Warning: Grsecurity: Potential contributory infringement and breach of contract risk for customers

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by summerheat, Jul 3, 2017.

1. summerheat

summerheat Registered Member

http://perens.com/blog/2017/06/28/w...contributory-infringement-risk-for-customers/

I had mentioned this legal problem already here.

2. Amanda

Amanda Registered Member

But is it still licensed under GPL?

Just because it derives from the Kernel, it doesn't mean it must fall into the same license as long as the code isn't identical. They could create patches that are in no way related to what's in the Kernel, make this code under a proprietary license, and still negate/warn customers that they cannot redistribute the code.

3. summerheat

I'm not a lawyer but that's not how I understand GPL. These patches are patches of the kernel - they cannot exist as stand-alone code. As far as I understand it this means that GPL also applies to them.

4. Beyonder

Beyonder Registered Member

https://www.gnu.org/licenses/gpl-faq.html#GPLModuleLicense
    The entire point of the GPL license is that you cannot ADD restrictions to GPL code, only REMOVE restrictions. With restrictions I mean stuff that prevents you from using the software. Therefore it's impossible for Grsecurity to add restrictions preventing people from sharing the code.

For example:
    Signal Protocol and every Signal program is GPL licensed
    For WhatsApp the Signal Protocol is licensed as Apache, because Apache is less restrictive than the GPL license.
    During no circumstances could the Signal Protocol be made proprietary.

5. Amanda

Amanda Registered Member