VSS and Paragon SystemBackup

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by janetb, Nov 16, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. janetb

    janetb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Posts:
    15
    Why is the default setting for hot processing MS's VSS and not Paragon's Hot Processing?? I have MS's VSS turned off. Can it still be accessed by Paragon SysBkup? Is it better than Paragon's hot processing? I don't want MS VSS creating restore points--that's why I'm using Paragon SysBkup...
     
  2. Rolo42

    Rolo42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    USA
    Hot Processing is for pre-VSS OSes (Win2K)
     
  3. janetb

    janetb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Posts:
    15
    So can MS's VSS be accessed by Paragon SysBkup if I have restore points turned off?
     
  4. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Hi Janet,

    Yes.
     
  5. janetb

    janetb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Posts:
    15
    Thanks...:)...
     
  6. Paragon_Matt

    Paragon_Matt Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Posts:
    399
    Please just make sure VSS is not disabled in services.
     
  7. janetb

    janetb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Posts:
    15
    Is that Volume Shadow Copy in the Services window?
     
  8. Paragon_Matt

    Paragon_Matt Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Posts:
    399
    Yes, it is within services, you can type in the start menu services.msc and go down to volume shadow copy service and see if it is on manual, automatic, or disabled. I will tell you that multiple products including some antivirus use VSS to perform operation which may be a reason you are running into problems with it. Ultimately you want to make sure the VSS is switched to manual.
     
  9. janetb

    janetb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Posts:
    15
    I accessed the Services window. VSS was not running. When I r-clicked and turned it on, it went to Automatic. If I put it on Manual, how/when does it get turned on??
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.