Webroot SecureAnywhere Discussion & Update Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Triple Helix, Jun 6, 2014.

  1. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,221
    Location:
    Mass., USA
    ?? email account? Pls explain
     
  2. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,088
    Location:
    USA
    After you login to the console look in the upper right corner. You should see the email address associated with the account. When you click on it you will get a drop-down menu with a number of options; select "account settings". On the account settings page you will see a section for Access and Permissions. Change the PC Security Console to "admin". Then you will be able to remove the ghost PC entries. Hope that helps.
     
  3. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,221
    Location:
    Mass., USA
    Sorry, no. Yes, I am admin, but the only option available is to "deactivate" which I've already done.
     
  4. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,088
    Location:
    USA
    Have you already added active PCs with the same license keys to replace the ghosts? It sounds like the ghost entries are still perceived as connected somehow. For instance after I uninstalled WSA from my phone the entry in the console showed as disconnected (or words to that effect), and I had the option to remove it.
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2015
  5. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,221
    Location:
    Mass., USA
    Ahh, I suspect mobile devices / phones have different options. These are all PCs.
    When I first registered for the Web Console, I saw my two machines listed there (along with GORILLAMOTORS)?. I have since added a 3rd machine, deactivated ghost machines, all display accordingly.
     
  6. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,088
    Location:
    USA
    GORRILLAMOTORS? I expect it was disconcerting to see a PC there that wasn't yours. I did go through the process of removing ghosted PC entries from the console once, but it was a while ago. I found it quite unintuitive which is probably why I can't remember the details better.
     
  7. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,221
    Location:
    Mass., USA
    Yeah, (2 of them) & with my 20 digit key code.
    I suspect (?) the only way to delete entirely is to uninstall on local mach.
     
  8. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,788
    http://www5.nohold.net/Webroot/ukp.aspx?pid=10&app=vw&vw=1&login=1&json=1&solutionid=1098&

    Version 9.0.0.64 (Released June 29th, 2015)

    To be compatible with the release of Windows 10, we are releasing our SecureAnywhere 9.0 version. Should you be considering upgrading to Windows 10, we would strongly recommend updating your SecureAnywhere version to our 9.0 release if you do not have automatic updating in place. This will ensure that when Windows 10 is released on July 29th, your security will be compatible with the upgrade.

    Implemented
    •Correct OS version reporting for Windows versions 8.1 and above.
    •Windows 10 compatibility.

    Improved
    •Path normalization for Internet Explorer cache paths.
    •Further scan engine improvements.
    •Aligned agent states.

    Fixed •Bug fixes.
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2015
  9. subhrobhandari

    subhrobhandari Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    779
    What do they mean by "Aligned agent states"?
     
  10. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,198
    I have installed Webroot AV. Under options it has malicious/phishing protection. I dont see any toolbar/addon in the browsers. It doesn't adds toolbar/addon in the browsers?
    So Webroot provides mal/phi protection without toolbar & WAV too has mal/phi protection?
     
  11. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,788
  12. Muddy3

    Muddy3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Posts:
    412
    Location:
    Belgium
    I am glad to see that v.59 of the Web Filter Extension has now been released along with v.9 of SecureAnywhere. My experience with the Beta version has been that this new filter completely resolves the problem that some people including myself were encountering of webpage FP blocks occurring on a dreadfully massive scale: a problem that was generated when right-clicking Google links in the Firefox browser and selecting 'Open in a new tab'.

    If anyone had that problem and maybe even temporarily abandoned Webroot because of it, try it again. The problem, as far as I can see, is no longer there (:)sigh of relief:)).

    Curiously, this particular bug-fix is not mentioned in the release notes.
     
