What are packed files

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by steverope, Jan 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. steverope

    steverope Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    Canada
    What exactly are packed files, and should I have them always on in my antivirus, it runs so much faster without, I will have them checked during scan, but is it ok to uncheck during monitoring? the same with check while writing, is it also ok to have this off while monitoring, then to enable while scanning? Thanks, Fr Steve
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    packed files are zip files or archives I usually have them scanned in an on demand and in on access but I guess it would just be a preference. but they should be scanned once in a while just to be sure.

    bigc
     
  3. steverope

    steverope Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    Canada
    Re: What are packed files...should I have check while writing

    Should I have"check while writing" enabled or just for scanni ng not monitoring?
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    check while writing would check it before it was compressed. but I have it check when scanning .
     
  5. steverope

    steverope Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    Canada
    thanks big c
     
  6. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Packers are not the same as archives. Packers are ASPack,PE_Compact,UPX while archives are ZIP,RAR,7z,CAB etc...
    Packers should be enabled at all times because they are crucial in detection of re-packed viruses.
    Btw,which AV are you talking about here?
     
  7. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    RejZoR,

    I think steverope uses eXtendia AVK Pro.
     
  8. steverope

    steverope Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    Canada
    ok, alls good, but should I have "check while writing on in my monitor, I do a daily scan at full option, I'm looking for a safe monitor, that uses a balance of the least resources, because my extendia Avk pro slows application start times by 6 seconds, and I have a fast computer P4 3.06 laptop with 1g ram.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.