Webroot SecureAnywhere Discussion & Update Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Triple Helix, Jun 6, 2014.

  1. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,630
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    I was really just laughing at my self for thinking I had been delivered the wrong product by Amazon :) Not really intended to criticize WSA.
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,057
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Very true!
     
  3. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,057
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    No problem I'm just providing info! I use the Complete version as well as CCleaner to remove the crap I hate crap!

    Daniel
     
  4. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,630
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    I believe it prudent to change the description of the optimizing feature in WSA Gamer's Version. Webroot might avoid some legal costs caused by a competitor filing a complaint with the FTC or retired US Government Attorney such as myself. Address it. At worst it's misleading.

    It's a nice added feature to WSA A/V, but that's really all it is.

    Take out the word "Gaming. Call it WSA A/V with file cleaner. It ain't an optimizer.

    But I guess it's too trivial to think about when the US can go to a war based on lies and kill 100,000s.

    The optimizer has nothing to do with obtaining foreign oil reserves for multi-nationall corporations I assume.
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2014
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,057
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Why don't you tell Webroot yourself via the Support Ticket or on the Webroot Community as it's falling on deaf ears here as I don't care what the name is it cleans the unwanted crap so it's optimizing my system and you even can choose what it cleans out and set a schedule for it as well: http://www.webroot.com/En_US/Secure...izer/CH9c_ChangingSystemOptimizerSettings.htm & http://www.webroot.com/En_US/Secure...timizer/CH9b_RunningScheduledOptimization.htm

    Daniel
     
  6. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,630
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Because I don't care either and like you it is not my responsibility.
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,057
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    That's in your opinion sorry.

    Daniel
     
  8. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,630
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    END

    Peace Bro
     
  9. Masterblaster

    Masterblaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Posts:
    262
    Location:
    USA
    There are game optimizers in the gaming community that turn off un-needed processes and services to speed up gaming. There are also Windows optimizers that delete old files, clean out the registry, and even remove un-needed start-up files. So some in the gaming world would call this a file cleaner not a game optimizer. I am not complaining. I love my SecureAnywhere™ AntiVirus for PC Gamers. If I were Webroot, I would back peddle a bit on calling what you include a game optimizer. The whole product assists gaming. Gamers are sensitive people.
     
  10. tolstoshev

    tolstoshev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    United States
    Thanks for the feedback, and that does make sense when you compare it to game optimizer software. I'll pass that along to the folks who manage the gamer product.
     
  11. Masterblaster

    Masterblaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Posts:
    262
    Location:
    USA
    OK, I have a question....
    I bought SecureAnywhere™ AntiVirus for PC Gamers. It appears it is a 1 computer license.
    Webroot SecureAnywhere Antivirus seems to be a 3 computer license.

    Is this right? Can I not install my "Gamers" version on my second laptop?
     
  12. tolstoshev

    tolstoshev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    United States
    Yeah the gamer version is a single license - if you have multiple machines you might be better off with a multi-user WSA license.
     
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,057
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  14. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,309
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    On the MaxCyberDefense Utube channel check out the WSA 2014 Test from 1 week ago. It starts to get better around the 16 minute mark in the video.
     
  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,057
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    YouTesters give me a break! And it's called Web Root and a Youtester is partial to Comodo!

    TH
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2014
  16. Esse

    Esse Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Posts:
    417
    Never mind what it is called or partial to, we are intelligent enough to draw our own conclusions when watching a video.
    You just have to see past the "testers" abilities and knowledge of the product, just pick up the parts were you find it interesting enough to bring up questions and give possible creative feedback.
    I must say I am a bit curious regarding the end of his Rollback Test Day 5, why is the popup of the missing file coming up?

    Please educate me :)

    /E
     
  17. phalanaxus

    phalanaxus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Posts:
    509
    Speaking of licenses:
    It costs 40$ for 1 pc/year, which is listed as "Affordably priced" with a huge bold line. Since when 40$ is an affordable price for a 1 year/1 machine license?
     
  18. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Yet another of these junk tests. Operator clueless, clicking here and there in WSA. A clean system with some malware left overs . Yes, WSA could have cleaned all dead entries including the one in the registry eventually. Just a quick session with support will solve it.

    But waiting some days (with the system shutdown) and then booting the VM session to see if something has changed is the most hilarious part, LOL. The OP has really understood how WSA works.... Let's draw a quiet veil over this.... Next please.... :D
     
  19. Esse

    Esse Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Posts:
    417
    Yes, I agree on the operator part. :)
    But, should not the registry part been taken care of when WSA did roll back that certain infection?
    Even if a system is shut down the information regarding the malware would already be in the WSA cloud, figuring out the next step, he boots up and gets that info from the cloud right away, hence the infections cleaned in the beginning of the video.
    Or am I missing something here?

    /E
     
  20. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Impossible to say without been in the back end and knowing exactly what the malware does. Detection (and remediation) can even be thanks to the intelligence gathered by other end points as it is not just about what is placed here and there but about the behavior of the malware. This cannot be collected if the system is powered off. Yes, WSA could have done better but the substance is that the active parts of the malware were killed and, in a real world case, the user would have been protected. Meanwhile, you have clueless user in the deep cyber space that, for ignorance or biased attitude, will continue his chronicle of a tragic failure. :D
     
  21. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,057
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Right that's why Youtesters are discouraged here at Wilders as they don't know what they are doing in the first place! https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/posting-policy-recommended-threads.180128/#post-1041384

    TH
     
  22. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,325
    Location:
    USN Retired 1969 ~ 1992
    To me it looks like Youtesters are a dime a dozen now on YouTube. I don't put any faith in them but there is only one that I enjoy watching that makes sense and that is Matt Rizos. They don't make Youtesters like Matt anymore. ;)
     
  23. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,599
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    But if you look around a little one can find less than that price for the 3 or even the 5 seat version...have just gotten to keep ones eyes open...:argh:
     
  24. phalanaxus

    phalanaxus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Posts:
    509
    I saw 1 year/multiple PC prices.. But why do I have to pay for what I won't be using ? I just want a single license to use on a single computer and I don't think that the current price is affordable as it is claimed to be.
     
  25. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    so a question maybe th can answer. i am using a av plus key for my daughters laptop and desktop and went to install it on her tablet but i enter the lic key and it keeps saying its invalid on the tablet. i downloaded the free version to start with because i did not see a "plus" tablet version. do i need to download a different version? i have used the complete keys on a tablet before and they worked fine on the tablets but the plus key not working. thanks
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.