Webroot Secure Anywhere Beta

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by whitedragon551, Jun 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Any one in on this? I must say my initial impression is amazing compared to most of what is already on the market. It is so light and snappy. It weighs in at 6Mb/s during a deep scan with 14% CPU usage tops and 70kbps I/O read and writes.
     
  2. Fad

    Fad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Posts:
    378
    Location:
    England
    Initially, a little 'configuration overload' - but will probably get used to that.

    There appears to be no uneccessary bloat or useless tools (which I know were some people`s concerns, including mine)

    The program data folder is currently weighing in at approximately 20 megabytes, which could potentially increase vastly, but at the moment that`s a reasonable size for offline data, especially compared to some.

    Clarification of certain options & features are needed, which will no doubt surface on here over the next few hours, days etc.

    First quick impression is positive and I can say that I was one of the people who had severe reservations and fears about this....
    to the point I had already started looking around for alternatives to replace it - I think that`s no longer necessary at this moment in time. :thumb:
     
  3. blasev

    blasev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Posts:
    763
    I've been searching through google , but I cant find the description
    could anyone help me with the link?
     
  4. buckslayr

    buckslayr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Posts:
    484
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Got my invite:D. Can't wait to get home tonight and get started with it!
     
  5. Duradel

    Duradel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
  6. blasev

    blasev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Posts:
    763
    thx for the link :D
     
  7. Duradel

    Duradel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I just installed it and man is it light! The scans are fast and the interface is pretty decent apart from being a little bright. It's a pretty suitable replacement for Prevx 3 and seems less clunky.
     
  8. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Its already been discussed over here
     
  9. pabrate

    pabrate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    685
    It's definitely very light , great job Prevx :thumb:

    One question though , is there a toolbar (ex. safeonline tab) ?
    I can't see it.

    Also, it would be great if firewall could have better custom rules in place, instead of simple Allow/Block.
     
  10. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,075
    There is an option to show the toolbar in the browser (by default is unselect) I have activate it but I still dont see the toolbar, I have reported it as a bug
     
  11. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i dont see it nowhereo_O
     
  12. guest

    guest Guest

    You have to chose the option in settings "online security" -> "show the webroot browser tab" ... and then you won't see it at first because it is ABOVE the browser (not visible), so you have to minimize the browser and then there it is (or was on my system). - And I could move it without any problem when opening it and then "grabbing" it there (grey area) with left mouse and ctrl-key (exactly as in Prevx3). - Only problem is where to move this long bar. They should make it much smaller IMHO. ;)

    p.s.: Sorry, pressing ctrl-key isn't even needed, I saw only just now. ;)
     
  13. Duradel

    Duradel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posting here should be OK because it increases exposure for their new product. I've tested it out a little and noticed the same thing as everyone else that the "Webroot Identity Shield" tab appears 'above' the browser in the top left rather than being a small tab inside the browser itself like Prevx. Reported that as a bug as it occurs for Firefox 4, Internet Explorer 9 and Google Chrome 12.
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2011
  14. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    They definitely don't want the product to be openly discussed until Public Beta phase afaik. https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1889014&postcount=23
     
  15. zerotox

    zerotox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    417
    The only significant bug I've found so far is right-click scan doesn't work for me.
    Don't know if the on access guard should work as in any other regular AV.
     
  16. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  17. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    upssss:)
     
  18. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Roger...Wilco!

    Have deleted my posts.
     
  19. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,956
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Let's abide by PrevxHelp's Post and close the discussion for now. Thank you!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.