VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    I just figured out that this is EXACTLY the same as the CMD issue, which still is not resolved, but I am very, very close. Once I figure that out, I will apply the fix to both, then VS will tell you the parent process of what is being killed, that way you can either block or allow it. It will work great, I just have to figure out one little thing (I spent about 7 hours on it yesterday).

    The log file wouldn't help, but thanks for asking. It will be really cool once I figure out that one little thing. Thank you!
     
  2. djg05

    djg05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,563
    Well I suppose ideally it should but is it simpler to set a path in VS to whatever you want?
     
  3. djg05

    djg05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,563
    Thanks - I knew that, but sometimes the grey matter just doesn't function :)
     
  4. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Yes, I agree. I will do that soon!
     
  5. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    What do you know, I am a couple hours early this time ;).

    Here is the next release, and it also includes USB flash drive support. When I first added this feature, VS was acting really weird, but I think we are good to go now, if not please let me know. Thank you!

    www.voodooshield.com/freeoffer/Install VoodooShield.1.22.exe
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,045
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Got it running thanks Dan! ;)

    Daniel
     
  7. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    Thank You :argh:
     
  8. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    So, next stable version will skip from 1.09 to 1.2x ?
     
  9. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    USA
    Is this in regards to smart mode only? I believe VS has protected Flash drives all along in always on mode. It has for me anyways.
     
  10. ZeroDay

    ZeroDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Posts:
    714
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Cutting_Edgetech,

    I was just looking at your sig. Is Voodooshield needed when you're using Online Armor ? Thanks in advance.
     
  11. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Yes, the engine was completely recoded, and I went through a lot of versions. I am going to go ahead and release 1.23 to the public, and once I figure out the cmd / msi issue, I will release 1.24.
     
  12. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Thank you, I reworded that in the next version ;).
     
  13. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    USA
    Well, I don't have OA installed on my Laptop which is all I have at the moment. I have 8 desktops in storage which I have OA installed on. I'm a die hard Online Armor fan so my opinion may be a little bias.

    I use OA because it is one of the best leak proof firewalls hands down! I believe it has the best whitelisting system available for a HIPS. Online Armor will not pester you to death with prompts about harmless applications. It also is the most user friendly HIPS I have tried, and i have tried them all. I have been using it for years, and will continue to use it as long as it is maintained. Online Armor offer's more granular control than VS, but that does not mean it offers better protection. A strong HIPS offers more granular control than AE's in general. I would say most user's would not need OA if they have a good packet filter FW with VS.
     
  14. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    USA
    No problem :)
     
  15. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA

    OT...I thought it was very talkitive when I tried it, may I ask what your settings are?
     
  16. djg05

    djg05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,563
    Well done Dan, but I am getting a 404 on that link
     
  17. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,045
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I think Dan is tring to be funny as I had a pop-up that there was a new version so I let it download and install and now I have 1.08 LOL boxing.gif


    Daniel

    Capture28-07-2013-3.13.52 PM.jpg
     
  18. ZeroDay

    ZeroDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Posts:
    714
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks for the info. The only reason I asked was; I was going to install Voodooshield but with my using Comodo's d+ I decided I probably didn't need it. Voodooshield still looks tempting though.
     
  19. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
  20. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    After you install 1.23, please do not upgrade if it prompts you. 1.23 is the latest, but I cannot figure out the web server, I am not really into web development ;). I will fix it soon though, then it will not prompt you to upgrade, sorry about that.
     
  21. djg05

    djg05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,563
  22. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    USA
    First I would like to say thank you for adding support for flash drives, and external storage devices! You have come through to add support for all the request I have made, and you are currently working on others request I have made that will be released soon.

    I installed VS version 1.22 over 1.20. I tested Smart Mode with 3 different flash drives, and smart mode activated VS's protection for all three flash drives. I used Windows safely remove hardware feature each time I removed a flash drive. After I selected eject media VS's icon turned red even if my Web Browser was open. I then began to surf the internet, and VS's remained red. I looked at the UI from the tray icon to see which mode VS was showing to be in, and there was a check mark beside Smart Mode indicating VS was still in Smart Mode. I also tried ejecting a flash drive with the web browser closed, and then opening the Web Browser after removing the flash drive. VS's tray icon still remained red, and VS's protection remained disabled when using using my Web Browser after ejecting a flash drive.

    I attached a screen shot, but I forgot to list some info in my post so I deleted the post as soon as I submitted it. Now it will not allow me to attach the screen shot since it believes I have already attached the screenshot. It's a bug with the forum. You can find the screenshot here -https://www.dropbox.com/s/ybj4cs4qsbesun1/smart%20mode%20bug.jpg-
     
  23. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States

    Please try 1.23, it should be working perfectly!

    www.voodooshield.com/freeoffer/Install VoodooShield.1.23.exe
     
  24. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    USA
    Ok, thanks! Will do.
     
  25. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Thank you. If that does not fix it... please try to delete all of the folders in the following folder:

    C:\Users\"UserName"\AppData\Local\VoodooShield

    This will delete all of your VoodooShield settings (no big deal), and you will have to enter your registration info again, but VS will run a lot better (if you are having problems). It is the 4 mode thing again. It should affect too many people, just the people that have tried many, many versions of VS.

    It would not be a bad idea for everyone who has helped many different versions of VS to delete these folders!!

    Thank you,

    Dan
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.