Wallpaper problems using Tony Klein's .gsr file

Discussion in 'Ghost Security Suite (GSS)' started by BrainWarp, Mar 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BrainWarp

    BrainWarp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Posts:
    287
    How do i make regdefend allow me to change wallpapers?I am sorta a noob to changing things on this program.

    thanks
     
  2. TopperID

    TopperID Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,527
    Location:
    London
    You must ensure you have created an Application Rule allowing Rundll.exe to Set/Delete Values, as follows:-

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control panel\Desktop *Wallpaper*

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control panel\Desktop ScreenSave*

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control panel\Desktop scrnsave.exe
     
  3. BrainWarp

    BrainWarp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Posts:
    287
    Hello

    I really have no idea what i am doing ---It still does not work.Maybe i am not doing this right?

    I put these 3 under Rundll.exe or do i need to create a new app rule?

    group name wallpaper
    filename ?
    command line?
     
  4. TopperID

    TopperID Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,527
    Location:
    London
    When you click 'Configure', in the left hand column you will see a list of Application Rules. Select Rundll.exe and ensure that the above key is listed three times with each of those values (ie *Wallpaper*,ScreenSave* and scrnsave.exe) appearing in the Value column to the right of the key. You should have 3 entries for the Key, one for each Value.

    In each case you must select the Key and be sure that you have a tick in the boxes for Rundll to Set and Delete those Values.

    If this is still not working, look at your log and check what is being denied by RD - you could give us a screen shot of your log if necessary.

    Edit - to create an Application Rule you select the Rundll Group and click Add Rule, you can then enter the Key and Value in the box that pops up.
     
  5. BrainWarp

    BrainWarp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Posts:
    287
    thanks for your replies Topper--i will try this later and see if it works ,but it is really not a big deal--i can always switch back to rd standard just to change wallpapers.

    regards
     
  6. fred22

    fred22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Posts:
    229
    its not rundll.exe..i have same issue

    i'l use Tony's latest gsr file

    it only works from display properties (browse wall,apply)

    let's say the BG is saved into my documents
    rightclick BG and set as background

    regdefend shows up asking to change value for explorer:
    (3th screenshot)



    i permit the change and finally it blocks the change:
    http://img297.imageshack.us/img297/7353/shot3420062136173qs.png

    logfile

    http://img297.imageshack.us/img297/6730/bg28ri.gif

    the permit rules for runddl.exe are already there

    thx in advance
     

    Attached Files:

    • bg1.gif
      bg1.gif
      File size:
      24 KB
      Views:
      221
  7. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    4,350
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I'm unable to duplicate that. By default gif/jpegs are opened by iexplore.exe, and that in turn is taken care of by my Ieplore apps rule.

    However, feel free to duplicate the Rundll rule in question for your Explorer apps group; that should do the trick:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control panel\Desktop* | *wallpaper* | SET VALUE | | Explorer |
     
  8. fred22

    fred22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Posts:
    229
    hey tony,

    ignore my previous post..its fixed by simply ticking "always perform this action" :p ;)
     
  9. f3x

    f3x Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Posts:
    311
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    On a topic similar to walpaper is windows theme ans screensaver.
    I may check later ... but I remember after playing with XP look that i have some RD popup. There is also two popup in explorer that appear if you try to hide the icon on your desktop.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.