Webroot SecureAnywhere Discussion & Update Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Triple Helix, Jun 6, 2014.

  1. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    6,029
    Location:
    New York City
    Do you mean the Webroot filtering extension? I'm using the AV and the extension installed, not the icon. Waiting over two hours for a response from support.
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,071
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Is it stalled in the Chrome Browser under Extensions? Also you will not see it on the address bar as it work in the background and if you search Google, Bing and Yahoo you will see site reputations!

    Daniel

    2016-02-16_12-58-57.png 2016-02-16_12-59-58.png
     
  3. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,071
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes all versions of WSA has the Web Filter Extensions for IE, Firefox and Chrome! If it doesn't show follow this to install manually for Chrome: https://community.webroot.com/t5/We...ebroot-Extensions-in-google/m-p/218311#M13810 for Firefox see here for Palemoon and it also works on other Firefox and Firefox based Browsers but unofficial: https://community.webroot.com/t5/We...-extension-in-Palemoon-Unofficial/ta-p/142217

    Thanks,

    Daniel
     
  4. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    6,029
    Location:
    New York City
    Hi Daniel,
    Thanks for answering. Yes, it is installed under extensions. Site reputations are also working correctly.
    Thank you.
     
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,071
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    They don't seem to want to for Windows 8 or 10 see this long time thread: https://community.webroot.com/t5/Id...tions-fw-control-in-Win-8-Win-8-1/idi-p/60003

    Daniel
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,071
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Awesome! Also a blocked Web Site will look like this!

    Daniel

    2016-02-16_13-16-51.png
     
  7. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

  8. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,071
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    But it will still block malware from calling out.

    Daniel
     
  9. m0unds

    m0unds Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Posts:
    219
    yeah, it didn't install automatically on a PC or in my win10 VM. when I tried adding it manually, reputation wasn't working on either machine. I had contacted the helpdesk about it a week ago and it took 5 days for them to stop repeating the same "reinstall WSA following these steps" message, even after I'd mentioned I had performed the requested steps. i ran wsacollector and sent it to them and they told me to call - when I called the support line, it estimated 90 mins' hold time. not super impressed at this point (and I say that as somebody who has deployed WSA on tons of business endpoints, and advocated heavily for Webroot's consumer product line w/friends and family)

    yeah, I'm not seeing any reputation icons (error communicating w/Webroot reputation service)

    I had manually installed the extension to test it and it wasn't working which is why I assumed it wasn't supposed to be part of the AV product, but it's fine w/the complete product on my workstation. when the AV is blocking sites, it's not using the new style in-browser block pages, it's using the old pop-over ones that don't work correctly.

    @Triple Helix also, afaik, you can't install *.crx plugins in chrome from the filesystem anymore (i believe it's deprecated, could be wrong). I installed it using the Chrome App store URL mentioned elsewhere on the Webroot forum. The extension doesn't exist on disk w/the AV product in the path in your post (%programdata%\wrdata\pkg)
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2016
  10. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,071
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Look in the WRdata Folder under C:\ProgramData\WRData and check to make sure you have them listed? If not try a clean reinstall with a reboot in between. If that doesn't work Contact Webroot Support

    And you can see with the BETA Keycode the Web Filter Driver is active on my system.

    2016-02-16_13-53-16.png



    2016-02-16_13-49-20.png
     
  11. m0unds

    m0unds Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Posts:
    219
    Nothing exists in the folder except for dbs and the product log. This is on two separate machines, including one clean snapshotted VM running win10. when I license an IS Plus or Complete install, the files are present on disk and the extension installs and functions fine. That's why I'm confused as to whether the extension and filter driver should be present across the whole product line, when it seems like that's not the case with multiple different machines.
     
  12. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,071
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    OK do a clean reinstall and if it still doesn't show up Contact Webroot Support as I have seen this from some others with the Gamer version. You should see these folders well not the second one as that's for the Back Up & Sync on the Complete version!

    2016-02-16_14-03-00.png
     
  13. m0unds

    m0unds Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Posts:
    219
    I reinstalled it in the VM after my post (the VM snapshot is essentially a first reboot after a fresh windows install) and it didn't install anything but the client and the aforementioned *.db files with nothing else present in the folder.

    Haha, guess I'll give them one last shot to fix it but after my last few msgs, I'm not holding my breath.
     
  14. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,071
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    It could be a simple thing like your Keycode so please let us know the outcome.

    Thanks,

    Daniel ;)
     
  15. m0unds

    m0unds Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Posts:
    219
    Spent an hour on the phone, got escalated to some other department and I'm still waiting for resolution. They're not sure what's wrong, but I demonstrated the issue w/multiple computers because they didn't believe it wasn't the machine causing it.
     
  16. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,071
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Well tell them I have seen it for myself and a few others at the Webroot Community! https://community.webroot.com/t5/We...-using-the-green-checkmarks/m-p/240223#M23180
     
  17. m0unds

    m0unds Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Posts:
    219
    Well, they said the issue is going to be fixed in a forthcoming WSA client release. No idea what's wrong, but I guess we'll see if it's resolved whenever there's a client update.
     
  18. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,071
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    So there is an issue and in the client. thanks for reporting!
     
  19. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,104
    Location:
    .
    so, how does ENHANCED! Anti-Ransomware help good guys.
    2013 Webroot was posting journeying and rollback re crypto.
    https://community.webroot.com/t5/Se...ker-Ransomware/m-p/63647/highlight/true#M2466
    Maybe, ENHANCED means enhanced journeying n' rollback.
    Maybe, ENHANCED means enhanced focus n' resources.
    Maybe, ENHANCED means enhanced telemetry.
    Maybe, ENHANCED means enhanced detection.
    Maybe, ENHANCED means enhanced generic signatures.
    Edit: I found reference to "enhance-ing".... https://community.webroot.com/t5/We...t-cryptowall/m-p/240408/highlight/true#M23203
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2016
  20. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,603
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Well, one just has to have a little faith in Webroot and then having their users best interests at heart...which they do. They are not going to reveal how they are hardening WSA and that is an end to it...you can ask away until you are blue in the face but, quite rightly, they are not going to reveal exactly what they have improved.
     
  21. SSherjj

    SSherjj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    174
    Location:
    New York, USA
    I totally agree with you Baldrick!
     
  22. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,333
    Location:
    USN Retired 1969 ~ 1992
    Yep! :thumb:
     
  23. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,071
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Your quite right Baldrick!
     
  24. guest

    guest Guest

    I know that Patchguard limits/disable many security softs features, but why WSA cant implement a granular control over Windows Firewall (in Win10) like Binisoft WFC or Glassswire does? even Comodo could do it...

    Don't tell me it is impossible.
     
  25. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

    Webroot will wait until W7 disappears... LOL !! :argh:
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.