Webfiltering killing internet

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by SauS, May 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SauS

    SauS Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    Hello,

    Since an hour ago i got suddenly a problem that the option to filter/scan internet trafic kills my internet to speeds of a modem.
    I could see aswell when i was browsing that the ekrn.exe was going up to 25-30% cpu on my quadcore.
    Asoon as i turned the filter off my internet went with normal speed again.
    Note that this hasnt happend before, not once in the 5-6 years of using NOD32.
    I didnt install anything, it happend when i woke up. :ouch:

    This is really annoying and wondering if it has something to do with a update from eset?

    This is the option im talking about incase ur wondering.
    http://img197.imageshack.us/img197/310/nod32i.png

    Thanks in advance for the help.
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    The web scanner must be scanning file(s) which are probably reasonably large and take files to get scanned or extracted if downloading large archives. Check under Statistics - Web access protection -> Scanned object what files are actually being scanned. If possible, provide us a link to those files.
     
  3. SauS

    SauS Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    This only is when im browsing the net using google chrome, dont know if its a problem with chrome and nod32 combination..

    But seems not likely its a big file since its purely with browsing the web.

    Edit, could u provide a screenshot where to find that, cant really find it on my dutch client.
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2010
  4. SauS

    SauS Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    Anyone? This is really annoying o_O
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    We'd need to get a dump from ekrn (with self-defense enabled) when the problem occurs for perusal. On Vista, you can right-click ekrn.exe and select Create dump file. Zip the dump and let me know when done so that I can provide you with further instructions.
     
  6. SauS

    SauS Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    Ok i made the dump and zipped it, its aprox 50mb big tho.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.