Weird glitch with Windows Security Center

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by shadek, Oct 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    Just booted up my computer and Windows Security Center doesn't recognize Prevx, or rather, Prevx isn't registered correctly into it. It worked before I rebooted amd all the other times before that, so I suspect this is a rare glitch.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I'm not sure - I'd tend to suspect this is indeed just a random glitch. If you reboot again, does it come back in or does it come back only after a reboot?

    Thanks!
     
  3. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    Yeah, after reboot, I have get the same error. I've tried re-installing and that didn't do a thing. Perhaps uninstall-install will solve the problem? Or would you rather take a closer remote look for some investigation? This might be good to solve the problem without having users uninstall-install the application again. Anyhow, you're the expert, Joe! You decide! :)

    Gabriel

    EDIT: I think this whole thing started to occur with the .218 build. It might be worth looking into.
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2010
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I had the same problem on both Win 7 32bit & 64bit after upgrade to .218! I had to Uninstall Prevx reboot and download .218 and install and that solve my problem but on Win XP 32bit no problems to report!

    TH
     
  5. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    Yeah, I figure I would do the same, but also offering myself for a remote session for the devs behind Prevx to get rid of the glitch. :) If I receive no answer here within 5 hours or so, I'll just uninstall and install again.
     
  6. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    What? :eek: Does Prevx registers itself in Windows Security Center (WSC)?
    I've been testing every Prevx releases for so long and it does not register itself in WSC even once.

    I thought thats how it work.
    I guess I'll give it a try again :doubt:
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Only the full licensed version does! The free version does not because it would give the user a false sense of security! The Facebook version is a full version of SafeOnline not a full Anti-Malware so it would not show in Windows Security Center either!

    TH
     
  8. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    I see. I hope it has opt-in setting to register itself in WSC even on free versions.
     
  9. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We intentionally leave this feature off as it would give users an incorrect perception of what Prevx is doing - it wouldn't be protecting against most threats in realtime if in the free version so we don't want users to be misled into thinking they have a full antivirus product in place.
     
  10. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    I'm not using the free version at all, and I get the WSC situation nevertheless. :) Since it's not considered a glitch (Prevx-devs don't want remote session) I'll just uninstall-reinstall. :)
     
  11. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We've been making changes to our digital certificates which is likely the cause of the issue. If you could try the new .219 release as soon as it goes out to beta, it should work better (although it might need a fresh install).

    Thanks! :)
     
  12. overangry

    overangry Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    309
    Have the same issue as shadek, updating and reinstalling .219 didn't fix the issue.
    I assume, I'm still protected:D
     
  13. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    You are. It is easily fixed by uninstall-reinstall. :)
     
  14. overangry

    overangry Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    309
    I did that last time and it didn't work. this time around it fixed the issueo_O
    Working now:thumb:
     
  15. overangry

    overangry Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    309
    Just wanted to let you know the problem still persists. When I turned my PC on this morning,
    I had the windows security warning again.
    I will again uninstall and reinstall:doubt:
     
  16. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    If it does not work try the Prevx 3.0 uninstall tool http://info.prevx.com/download.asp?grab=csiuninstalltool and make sure you reboot before installing again!

    HTH,

    TH
     
  17. overangry

    overangry Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    309
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.