Webfiltering killing internet

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by SauS, May 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SauS

    SauS Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    Hello,

    Since an hour ago i got suddenly a problem that the option to filter/scan internet trafic kills my internet to speeds of a modem.
    I could see aswell when i was browsing that the ekrn.exe was going up to 25-30% cpu on my quadcore.
    Asoon as i turned the filter off my internet went with normal speed again.
    Note that this hasnt happend before, not once in the 5-6 years of using NOD32.
    I didnt install anything, it happend when i woke up. :ouch:

    This is really annoying and wondering if it has something to do with a update from eset?

    This is the option im talking about incase ur wondering.
    http://img197.imageshack.us/img197/310/nod32i.png

    Thanks in advance for the help.
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,415
    The web scanner must be scanning file(s) which are probably reasonably large and take files to get scanned or extracted if downloading large archives. Check under Statistics - Web access protection -> Scanned object what files are actually being scanned. If possible, provide us a link to those files.
     
  3. SauS

    SauS Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    This only is when im browsing the net using google chrome, dont know if its a problem with chrome and nod32 combination..

    But seems not likely its a big file since its purely with browsing the web.

    Edit, could u provide a screenshot where to find that, cant really find it on my dutch client.
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2010
  4. SauS

    SauS Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    Anyone? This is really annoying o_O
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,415
    We'd need to get a dump from ekrn (with self-defense enabled) when the problem occurs for perusal. On Vista, you can right-click ekrn.exe and select Create dump file. Zip the dump and let me know when done so that I can provide you with further instructions.
     
  6. SauS

    SauS Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    Ok i made the dump and zipped it, its aprox 50mb big tho.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.