VSS Error: Can' t read system volume

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by Anakunda, Jun 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Anakunda

    Anakunda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Posts:
    94
    Hello,

    got today this message when doing full system drive backup using custom script. I did system backups already using same configuration and the backup went ok.

    I need an advice how to evercome this error

    Here's the script for completeness:

    Code:
    // Full (base) system backup
    // Time of creation: Tue Mar 02 16:52:40 2010
    
    // Settings block
    settings
    	surfacetest off
    	verify off
    	copyonetoone off
    	hddrawprocess off
    	allow64kcluster off
    	donothidetarget on
    	copyinsteadofmove off
    	bigdrives off
    	compressionlevel 2
    	sidafterdisk off
    	sidafterpartition off
    	defaultsidchanger on
    	nodellabel off
    	timeshift 60
    	oemcodepage 852
    	timezone 24
    	langnumber 8
    	slavecfg off
    	notforslave off
    	enablerestart on
    	enablevirtualdb on
    	autoconverttofat32 on
    	sidparams ""
    	hotbackup lockimpossible
    	tempdrive Y
    	vss2hbswitch on
    	vssattempts 4
    	vsstimeout 120
    endsettings
    
    confirm on
    
    // Backup
    img = "Y:/backup/img_0.pbf"
    select first track 0
    options
    	cmp = 2
    	pwd = "************"
    	label = "System Backup - HDD First Track $(DAY).$(MONTH).$(YEAR) $(HOUR):$(MINUTE):$(SECOND)"
    	autonames
    	hotbackup lockimpossible
    	tempdrive Y
    	usevss
    store
    
    call check_error
    
    // Backup
    img = "Y:/backup/img_1.pbf"
    select disk 0
    select partition primary 0
    options
    	cmp = 2
    	pwd = "**************"
    	notempfiles
    	label = "System Backup - Windows System Volume $(DAY).$(MONTH).$(YEAR) $(HOUR):$(MINUTE):$(SECOND)"
    	autonames
    	hotbackup lockimpossible
    	tempdrive Y
    	usevss
    	exclude = "C:/Users/Anakunda/AppData/Local/Temp/"
    	exclude = "C:/Windows/Temp/"
    	exclude = "C:/Users/Anakunda/AppData/Local/Microsoft/Windows/Temporary Internet Files/"
    	exclude = "C:/Users/Anakunda/AppData/Local/Mozilla/Firefox/Profiles/nupqji1i.default/Cache/"
    	exclude = "C:/Users/Anakunda/AppData/Local/Opera/Opera/cache/"
    	exclude = "C:/Users/Anakunda/AppData/Local/Google/Chrome/User Data/Default/Cache/"
    	exclude = "C:/Users/Anakunda/AppData/Local/Apple Computer/Safari/Cache.db"
    	exclude = "C:/Program Files (x86)/Direct Connect/FileLists/"
    	exclude = "C:/Users/Anakunda/Application Data/Adobe/Common/Media Cache Files/"
    	exclude = "C:/$RECYCLE.BIN/"
    	exclude = "C:/MSOCache/"
    	exclude = "C:/ProgramData/Microsoft/Search/Data/Temp/"
    	exclude = "C:/Users/Default/AppData/Local/Temp/"
    	exclude = "C:/Users/Anakunda/Local Settings/Microsoft/Windows/Explorer/thumbcache*.db"
    store
    
    call check_error
    
    // Merge archives into one archive
    img = "Y:/backup/backup_$(YEAR)_$(MONTH)_$(DAY)_$(HOUR)_$(MINUTE).pbf"
    img = "Y:/backup/img_0.pbf"
    img = "Y:/backup/img_1.pbf"
    options
    	label = "Backed up on $(DAY).$(MONTH).$(YEAR) $(HOUR):$(MINUTE):$(SECOND)"
    store complex
    
    call check_error
    apply all
    call check_error
    
    // Function for checking error
    check_error:
    	if (errorcode(1) != 0)
    	then
    		print "Some error occured: "
    		strerror(errorcode(1))
    		print ""
    		print "Exiting"
    		print ""
    		exit(errorcode(1))
    	endif
    endcall
    
     
  2. Mech_An

    Mech_An Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    855
    Anakunda,

    Could you please specify what exact error did you get?
    As far as I understand, you have already tried this script several times. And accidentally it stops working. Is it correct?
     
  3. Anakunda

    Anakunda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Posts:
    94
    Mech_An,
    that's correct, but problem solved in meantime, I don't know what was the error caused by
    If I encounter the error again, I'll try report the message exactly
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.