Webroot causes problems in Windows 8. Prevent from Login

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Nevis, Dec 2, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nevis

    Nevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    786
    Location:
    255.255.255.255
    Hey all

    The last 2 days have been very bad for me. Let me describe series of events.

    I installed Webroot secure anywhere and everything went well. it was blazing fast ... super :thumb:

    Later when I rebooted the PC, win 8 said " wrong username and password". I was SHOCKED.

    I just cant login even though i just login few minutes back. Moreover, i had set win 8 to auto-login so that it does not check net for passwords etc but login me straight away.


    Anyways, I checked online and my LIVE ID password was correct. I could login to hotmail with same username and password. I was not surprised. I knew I was using correct password and username.


    The only thing I could remember was installing webroot secure anywhere but I was 90% sure that WSA possibly cannot do that.

    I tried so many things, nothing worked. Finally I tried system restore prior to installing WSA.

    Next reboot , I was successfully able to login to Windows 8.


    Now, I look to webroot forum, I found this topic :

    http://community.webroot.com/t5/Web...-people-out-of-Windows-8-READ/m-p/17530#M1592


    It describes exact same problem as I encountered. This is a very very High Risk problem

    I am terribly disappointed with webroot software. :mad:
     
  2. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    I guess it's a serious issue that I'm sure they'll fix quickly. Fortunately, I haven't had that experience when I tried WSA on Win8.
     
  3. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,723
    Location:
    localhost
    No problem whatsoever with WSA and WIN8 here. :)
     
  4. Nevis

    Nevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    786
    Location:
    255.255.255.255
    Unfortunately, this caused lot of problems for me and many other perhaps. Even if it is fixed quickly, it cannot be ignored. We still remember similar cases by McAfee etc. :(
     
  5. chabbo

    chabbo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    350
    same problem here.. i did call microsoft. they couldnt do annything. so i did keep wait 2-3 days then Reinstall to windows 7.
     
  6. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    im sure they are working on it.

    a suggestion what about using a boot disc like something similar to the active@boot disk where you can remove your password from windows?? i dont know if that would work but it might be worth a shot.
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I have no issues on both of my VM's running Win 8 Pro 32bit & 64bit with the latest versions of WSA and I have been Beta testing since the Win 8 Beta's with WSA without issues as I said at the Webroot forums.

    TH
     
  8. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,723
    Location:
    localhost
    I guess it is due to specific local conditions (software? Hardware?). The difficult part will be to find the culprit. If it was a widespread issue the webroot community would be submerged by complaints :)
     
  9. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2012
  10. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Sorry chabbo I missed your post, did you contact WSA support? If not please do so. https://www.webrootanywhere.com/servicewelcome.asp? I would like to see an answer to this from support.

    TH
     
  11. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    Did you allow the first scan to run completely?

    I would think that for support to be able to help, they would need to see event logs and WSA logs. If the system restore killed that, it would make it really hard to diagnose.

    It's also possible that windows or other updates occurred that caused or contributed to the issue. So yes, event and WSA logs would be important.
     
  12. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    I agree. It would not be the first time that one of the Windows updates is causing a issue, even though we all agree at this point that it's still a mystery.
    I wonder if the 64bit version of Win8 is involved in this case. Days ago, I tried WSA under 32bit without any problem.
     
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    In my 2 VM's Win 8 Pro 32bit & 64bit no issues entering my password and completely updated so I'm very curious also. Also one thing it's just Win 8 with Windows Defender and WSA-C and added Firefox nothing more on the systems.

    TH
     
  14. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    In my case, it was WSA av-only with WinDefender fully disabled from the start..
     
  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I kept Windows Defender on just to see how they interact and will turn it off one day. :D

    TH
     
  16. Nevis

    Nevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    786
    Location:
    255.255.255.255
    HI Triple Helix,

    I did not contact WSA support as I initially thought that it was windows problem. Later i knew that it was perhaps WSA fault.

    I could not wait for support as I need to access my PC urgently. I did a restore prior to WSA install and it worked.
    Moreover, there were other people experiencing the same issue, so there was no doubt about that.
     
  17. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    PM sent.

    Thanks,

    TH
     
  18. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  19. xpo172

    xpo172 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Posts:
    2
    I had this problem with WIN 8 beta. I was using a VM at the time, so I probably just did a restore and blamed it on the beta. Are the folks that are having issues using the production Windows 8 installed fresh, or are these upgrades from beta? (don't even know if that's possible, but just a thought)

    I'll try to reproduce this issue.

    BobR
    Webroot
     
  20. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I have not had any issues with the Win 8 Beta's or the RTM's and they are both clean installs on my VM's and I do use Microsoft Passport ID to logon.

    TH
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2012
  21. Nevis

    Nevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    786
    Location:
    255.255.255.255
    I have reinstalled WSA and its working properly. I appreciate WSA people trying to help me out.
    Hope I stay happy with my WSA journey since the beginning has not been well.
     
  22. Nevis

    Nevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    786
    Location:
    255.255.255.255
    I was looking into the ticket in WSA community.

    I thing I would like to add one thing:-

    When I did install WSA and rebooted, I got Windows updates. Thats why I thought it was a windows issue first.

    Now I see 5 people have reported this issue. Also the next time I installed WSA ( after doing a windows restore ), I got Windows update again.

    However, this time I did not face any login issues.

    Is it a coincidence that whenever you install WSA on Windows 8, you get some windows updates. ( I know this seems far unlikely but I thought any input given on this issue might help WSA engineers to fix the issue)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.