  13. Dark Star 72

    Dark Star 72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    771
  14. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,044
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  15. geekatlarge

    geekatlarge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    66
    Location:
    Searching for $Windows.~BT folders
    This is not meant as trolling or even a point of debate, more of an anecdote. I was called in to a new customer on Friday after their former tech essentially threw up his hands and bailed out. I disinfected two workstations at a very busy small business. The reported symptom was an inability to use QuickBooks in multi-user mode. Both were protected by WSA. One had a banking trojan in Chrome, 4 malware toolbars in IE and over 180 malware/trojan/java exploit/Chrome extension components easily found by another AV - and all removed with a reboot. The other was similarly infected. No time for uploading log files to Webroot or taking screen shots, these needed to be fixed YESTERDAY. I performed additional scans and analysis and it all came back clean. Long story short - WSA missed a huge chunk of what seemed to be relatively easy to remove malware on both computers, allowed one to be compromised with a password stealer and brought both computers to their knees. WSA may test well sometimes, but it really failed in this instance. Sincerely hoping for some massive improvements in detection and removal.
     
  16. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    I have seen these reports before, strange enough all of them comes with "I am sorry I have no proof whatsoever that this has happen". I am also not trolling but whats the point of post this if you cannot backup your statements with evidence? You will get twice as much posts saying exactly the contrary. No offense intended. Next time its just enough to spend one minute and save the WSA logs before doing anything :)
     
  17. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,221
    Location:
    Mass., USA
    I whole heartily agree, yet I can understand his neglect to do so when in stressed mode.
    Yes, but aren't the majority of the posts / opinions here empirical w/o concern for scientifically documented data?
    Cheers
     
  18. geekatlarge

    geekatlarge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    66
    Location:
    Searching for $Windows.~BT folders
    Well, no offense taken. I see your point. As of now I have no idea when, or if, I'll be back there. I was called in on an emergency basis. I'll follow up soon to see if they'll be using my services again.

    You know, I might still be able to retrieve logs from the second computer, as the other tech who "fixed" it cloned the entire infected Windows install and dumped it into a folder on the reloaded desktop - malware and all intact. These are workstations being repaired on-the-fly. If they want me back and if the logs are there, I'll grab them. Are they stored in C:\ProgramData\WRData?

    Yes, Bob D. Exactly. Not even on my radar at that time.
     
  19. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,044
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    You can save a Scan Log from the WSA Tray Icon by Right Clicking and Save a Scan Log and also C:\ProgramData\WRData and there is allot more info they can gather with there Log Gathering tool, but if it was so bad why didn't you contact Webroot Support it's free with a paid subscription Webroot Customer Service? It's hard to defend when the needed info is gone! But if you do contact Webroot support with the Current Keycode on the system it may be possible for them to have some info.

    Thanks,

    Daniel
     
  20. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,044
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  21. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,253
    Location:
    North Texas
    Thanks TH...good info. I imagine for geekatlarge, it was a case of put the fire out since the customer is going ballistic...ask questions later. I hope some of the logs are available.
     
  22. geekatlarge

    geekatlarge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    66
    Location:
    Searching for $Windows.~BT folders
    Please accept my apologies. I cannot definitively state that WSA was the problem. I jumped to conclusions.

    I went back, looked for log files (none to be had) and asked a lot more questions.

    It turns out that WSA was likely installed only on the first workstation. The subscription might have been expired. It had been uninstalled by the customer before I got there, possibly for a couple of days, by the client in an attempt to fix networking.

    The second workstation had a fresh install of Windows 7 done a couple of days before I got there last time, with the previous install cloned and dumped - infections and all - into a desktop folder. I assumed WSA was on there too, in the old infected install folder, but the customer says it had a different antivirus on it.

    I was too hasty. Again please accept my apologies.
     
  23. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,253
    Location:
    North Texas
    Thanks for the follow up...I wish everyone was as professional as you are.
     
  24. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,044
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Sure thing if you have any further concerns or questions feel free to ask!

    Thanks,

    Daniel :)
     
  25. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,044
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Right On RR!

    Daniel :)
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.