warning asrock motherboards are incompatible with linux distros

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by taleblou, May 22, 2019.

  1. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,349
    Hi:
    After trying many many times with many different linux distros and non would load or install on my ASROCK motherboard pc and many search online, I found out that asrock motherboards are for windows 10 only. Damn I wish I knew it in advance. Now I am stuck in using windows 10 on this system. So I am giving linux users here headsup to not go for ASROCK motherboards.

    Now I am making another DIY pc and this one I am using a ASUS motherboard. Hopefully it is linux compatible. Does anyone know if a ASUS PRIME A320M-K motherboard linux ready? I will be using a ryzed 3 2200G cpu on it. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. reasonablePrivacy

    reasonablePrivacy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Posts:
    1,758
    Location:
    Member state of European Union
    I'm sorry you got stuck with Windows 10.
    Thanks for tip to not buy motherboards from ASROCK. Which models did you buy?
     
  3. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,976
    What are you talking about? what is the mobo that gives you problems?

    ps. I wrote this from an Asrock J4205-itx with debian 9.9

    Panagiotis
     
  4. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,349
    well mine is ASROCK A320M HDV R4 with Ryzen 3 2200g and I tried mint, ubuntu, deepin. zorin and when chosen to install or to run, the screen goes black and stays black indefinatley. I tried re-burning the iso with unebootin rufeus, etc. and still any linux boot or install disk in USB or DVD gives the same black screen after pressing to install or run live. I did some searching about this issue and saw many posts talking about this issue related to ASROCK motherboard and warnings like that.
    Heck my other Pcs with intel motherboard and min pcs works fine with linux distros.

    this is my motherboard:
    https://www.asrock.com/MB/AMD/A320M-HDV R4.0/index.asp

    here is a post with similar issue to mine on asrock motherboard:
    https://forums.tomshardware.com/threads/how-to-install-linux-on-asrock.2834373/

    here is an interesting post:
    "Yeah I have read on other forums that MSI seems to have the best support for Ryzen APUs while ASRock is rather poor."
    from https://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?t=271319
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2019
  5. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,349
    I just read a post in linux mint forum where people are mentioning that it might be ryzen 3 2200g and ryzen 5 2400g with APU that may not be compatible to linux distros. seems linux has issues with ryzen chips that have APUs. can anyone confirm with a ryzen 3 2200g or 5 2400g that linux works or not?

    the post: https://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?t=271319
     
  6. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,976
    @taleblou try a distro with kernel 4.19 and above. e.g. try ubuntu 19.04 that comes with kernel 5.0
     
  7. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,349
    I will try that. you might be right. could be kernel related?? I tried latest manjaro live and it worked in live disk so could be kernel related. manjaro is too confusing for me. so will try the latest ubuntu and see if it works after trying manjaro-deepin ( I am very familiar with deepin) if that did not work (manjaro deepin is a year old and 2 version behind regular manjaro) then will try latest ubuntu (am new to ubuntu and need to learn it).
     
  8. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,976
    If I remember correctly those cpu's were supported with versions 4.16~17 of the kernel. With earlier versions the system won't boot.

    Panagiotis
     
  9. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,548
    I have heard people warn that, generally speaking, Linux distros might not support new hardware right away. It takes time. Google it before you buy.
     
  10. AutoCascade

    AutoCascade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Posts:
    740
    Location:
    United States
    I've seen several stories about issues with the AMD APU's on linux, there is a lot of info in the comments section of this Phoronix story about this very issue and a recent patch - comments being the 2nd link.

    I was waiting to get a system with a 3600G when its released later this year but am a little gun shy now because it'll be the same situation pretty much.


    https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=AMD-Raven1-Skip-The-DMCU

    https://www.phoronix.com/forums/for...cting-some-raven-ridge-systems-on-linux/page2
     
  11. Satish Latchman

    Satish Latchman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    Hi to all
    I have successfully install ubuntu on the Asrock A320M-HDV r.4 ,the version i am using is 18.04 LTS i can view netflix play installed games and run zsnes emulator and roms. My only problem is i install two 8GB of memory DDR4 - 2400 Mhz. But when i go into the bios set up it is reading 2133 mhz on Auto i searched all the tabs but i am unable to correct the setting. I know the board can only work on windows 10 , but windows 10 has so many security issues that is why i did't buy (Windows 10). So ? Can the linux OS make the bios not to function properly.

    This is the parts i used for the build
    APU- A8-9600 AMD
    MOBO - Asrock A320M-HDV r.4.0
    Sesame - DDR4 2400mhz (2*8GB)
     
  12. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,976
    Welcome to the forums.
    Sort answer = no, ram timmings/speeds are not OS related.

    See these videos and you'll understand that increased memory speed does not always mean faster ram
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_WsfeuWI7mU
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8P1TmrtRu6E
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D_Yt4vSZKVk
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 19, 2020
  13. Satish Latchman

    Satish Latchman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    Hi thank you very much.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.