What am I Supposed to do?

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by WilliamP, Feb 18, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    When I reboot then click on PG I get this C:windows\System32\ups.exe[920]Tried to modify an existing driver/service named ups. What is it and what am I supposed to do. Thank you for the help.
     
  2. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Ok I have done some research and realized it has somethine to do with a UPS. I do have an APC UPS connected to my computer. It has the software to shut down the computer.
     
  3. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    William - If you haven't already, you'll have to add ups.exe to the PG list of protected programs.

    After you do so, click on its' entry in the list. Then, click the field for the drop-down menu containing "Blocked Flags" "Allowed Flags" and "Options" and select "Options" and put a checkmark in "Allow Driver/Services Install" and let us know if that clears the alert and lets the UPS device work correctly (that means, run an actual test on it after doing the above by un-plugging the computer while it's on). Pete
     
  4. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
    Why would UPS.EXE need privileges to add a service? The UPS service already exists. What does the log entry say, exactly?
     
  5. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    It's probably a self checking mechanism :) it tried to modify an existing service, but as a guess I would say either allowing it or leaving it blocked would result in the same behaviour in the end. But since its a modify action, I'd simply allow service installs for the UPS :)
     
  6. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi Nameless,
    I am guessing but Belkin UPS's (mine is three years old) for instance do not use the Windows built in service and appears to use it's own, as the one I have here is not recognised in the standard windows power options.

    So it is probably OK to add it and give it allow service/install driver.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.