Weird problem with forum page-display

Discussion in 'General Topics' started by Rasheed187, Aug 21, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,038
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    In Opera v11 and v12 you sometimes get to see this (see pic) can this somehow be fixed? :gack:

    EDIT: to clarify, instead of text you get to see black space.

    Edit by LowWaterMark to add link to post shown in image.
     

    Attached Files:

    • WPW.png
      WPW.png
      File size:
      27.5 KB
      Views:
      28
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 21, 2014
  2. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,293
    Location:
    England
    Rasheed I use Opera 12 and have never seen this so it may be some setting you have.

    I think the bit that doesn't show in that post is where there is a 'spoiler'
     
  3. MikeBCda

    MikeBCda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Posts:
    1,627
    Location:
    southern Ont. Canada
    lol! That was my first reaction too, since I spend a fair bit of time on the IMDB and TVTropes discussion boards.
     
  4. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,038
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    @ stapp

    I get to see this on both Win XP and Win 8, and I even got to see it in Firefox if I recall correctly. I do have javascript disabled, so there are no spoilers for me. And the black space does sometimes disappear when you scroll up and down the page.

    @ MikeBCda

    What do you mean, do you also have this problem on other forums? :)
     
  5. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,069
    You can try disabling hardware acceleration in Opera. I had similar problems with Chrome in past.
     
  6. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,876
    Location:
    New England
    That's why you are seeing the black box. The Spoiler function will use a button that controls Javascript to present / hide text 'if' Javascript is enabled. If Javascript is off, the function simply covers the text with that black background. The text is revealed if you mouse-over the black section. It's not something to be fixed. It's how the spolier is meant to work if Javascript is off.
     
  7. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,038
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    @ LowWaterMark

    OK, so it´s just another stupid "bug" in the forum software. It really doesn´t make any sense at all. And I noticed this problem months ago, but now it´s getting on my nerves. :thumbd:
     
  8. guest

    guest Guest

    He meant this spoiler feature is also available there. Usually to hide parts of literatures which might tell viewers/readers about the core stories and surprising facts, or just simply censoring things for the lulz.

    It's not a bug, it's a feature. :D
     
  9. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Haha no, it is not a bug :D

    It is meant to work like this
     
  10. KeyPer4Life

    KeyPer4Life Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Posts:
    974
  11. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,038
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Let´s face it, whether it´s a feature or a bug, it´s just stupid. :thumbd:
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,069
    Does your problem go away if you enable javascript?
     
  13. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    If you highlight the dark area you should see the text if I understand how it works correctly. :doubt:
     
  14. guest

    guest Guest

    I personally prefer the black bar spoiler than clickable spoiler though. Wish it can be used per word basis instead of having to put the whole thing into the spoiler tag.
     
  15. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Thats how its supposed to work if JS is not allowed.

    Bo
     
  16. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    But why, in the first place, is that "spoiler" feature there, and why and when is a person supposed to use it?
    Maybe the answer to the "why" question is that the board software has it. But why has the board software it? What is the reason behind this?

    PS:
    I'd rather see a quick button for quote tags than this feature, if it would be possible.
     
  17. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,876
    Location:
    New England
    Below is actually a nice thread to explain and show the use of the spoiler tags. Their site even used the "black background - mouse over view" style spoiler, as well.

    http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1838177

    The reason for a spoiler tag is explained. And, that's a vBulletin forum like we used to run a short time ago.
     
  18. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Not sure if this is what you're looking for, but there is one way, highlight the text and then you go up in the menu click the quote button and quote tags will appear. You find it under the "insert" button in the menu its the third button to the right from the smiley button and you will see "quote" "spoiler"...options.
     
  19. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Right, I have JS allowed so I see it the normal way. :D
     
  20. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,038
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes correct, and I think it´s unacceptable that when you disable JS, you have to deal with this crap. :gack:

    Shame on the designer of this forum software, you messed up. :thumbd:
     
  21. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Hi Mike, thanks for the link to that Steam forum thread.
    And thanks to others here in this thread as well for explaining the working of it.
    (as for me, I will not use that feature).

    Hi SweX,
    Thanks. Yes, I know. But it only works if you have enabled "rich text editor" in your preferences which I do not have. But now I am going too much off topic, which I don't want to do. Sorry for having posted about it in this thread.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.