Webroot Spysweeper 3.5 and 4.0 Comparison

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Hard Rocker, May 16, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hard Rocker

    Hard Rocker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Posts:
    258
    Location:
    Quebec, CANADA
    Re: Webroot Spysweeper 4.0 and ProcessGuard

    Hi, :D Slightly off topic ...... I realize, but since you pretty much had your question answered ...... what are the differences between SS 3.5 and the SS 4.0 version ? I am a registered user of the 3.5 & although I have been offered the chance to test the 4.0 I felt it was a bit too soon. :doubt:

    HR :cool:
     
  2. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    780
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    The biggest difference is that V4 does not work properly.
    - Cannot handle very large HOSTS files
    - Triples the memory usage of every module in memory when you do a sweep of memory (the first time after a boot).

    I'd recommend holding off for a bit. I know Webroot is working on the above issues.

    Incidentally, V4.0.1.323 is NOT Beta...it is the official first public version release.
     
  3. SSK

    SSK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    v4 also has support for limited user accounts.
    And uses less memory the v3.5 (for me :) )
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2005
  4. Hard Rocker

    Hard Rocker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Posts:
    258
    Location:
    Quebec, CANADA
    Hey, :D

    Good to know siliconman ....... I thought V4 was indeed a Beta version. Glad that I held off. :eek:

    Interesting SSK ..... as well, I'm always vewy, vewy quiwet when I'm hunting twojans ! :D

    And when I say whoa camel ........ I MEAN WHOA !!!
    Dragons is ...... sooooooooo stupid .... lol. ;)

    Thanx Guys,
    HR :cool:
     
  5. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    780
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    Build 331 now appears to be the latest build as of this AM (17-May-05). However, this new build does not correct the HOSTS file or memory usage problem.
     
  6. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Proces private bytes: 8 Mb (WRSSSDK.exe)
    SpySweeper.exe: 4.7 MB
    So for me that's not bad at all.

    No probs with hosts, but I only use MVPS.

    Regards,

    Gerard
     
  7. muf

    muf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Posts:
    926
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    I've upgraded to v4 and currently i'm a lot happier. [sarcasm]I'm using the totally stable and reliable Windows ME[/sarcasm] and v4 is running much much faster and sweeter. v3.5 used to take nearly 1 minute for the GUI to appear after starting the application. Then it would take a similar amount of time for the sweep to begin after initialising it. This new version has the GUI open in 5 seconds and the sweep starts in the same amount of time. Certainly fixed something. :D

    I just started it and the ram useage on my system is as follows:
    WRSSSDK.EXE = 9.8mb
    SPYSWEEPER.EXE = 11.9mb

    This is lower than the previous version which used to use 26mb.

    muf
     
  8. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    780
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    The problem with memory usage is that when you do the first sweep after a reboot and if you have the Memory sweep active, every program in memory including WRSSSDK.exe and Spy Sweeper will more that triple in size (memory usage) as SS scans each module. I loose 250 mbytes of physical memory on the first sweep. Rebooting the computer puts everything back to normal...until the next SS sweep. I can activate Task Manager, select Performance and what the available Physical memory take a nose dive.
     
  9. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    It has been a lot easier on resources for me as well. The GUI looks a little better, but still looks a bit like a newbie with photoshop filters designed it (there are worse things in life, though :D ) I'm sure there are less obvious internal changes as well.
     
  10. feddup

    feddup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Posts:
    160
    Does anyone know what size hosts file causes spysweeper 4.0 issues. I tried and removed 4.0 beta because it kept giving me a "spysweeper installation is damaged please reinstall" message. I believe after reading some similar posts that this was caused by my 1.24 mb hosts file. I've downloaded the 4.0 final but would like to solve this mystery prior to installation. I like and respect spysweeper but not so much that I might disregard the hosts file completely. Any insight would be appreciatted.
     
  11. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    780
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    The 1.24 mbyte HOSTS file won't work. I am using the MVPs HOSTS file which is only about 10000 entries at 263 kbytes and it works okay in V4.
     
  12. feddup

    feddup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Posts:
    160
    Thanks for the info. I might try to choose a smaller hosts file. I generally gave up using spy sweeper in real time for several reasons but still got the "installation damaged" message when I started the program for "on demand" use. Still using 3.5 for the moment.
     
  13. controler

    controler Guest

    According to an e-mail I received this week,Spysweeper 4.0 has been released.

    controler
     
  14. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    780
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    Yes, V4.0.1.331 is the latest public release.
     
  15. manOFpeace

    manOFpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Posts:
    716
    Location:
    Ireland
    Likewise. Beta wouldn't work properly, return to V3.5.
    Latest release full version don't work, damaged installation, back to V3.5. :'(
     
  16. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    780
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    Here is Webroot's response to a support ticket on the issue of large HOSTS files. Not very encouraging for the immediate time period. :mad:

    "Solved:
    (5/17/2005 12:47 PM MDT) Spy Sweeper will have issues with any host file containing more than 1000 entries. Having 39000 entries in your host file will cause this to happen. I apologize for this inconvenience. We are looking to correct this in a future release of the program.

    Thank you for your assistance and information in this matter."
     
  17. Hard Rocker

    Hard Rocker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Posts:
    258
    Location:
    Quebec, CANADA
    :D Hi, & thanks again guys ......... Looks like it will take a bit more time before 4.0 is functioning as it should be. :(

    I have also noticed that 4.0 has not been offered at the Webroot Site for the last few days ....... once again !! :rolleyes:

    HR :cool:
     
  18. feddup

    feddup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Posts:
    160
    thanks for all the input. I guess I'll just have to wait and see if webroot solves the hosts issue.
     
  19. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
    How to you get 3.5 back? I talked to Tech. Support and they sent me a key code, but it was for 4.0. There were no other options.
     
  20. Hard Rocker

    Hard Rocker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Posts:
    258
    Location:
    Quebec, CANADA
    :D Hi G1111,

    You don't specify if you are a registered SpySweeper user or not. o_O

    If indeed you are ....... call them again & specify you are NOT happy with 4.0 & want the 3.5 version until all the problems with 4.0 are resolved.

    Although I am very satisfied with SS 3.5 ...... on the 2 occasions I had to deal with their tech support & customer service departments I must say I was NOT very impressed !! :(

    Good Luck,
    HR :cool:
     
  21. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
    Hard Rocker - Yes I am a registered user, thats why they gave me the key code for the "fixed" version of 4.0 but it still has bugs. I will call them and request 3.5 back.

    Thanks for the response. It would be nice if there was a Webroot forum.
     
  22. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    You mean this isn't? :D

    Seriously, I've visited other forums where reviews on Spy Sweeper were somewhat mixed, but they're almost always unanymously favorable here.....so I was actually kind of under the impression that this WAS a Webroot forum!
     
  23. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
    JRCATES - Could be.
     
  24. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    780
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
  25. Hard Rocker

    Hard Rocker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Posts:
    258
    Location:
    Quebec, CANADA
    ;) Nice link Siliconman ..... had not been to the Trojan Hunter Forum in a while. I just purchased the program a couple of weeks ago.

    I'll be sticking with SS V: 3.5 ...... for now, anyway ! :rolleyes:

    HR :cool:
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Victek
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    959
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.