weird paint problem

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by lodore, Dec 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hi, i have a odd paint problem.
    yesterday when i opened paint it had a blue background so i thought ill delete it.
    couldn't so dragged it to the outside. now when ever i open paint it has odd blue lines round the outside. which i cant get rid of as shown in the Screenshot.
    the screenshot is paint in paint.
    i was trying to crop my avatar from kaspersky forum to put it on wilders as my avatar but couldnt because of those dang blue lines. the blue lines are very thin around the all sides it also has a little square where i used to be able to change the size of it but cant change it now.
    i just want it back to normal so i can use it again.
    lodore
     

    Attached Files:

  2. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    sometimes to fix things like that i make a backup of the folder it lives in C:\WINDOWS\Program Files\Paint or wherever it is by renaming it to Paint.bak, then restart it.

    not sure if it will help you, BUT AS LONG AS YOU MAKE A BACKUP it shouldn't break anything :cautious:
     
  3. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    thanks iceni60 ill try that.
    i found it in c:/windows/system32/mspaint
    i have renamed it but i guess i have to logon and back in to have it work?
    lodore
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2006
  4. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    just make sure you don't make a mistake a delete something without making a backup first :ouch: i can't help you find the folder because i'm not using windows atm.
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    I created a backup before.
    it hasnt made any difference it doesnt seem.
    it created a new paint file and its the same.
    as you can see I dragged the white background the fit the size of the kaspersky avatar and under the white there is tons of blue.
    i want to get rid of that odd blueness under.
    why is there blue under there and is it meant to be?
    http://img458.imageshack.us/my.php?image=paintpb1.png
    it seems that after checking my old pc that its ment to be there but on my old pc the background colour is grey.
    so how do i change the colour so its grey?
    lodore
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2006
  6. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Hey ICE .... like the hat! :D

    Try re-setting default's which may require a re-boot. Rt side, 191 here.


    GF
     
  7. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    :cool: i did it myself :D

    i felt bad about giving such a bad answer soo booted in to my totally broken XP install to have a look, and started playing around with some sysinternal programs lol. i'll let GF help i think :D
     
  8. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    I think he'd prefer I don't answer! :D Go ahead ICE .... you wrap it up.

    GF
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2006
  9. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    lol, all i can say is i noticed it calls the uxtheme.dll so i suppose you can try using another theme :cautious:
     
  10. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    oh, sorry, i thought you were saying paint was corrupted and the theming was incorrect when you mentioned the blue. i didn't realise you meant inside the program :ouch:

    try clicking File>New
     
  11. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    i have tryed that but the blue inside the program stays check my above screenshot.
    post 5
    lodore
     
  12. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    the colored background could be related to the theme (for me its gray), but it does not affect how paint works. just place ur picture, avatar, etc in the white space.
     
  13. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Have you yet donwloaded the .reg file mentioned in post # 6 above by GlobalForce ?

    That .reg file will place paint back to it's default state which should clear up your problem lodore.
     
  14. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Provided it's not default or theme related and sp2's on the install cd, you could simply reinstall it.
    It may be conducive to disable that "theme" item of your's beforehand, reinstall paint, then re-apply your theme.

    GF
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2006
  15. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    one problemo no windows cd:D
    carrera never gave me one.
    on that unrelated note there was an old thread that had some ms contact numbers to ring to get a disc sent can someone locate it for me?
    lodore
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.