WG and Help Shortcut

Discussion in 'WormGuard' started by bearspencer, Oct 26, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bearspencer

    bearspencer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Posts:
    8
    Hi;

    considering buying wg, due to great things heard re: V4. Considered V3 a long time ago but was told it would disable the Help and Support shortcut off XPs start menu. Is this an issue in latest version?
     
  2. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hello bearspencer and welcome to the forum!
    If it would be an issue --XP has the issue with lots of other software then windows XP so it is not especially related to WG!-- the best work around is to place a shortcut to the windows help on the desktop.
    In v4 as far as i heard it will be solved.
    So no reason to wait, it might be OK with your v3 as well, depends on the system itself.
    So don't hesitate to give it a try and be protected from it's first breath!
     
  3. StAnger

    StAnger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Posts:
    84
    Better yet. Place a shortcut to this forum on your desktop, where you will get all the Help & Support you need. :D
     
  4. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    I would say "Augment the help you need" ;)
     
  5. bearspencer

    bearspencer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Posts:
    8
    thanks for the welcome and the advice. will give v4 a whirl.
     
  6. DolfTraanberg

    DolfTraanberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    676
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Hi bearspencer and welcome also.
    You don't have to wait that long. First, there is an easy workaround and secondly, by the time WG-4 has been released, you don't need Windows Help that much anymore. :D
    Just try the evaluation and look if it works for you.
    Dolf
     
  7. JPM

    JPM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    76
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    This and the fact it breaks NAV's Live Update are reasons I can't use Wornguard 3. I am a registered user of TDS-3 and Wormguard 3, but have been unable to use Wormguard for almost a year now because I am afraid of what else it will break on my system. I have read of the work arounds and that it is not WG3, but in my mind everything works until I install WG and once I do things break, so to me it is WG's fault. I hear WG4 will fix these things but the current release date of sometime between now and the end of time is very frustrating.
     
  8. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    I'm with u JPM

    I've had wormguard3 for a longtime and it gives me headaches all the time. Not only with help and support but sometimes when i want to install a new program and numerous other things. I love the program but geez make it compatable with xp.

    I asked jooske last week when wormguard4 was coming out and i was told it had to be totally rebuilt and it should be soon. Well that was the same answer i got last year!

    How long does it take?
    I'm sure many people in these forums share these same feelings.

    Get on with it!

    Snowbound
     
  9. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    I meant DCS not u jooske, sorry



    Snowbound
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.