAV 2006 (most likely ProActive Defense module).

    As I said, I was curious about Comodo and that is mostly why I tried it. I don't feel that I need a software firewall other than when I use dialup because my broadband connection is down and that doesn't happen often. I use Windows firewall in that instance.
     
  22. duke1959

    duke1959 Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,238
    Still no AVG Free or AOL AVS. 3 Antivr so far, with these close behind. 2 KAV, 2 BitDefender, 2 Dr.Web. I'm only keeping track for fun as I have heard good things about all of these AV's, so please no get offended. Also feel free to correct my count if this thread builds more, and I hope it does.
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2006
  23. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
    Mele20

    Sorry but I have not used either program (Comodo and Process Guard) so I can't really offer any explanation of your problem. It might be the other software dealng with the pop up alerts situation. I thought someone said that you can select something on the Comodo menu screen to turn off the IDS portions? I also am using the Windows XP firewall only at this time and was considering adding a HIPS program to supplement it (or use a new firewall program).
     
  24. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    Comodo with NOD32. Works very well. :)
     
  25. test4

    test4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    23
    Another Comodo + Antivir user. I've had that for years (Antivir, obviously not Comodo ;) ).
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.