Welcome screen doesnt appear, cannot use windows at all

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by emperordarius, Nov 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    I dont know what happened.

    But now every time I open windows it boots correctly until the welcome screen. Then it gets stuck at the windows logo.

    Now Im surfing using konqueror by using a bootable bactrack disk I had. I really need to use windows.

    I cannot modify any file from the windows drive through backtrack, I dont have the xp recovery disk... I just have an external HDD drive

    Safe mode in all the options and last good known system config didnt work...
     
  2. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    Perhaps an update to one of your applications introduced new conflicts?
     
  3. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    I don't think.
    I was wondering, If I ran chdsk under wine under ubuntu, will it be able to check windows?
     
  4. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    That's interesting. I am not sure if it'll work correctly but you could try.

    Also, since you use Acronis True Image, why not restore one of your backups? You should be able to recover even if Windows does not boot.
     
  5. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Damn. Strangely I cannot modify anything in any drive from BackTrack and the USB is not recognized. I can't even install any program here.

    PS:I would restore an image with Acronis but my last one is very old and currently I don't have a bootable CD. I guess I'll have to wait some more days and continue surfing with such an incompetent browser such as Konqueror and without being able to communicate with anyone. Then I'll find my Windows CD and try to make a repair...
     
  6. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Something simple - unplug all usb devices except mouse/keyboard?
     
  7. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Tried. Unplugged the external HDD, mouse, internet cable.
     
  8. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    I had a similar problem a few months ago. Could not even use SP.
    Surprisingly, what worked for me was unplugging the pc, and pushing the start button a few times.
    Left it unplugged for a few hours.
    Still don't know what caused the problem but I eventually just restored an image.
    Good luck.
    Hugger
     
  9. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    I have a laptop, perhaps should I let the battery die and then try?
     
  10. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    Ouch! You should back up your system more often so when things go wrong, you can quickly recover. Also, you should always have a bootable CD of your backup program.

    EDIT: There is a huge discount for Rollback Rx right now, so I suggest that you get it. If you don't want that, you could get FirstDefense-ISR PC Rescue. I have both and currently use the latter.
     
  11. jonyjoe81

    jonyjoe81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    829
    you need to do a chkdsk c: /f on the hard drive. That's the first thing you can try, if any of your system files are corrupted a chkdsk will fix it. For this you need a bartpe, if you can't get one, you might have to remove the hard drive and get a usb bridge adapter and run a scandisk on the hard drive from another computer.

    Theres the free "testdisk" that can fix file corruption, but I have never had to use it since chkdsk has always worked for me. But testdisk is another option if you cannot run a chkdsk or scandisk.

    The problem you describe points to missing/corrupted system files preventing windows from loading fully. Chkdsk will usually fix this problem.

    http://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/TestDisk
     
  12. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Yeah, in fact I was just about to do a backup last night.:D
    The fact is that my external drive wad damaged and it was being repaired, so I couldn't make any backups. I had just planned to make one list night, but then this thing happened. I did have a bootable acronis DVD but now I'm in an hotel in Austria so I don't have it.

    Thanks, I will try BartPE with my father's computer.
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2008
  13. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    ed, have you tried safemode?
     
  14. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Yes, all the modes available from F8. Safe mode, w networking, w command line, directory service repair, VGA mode etc...
    Also Last good known system config..
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2008
  15. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Have you run chkdsk from within safemode?

    Right click C drive - Properties - Tools - Error checking - Check Now - tick both options.

    Will ask for a reboot and can take a while to run with no guarantee it will work.
     
  16. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    I think I have not been clear enough, I cannot even log in in safe mode. The system just gets stuck just before the logon screen appears, with the Xp logo.
     
  17. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Oopsies, sorry, I misunderstood.
     
  18. Niels

    Niels Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    466
    Location:
    Belgium
    Try this press on alt+tab to switch to restoring network connections,press enter when you see an error message. See if you now can boot further.
     
  19. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    When should I press this?
     
  20. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
  21. PROROOTECT

    PROROOTECT Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,102
    Location:
    HERE ...Fort Lee, NJ
    Close and open your modem ( = reset ) ? ...
     
  22. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    MFT is damaged. CHDSK and testdisk from ultimate boot disc cant do a thing. What can I do now?
     
  23. PROROOTECT

    PROROOTECT Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,102
    Location:
    HERE ...Fort Lee, NJ
    Clean the fan.
    Remove and replace the bars of memory.
    Disconnect all peripheral devices and restart ...
    Chkdsk ...
     
  24. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    I`m on a laptop. I disconnected all devices and did a chdsk with the bootable disc, but chdsk aborted and alerted that MFT was damaged.
     
  25. Cloudcroft

    Cloudcroft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Posts:
    433
    Location:
    The Hill Country of Texas
    My daughter was running Windows Update, and on reboot, it wouldn't boot into Windows. I tried just about everything mentioned here, but since she didn't have a backup, ended up reinstalling Windows. Good luck.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.