want to try dual boot but need help

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by cet, Mar 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cet

cet Registered Member

I have been using Pardus Linux for some time on my virtual machine.I love Pardus too much and most of the time use it within virtual machine.I would like to install it on my computer but I have never used dual booting before.I do not want to touch the boot section of windows.I am reading things about dual boot lately So I think I found an answer.Please help me if I am wrong:
    I have only 1 hard disk which is C active and K for data.Since K is 100GB I will make it 80 to 20 using Easeus Partition master(I have used it before with success).Then I will install Pardus on the third partition(20 gb) but after installation I will install grub on the partition where linux is (on the 3rd partition-is this possible)
    Since I own a Vista laptop I will use the files from Vista to install EasyBCD on my windows XP.And afterwards using EasyBCD I will be able to boot into Linux.
    Is this correct,is there any chance of giving harm to my windows installation? Do I have to do other things? and after doing the things explained above will I be able to use the windows restore,boot into safe mode or restore windows with Paragon or shadowprotect type of programs.Thanks in advance.

2. cet

cet Registered Member

Bump.

3. Mrkvonic

Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

I'll get to it ... patience :) too tired for big thoughts now.
    Mrk

4. lotuseclat79

lotuseclat79 Registered Member

5. cet

cet Registered Member

Thanks lotuseclat79 I read those posts.

Thanks I will be waiting patiently and eagerly.I read your comments about Pardus it is a very helpful writing,but I think you wrote that there was not a live CD for Pardus.You can download a live CD from this address.It is nearly at the middle of the page;http://www.webmastersitesi.com/linux/kullanma-ve-calistirma-pardus-hakkinda.20196