web very slow if Flash is running

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by bracesandbelt, Dec 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bracesandbelt

    bracesandbelt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    12
    Hi

    My securuity setup is current ESET AV + current DefenseWall HIPS. When I am using the web, some pages really load up my CPU and make the PC slow to a crawl (it can take more than half a minute to bookmark one of these pages). The problem disappears if I kill the Flash on the page.

    My guess is that this is down to the heuristics in NOD32. Does this sound right?

    And whatever the cause is, how do I fix it without having to kill Flash all of the time please?

    Looking forward, I intend to stick with Defensewall but would consider another AV if there is one that would play better with Defensewall. My licence renewal is next month so is there anything anyone would suggest I consider please?

    Thanks in advance :)
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I doubt that it's caused by heuristics. If it was so, you'd need to continually download exe files that would be subsequently emulated by advanced heuristics. For testing purposes, I'd try disabling real-time protection and HTTP checking in the advanced setup, one at a time, to narrow it down to the particular module.
    I wonder if disabling or uninstalling DefenseWall makes a difference (again, for testing purposes and not as an unacceptable workaround).
     
  3. bracesandbelt

    bracesandbelt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    12
    Thanks for the advice Marcos. I'll try to test your suggestions re RT and HTTP later today, and will post again when I've done so.
     
  4. ccomputertek

    ccomputertek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Posts:
    371
    Sounds like your using windows vista, this is a known problem with flash and has nothing to do with the antivirus.correct me if i'm wrong..... what OS are you running ?
     
  5. bracesandbelt

    bracesandbelt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    12
    not had a chance to try your suggestions yet Marcos.

    xp pro ccomputertek. as an aside i do have a vista pc that i've never unboxed, but will start using soon. with what you write, should i consider upg to win7 if i stick with defensewall and nod32 (or maybe avira) pls?
     
  6. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    668
    Upgrade to Win7 regardless of what you use, it's much better than Vista
     
  7. ccomputertek

    ccomputertek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Posts:
    371
    Ok, XP pro.Can you go into your network adapter properties from my network places on the desktop or from control panel and see if client for microsoft networks, file and printer sharing for microsoft networks and QOS packet scheduler are bound to your net adapter, if not, installed them from the install button and then run these 2 commands from an administrator command prompt:

    netsh int ip reset C:\resetlog.txt

    netsh winsock reset

    and then reboot.

    Also go uninstall flash and then make sure nothing related to flash is in your:

    c:\windows\downloaded program files folder and then go to a web page that uses flash and let it reinstall flash and reboot again, see if that changes things.

    sometimes and in certain cases the winsock gets corrupt without the presence of client for microsoft networks, file and printer sharing for microsoft networks and QOS packet scheduler are not bound to your net adapter and will start to have a negative impact on your web browsing.
     
  8. bracesandbelt

    bracesandbelt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    12
    sorry for not being able to reply sooner all. anyway....

    first off, i selected some test websites and tried disabling http only, then rt only, then defensewall only. none seemed to fix the problem.

    none of the sites i selected are ones that cause the worst stalls. will see if i can try those later. but the sites i tested all have active elements (gif animantions, links to youtube etc) other than flash. it seems that maybe flash is the worst culprit but that maybe video intensive work or redirections might be a more basic cause? for ref, the pc is quite old (5 years), a 1.7Ghz centrino with 2Mb of memory. but the slow loads didn't exist, as far as i recall, with earlier installs when using earlier nods.

    so, next i checked the network settings. client for microsoft networks is installed, as is QoS packet scheduler, but not file and printer sharing for networks. when i clicked on this and then install i was asked whether i wanted client, services, or protocol. which one should it be please? I didn't install as i hadn't a clue what was being asked :doubt: .
     
  9. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    are you talking about flash embedded video or flash animations?
    last can cause really heavy load - depending or monitor resolution,
    browser, flash engine (plugin, activex), stream aso.
     
  10. ccomputertek

    ccomputertek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Posts:
    371
    It's a service.........
     
  11. bradtech

    bradtech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Posts:
    84
     
  12. bradtech

    bradtech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Posts:
    84
    Excellent advice.. I'd also like to add that certain application that use Flash are very memory intensive, and even make my home PC with a Radeon 3870, and 6 GB of memory stutter in any web browser I run with or without AV protection. Such little application through Facebook such as Cafeworld, etc make my computer run worse than Crysis!!

    He may also want to exclude defensewall and any other security applications he is running through ESET, and then exclude ESET from them also... Even though they will probably conflict/have negative impacts having both of them running I have had some luck trying to make them ignore one another in the past..
     
  13. rpremuz

    rpremuz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Posts:
    100
    Location:
    Croatia
    I encountered such issues with Flash elements in web pages many times. It has nothing to do with NOD32 AV. I'd say it's bad Flash programming. Here is an example I've seen recently that rises the CPU usage quite high: www.metronet.hr (it contains a rotating sphere). When the browser window is minimised the CPU usage goes back to normal.

    -- rpr.
     
  14. ccomputertek

    ccomputertek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Posts:
    371
    Yeah, seriously.Whats gotten into flash lately :ouch:

    I can tell you it has nothing to do with NOD32 or the firewall for that matter.I have neither installed on one system and it does the same thing.the firewall or Anti might make it seem a little worse though.
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.