Webroot Firewall 5.8 resource hungry

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by TrojanHunter, Dec 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TrojanHunter

    TrojanHunter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Posts:
    151
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I was previously using this firewall because it is free at the moment, but when I checked the task manager Webroot desktop firewall was eating more than 500MB of ram under Vista 32bit:eek:

    I've now uninstalled because this is unacceptable, but I wonder if this is a Bug or is the firewall just a Pig?
     
  2. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    well 500mb cant possibly be something normal, so im going to guess its a BIG bug.
     
  3. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    I'm not aware about the specific version:

    The Webroot firewall has supposedly a memory leak. Which could explain your problem.
     
  4. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
  5. entropism

    entropism Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    332
    Hmmph, if I knew about that hotfix, I would have kept running webroot. Now I have CIS (FW and D+ only) and couldn't be happier. Was a shame too, I really wanted to like Webroot/Privacyware's offering. Especially since Privacyware is located about 5 miles from where I live. =p
     
  6. progress

    progress Guest

    Has this problem been solved? :mad:
     
  7. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
  8. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,422
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    This isn't an issue with XP. I've been running Webroot a couple of days on both my Vista sp1 laptop and XP pro sp2 desktop. Not a single problem on the desktop. Webroot is light with no apparent slowdowns.

    On the Vista sp1 laptop, I had the memory problem. The hotfix cured it. I like this firewall and I'm glad it wasn't a Webroot/Privacyware problem.
     
  9. progress

    progress Guest

    Any other experiences?

    Is there no Webroot Firewall 5.8 Free? :blink:
     
  10. johncage

    johncage Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Posts:
    70
  11. progress

    progress Guest

    No way to get it without register? :oops:
     
  12. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    There is a download at Softpedia


    - Stem
     
  13. JohnnyDollar

    JohnnyDollar Guest

    I think you still have to register it though because it requires a key. You will have to give them your email address to get the key. If they send you any emails in the future you can unsubscribe from them and they won't bother you anymore.
     
  14. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,786
    how do you rate this firewall?
     
  15. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    moderate/mediocre
     
  16. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,786
    :thumb:
     
  17. JohnnyDollar

    JohnnyDollar Guest

    I tried it on my mom's xp x86 and except for the resource usage problem the firewall did well. Has an easy setup and you can enable the process monitor if you want which is disabled by default. It has network discovery. It has a splash screen at windows startup that I couldn't disable.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.