What are the "Must Have" extensions for Firefox

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by HandsOff, Feb 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rolarocka

    rolarocka Guest

    Huge visual improvement for the "awesomebar"
    http://userstyles.org/styles/19308/awesomebar-popup
    with this addon together:
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-us/firefox/addon/mozilla-labs-prospector-instan/
    and fun starts :)
    -----------
    New better looking Options page:
    http://soapyhamhocks.deviantart.com/art/Firefox-4-Options-In-content-192405032


    (both need the stylish addon)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 22, 2011
  2. pandorax

    pandorax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Posts:
    386
    I am looking for some firefox addons to make like chrome. I installed https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/omnibar/ omnibar. it itegrated address bar and search bar into one. it's ok.

    I am looking for;

    1. Auto complete address bar url,
    2. Auto search engine taker. It must take search engine and automatically make keyword when i search with any engine like chrome.

    And sorry for my English :D
     
  3. rolarocka

    rolarocka Guest

    this looks promising:
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/mozilla-labs-prospector-speak-/
     
  4. pandorax

    pandorax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Posts:
    386
  5. Sadeghi85

    Sadeghi85 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    747
  6. rolarocka

    rolarocka Guest

    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 22, 2011
  7. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,403
  8. Pinga

    Pinga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Posts:
    1,420
    Location:
    Europe
  9. Sadeghi85

    Sadeghi85 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    747
    Top 10 Themes for Mozilla Firefox:

    -http://webupon.com/browsers/top-10-themes-for-mozilla-firefox/
     
  10. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    For the ones who miss the Vista-aero Theme (No Longer available for v4.0),
    the QSQ Theme and the Toolbar Buttons add-on can offer a similar result...
     

    Attached Files:

  11. rolarocka

    rolarocka Guest

    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 24, 2011
  12. boonie

    boonie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Posts:
    238
  13. rolarocka

    rolarocka Guest

    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 27, 2011
  14. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,878
  15. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,878
    optimaze database

    about the database , for example cookies.sqlite to me is 1mb ,places.sqlite is more then 10mb

    does firefox v has a idle optimate feature fot the database?
    in the forum i found ccleaner or other old utilities are too aggressive o_O

    thanks
    cheers
     
  16. rolarocka

    rolarocka Guest

    Right click on a tab and select pin as app-tab.
     
  17. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,403
    Re: optimaze database

    Yes, database minimum sizes have been hiked quite a bit in Fx4. places.sqlite will start at 10 MB and increment by 10 MB!
     
  18. Essentials

    Essentials Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Posts:
    49
    My must haves are:

    1. Adblock Plus - Fanboy´s List, Malware Domains
    2. NoScript
    3. LastPass
    4. WOT (looking for alternatives)
     
  19. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Up until this point, I would have said AdBlockPlus. But, something is rotten in ABP world: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/adblock-plus/

    Facebook ads inside the addon..are they kidding? Further, the addon seems to have gone loopy in my instance. I'm running FF4, and, I wake up today to find every last filter gone, and trying to add them back in fails. The list just stays blank with some weird little blank rectangle box popping up in the middle.
     
  20. sbseven

    sbseven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Posts:
    140
    Yes, it is quite ironic. :)

    Regarding your adblock rules issue, have you got any patterns-backup.ini files in the profile/adblockplus folder that you can recover from?
     
  21. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,873
    Location:
    Lloegyr
  22. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Sure do, but unfortunately it doesn't "take". I'm still left with the same, lonely, empty list. What's worse is that now, I'm left with NoScript doing the job, which litters the pages with NoScript boxes everywhere. Outside of re-installing the extension, or worse, FF itself, I'm not certain what to do. Given the recent developments, I'm not all that sure about ABP, period.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2011
  23. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    I think some of these recent Facebook appearances in things like extensions and *gag*..security apps (I'm looking straight at you, Avast), aren't intended as anything other than "getting the word out". However, what seems to be forgotten is that prior to the Facebook craze, well known software and extensions were still well known, and popular. It's bad taste to add this sort of thing to a security app. And, in regards to ABP, well, it's a privacy app of sorts, intended to block annoying ads that, often, track you. And you decide to put an ad..in an adblocker..for one of the biggest privacy threats on the net..that also tracks you? *sarcastic clap* Good show, good show.
     
  24. Sadeghi85

    Sadeghi85 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    747
    I don't see any "Recommend us on Facebook" button, where is it? o_O
     
  25. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Per https://adblockplus.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=7121, it seems to be in developmental builds. On the page, there is a method of killing it off. The developer is fine with it, per his words on page 3.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.