webroot / ie10 typing issue

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by zfactor, Aug 5, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    installed webroot wsa complete on a clients pc a few months ago have had zero issues till today. she called me saying when she types she is getting spaces between each letter and its slow to type as she does. i was thinking possible virus maybe had got through so i went out to check it out. i found nothing out of the ordinary ran my usual set of tools to see if they found anything i see nothing strange as far as procc's running etc etc.. i remembered about a possible issue with webroot and foreign keyboards (but she uses a us based one and english lang on the system) and i went ahead and uninstalled webroot just to test (knowing i would re-install it later since she LOVES it and i dont think she would let me not lol) and the issue went away after the next reboot. she had version .167 (and prior 155 last time i looked at the system) today and then we went ahead and re-installed wsa complete and the problem came back again. and once again when removed the issue goes away.

    what could be causing this coming from webroot? when she types it looks like this: t e s t i n g or sometimes skips a space like this: t est i n g and other times it will have to catch up to her typing (she does type quickly being the secretary there) she does not use a wireless keyboard due to having issues in the past with them not keeping up at times so she has a mid line logitech keyboard and mouse both usb based.

    my first thought was some sort of keylogger when she called me but nothing on there that i can find at all. and without webroot it types fine.

    any thoughts been driving me crazy all day and i just got in and wanted to ask here first before proceeding looking into anything else. she used to have kaspersky installed and said her system has never run better and was "ridiculously slow" with kaspersky and she doesnt want to go back there (i have moved A LOT of clients to webroot.. one of my main ones we like to use)

    thanks much!!

    thanks!!
     
  2. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    836
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    She writes where?
    In a HTTPS session?
    In a word-processor?
    Same thing in Notepad?
     
  3. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    anything in ie10. logging into yahoo, filling out any kind of box, even typing a url in the bar. anything in ie10. issue goes away after webroot uninstall and reboot. does not happen in firefox....
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Did you try IE10 with add-ons disabled? Can we get some specs as to OS and 32 or 64bit?

    TH
     
  5. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Is this on Windows 8 or Windows 7? (and as TH asked, 32 or 64bit?)
     
  6. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    windows 7 professional x64. yes tried with everything disabled and also reset ie to default everything. even uninstalled the ie10 update and then reinstalled it. she does NOT want me to format and do a fresh install on this system. she does not maintain backups against my better judgement so i also can not roll it back to a previous image. as well someone in their office turned off system restore (we do not know who) though it rarely does any good anyway imo. its usually worthless
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    No issues here on my Win 7 x64 and IE10 Laptop could be the Keyboard and or Drivers and what Language is she using? Maybe the best thing for her is to contact the Webroot Support inbox so that they can gather some logs. https://www.webrootanywhere.com/servicewelcome.asp

    TH
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2013
  8. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,950
    Location:
    USA
    I've had similar issues in the past, and it turned out being the Identity shield. I don't have WSA installed on this Laptop, and I don't remember exactly how to adjust the settings for Identity Shield. Maybe you could try lowering it's protection level or disabling it all together temporarily for testing to see if the problem still occurs. I don't use a foreign keyboard, but I use special software for writing in many languages. WSA Identity Shield would block some of it's functionality if it's protection level was configured too high. What do you think Joe? I would start there with my trouble shooting.
     
  9. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    tried different keyboards and mice. the only thing that fixes this is to uninstall wsa.

    ill play around with the shield settings tomm and see if that helps.
     
  10. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    Just double-checking that this is a "Switch Flip" issue. Specifically:

    Uninstall WSA and reboot, Issue is gone.
    Install again (NOT restore/roll back), issue is back.
    Can do this unlimited number of times and will always display this symptom.

    If this is the case, I'd actually recommend support and wsalogs, since this doesn't happen to most folks so logs to see what the heck is going on could be important.
     
  11. shorTcircuiT

    shorTcircuiT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Posts:
    39
    Location:
    United States
    Just curious here, how common is this issue? I have heard of it before, the not in any significant quantity.
     
  12. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    It would be worth setting the browsers to Allow instead of Protect and write into our support inbox to see if they can help out. While this would disable the Identity Shield protection on these browsers, as long as the system is clean, there isn't any risk, and it should make it more usable.

    Thanks for the help!
     
  13. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    system was fine with shield off. tested today.

    also uninstalled. ran ccleaner to remove the leftovers that are usually there. rebooted 3 times to be sure and removed anything i could find to do with webroot (there were more leftovers than i usually see so not sure what was going on with this install). downloaded the newest version directly and reinstalled, rebooted and for the moment it seems to be okay now. i am not sure what to say may have been the issue but i will report back if anything happens again and will contact support with logs if the issue comes back. she said all day it has been fine and i was there at around 10:30 am eastern she called me just after 7pm. but the problem was def coming from the identity shield.
     
  14. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,950
    Location:
    USA
    I was pretty sure the Identity shield was causing the problem. I have experienced similar problems many times in the past with Identity Shield. I lowered the protection settings, and that fixed the issue for me.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.