VSS Error: Can' t read system volume

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by Anakunda, Jun 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Anakunda

    Anakunda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Posts:
    94
    Hello,

    got today this message when doing full system drive backup using custom script. I did system backups already using same configuration and the backup went ok.

    I need an advice how to evercome this error

    Here's the script for completeness:

    Code:
    // Full (base) system backup
    // Time of creation: Tue Mar 02 16:52:40 2010
    
    // Settings block
    settings
    	surfacetest off
    	verify off
    	copyonetoone off
    	hddrawprocess off
    	allow64kcluster off
    	donothidetarget on
    	copyinsteadofmove off
    	bigdrives off
    	compressionlevel 2
    	sidafterdisk off
    	sidafterpartition off
    	defaultsidchanger on
    	nodellabel off
    	timeshift 60
    	oemcodepage 852
    	timezone 24
    	langnumber 8
    	slavecfg off
    	notforslave off
    	enablerestart on
    	enablevirtualdb on
    	autoconverttofat32 on
    	sidparams ""
    	hotbackup lockimpossible
    	tempdrive Y
    	vss2hbswitch on
    	vssattempts 4
    	vsstimeout 120
    endsettings
    
    confirm on
    
    // Backup
    img = "Y:/backup/img_0.pbf"
    select first track 0
    options
    	cmp = 2
    	pwd = "************"
    	label = "System Backup - HDD First Track $(DAY).$(MONTH).$(YEAR) $(HOUR):$(MINUTE):$(SECOND)"
    	autonames
    	hotbackup lockimpossible
    	tempdrive Y
    	usevss
    store
    
    call check_error
    
    // Backup
    img = "Y:/backup/img_1.pbf"
    select disk 0
    select partition primary 0
    options
    	cmp = 2
    	pwd = "**************"
    	notempfiles
    	label = "System Backup - Windows System Volume $(DAY).$(MONTH).$(YEAR) $(HOUR):$(MINUTE):$(SECOND)"
    	autonames
    	hotbackup lockimpossible
    	tempdrive Y
    	usevss
    	exclude = "C:/Users/Anakunda/AppData/Local/Temp/"
    	exclude = "C:/Windows/Temp/"
    	exclude = "C:/Users/Anakunda/AppData/Local/Microsoft/Windows/Temporary Internet Files/"
    	exclude = "C:/Users/Anakunda/AppData/Local/Mozilla/Firefox/Profiles/nupqji1i.default/Cache/"
    	exclude = "C:/Users/Anakunda/AppData/Local/Opera/Opera/cache/"
    	exclude = "C:/Users/Anakunda/AppData/Local/Google/Chrome/User Data/Default/Cache/"
    	exclude = "C:/Users/Anakunda/AppData/Local/Apple Computer/Safari/Cache.db"
    	exclude = "C:/Program Files (x86)/Direct Connect/FileLists/"
    	exclude = "C:/Users/Anakunda/Application Data/Adobe/Common/Media Cache Files/"
    	exclude = "C:/$RECYCLE.BIN/"
    	exclude = "C:/MSOCache/"
    	exclude = "C:/ProgramData/Microsoft/Search/Data/Temp/"
    	exclude = "C:/Users/Default/AppData/Local/Temp/"
    	exclude = "C:/Users/Anakunda/Local Settings/Microsoft/Windows/Explorer/thumbcache*.db"
    store
    
    call check_error
    
    // Merge archives into one archive
    img = "Y:/backup/backup_$(YEAR)_$(MONTH)_$(DAY)_$(HOUR)_$(MINUTE).pbf"
    img = "Y:/backup/img_0.pbf"
    img = "Y:/backup/img_1.pbf"
    options
    	label = "Backed up on $(DAY).$(MONTH).$(YEAR) $(HOUR):$(MINUTE):$(SECOND)"
    store complex
    
    call check_error
    apply all
    call check_error
    
    // Function for checking error
    check_error:
    	if (errorcode(1) != 0)
    	then
    		print "Some error occured: "
    		strerror(errorcode(1))
    		print ""
    		print "Exiting"
    		print ""
    		exit(errorcode(1))
    	endif
    endcall
    
     
  2. Mech_An

    Mech_An Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    855
    Anakunda,

    Could you please specify what exact error did you get?
    As far as I understand, you have already tried this script several times. And accidentally it stops working. Is it correct?
     
  3. Anakunda

    Anakunda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Posts:
    94
    Mech_An,
    that's correct, but problem solved in meantime, I don't know what was the error caused by
    If I encounter the error again, I'll try report the message exactly
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.