VPN and VM (Virtual Box) question

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by discs, Aug 30, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. discs

discs Registered Member

Hi,

I am new to VPNs. Starting out, I thought it would be easier to manage my anonymity and privacy if I compartmentalized the OS system the VPN works on - and accessed that system for my VPN needs.

In this view I would then use my guest OS Win 7 Home Premium x64 for my VPN needs (the host is also Win 7 HP x64). The guest OS would hopefully always start in VPN mode. The VM is Virtual Box.

Could someone please help me with the dynamics of installing the VPN:
    • Are there advantages/disadvantages to installing the VPN on the host vs guest
    • Can it be installed on the guest OS; if so would it then have complexities in configuration
    • Are there implications for anonymity and privacy in choosing a host or guest instal of the VPN

Thank you.

2. PaulyDefran

PaulyDefran Registered Member

I can't answer your questions, as I haven't dipped into the VM pool yet, but I *believe* you can start up a VPN on the host machine, and *then* start up a VPN on the guest (from another VPN provider) and get yourself a 2 Hop VPN set up....if that interests you. I think Mirimir does the VM thing, so he can clarify/elaborate.

PD

3. mirimir

mirimir Registered Member

If you'll be using just one VPN, it's best to run it in the VM. Doing that, there's less risk of leakage between your real identity and VPN-using pseudonyms (via flash cookies, email web bugs, malware, etc).

As PaulyDefran said, you can also run a different VPN on the host. That will route the VM VPN through the host VPN. If you pay "anonymously" for the VM (inner) VPN, it will be harder for attackers to deanonymize you. In that case, you wouldn't use the host VPN for anything except the VM (inner) VPN.