VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    859
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Don't count on that :D
     
  2. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,592
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Moi aussi...I was...from all that testing...LOL:argh::argh::argh::argh::argh::argh::D
     
  3. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,061
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    https://voodooforums.com/forums/topic/voodooshield-5-70/page/13/#post-6274
     
  4. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    746
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    @Krusty,

    Truly appreciate the update, Thank you!:geek:
     
  5. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,061
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  6. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    665
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    OK so AI cloud works if svchost in allowed outbound
    I would prefer voodooshield.exe and voodooshielservice.exe handled that AI scan part as svchost is often abused by malware and therefore risky to allow connection even with the new svchost valid signature mitigation
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2020
  7. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    859
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    https://voodooforums.com/forums/topic/voodooshield-5-70/page/14/#post-6288
     
  8. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,061
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Thanks @Gandalf_The_Grey . :thumb:

    I installed that build but I haven't had VS freeze for a while. Good to see Dan found a fix for it though. :)
     
  9. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    859
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Your welxome @Krusty
    I had a serious freezing issue with the previous version on the Lenovo laptop of my daughter. After VS was loaded the laptop froze completely. Had a difficult time removing it because of that freeze. I'm a bit hesitant to try again, because she needs it for school. No issues with the other 2 laptops in my household.
     
  10. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    859
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  11. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    859
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    New beta version 6.03 released:
    https://voodooforums.com/forums/topic/voodooshield-5-70/page/15/#post-6337
     
  12. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,967
    I tried to create a [new] topic at Voodooforums, about this file Local Security Authority Process, after Glasswire alerted that it had updated to a new version, i.e. 10.0.18362.1049

    Since it is a major Windows System file I was surprised, so I then scanned it with an AV and then VoodooShield.

    Just surprised that if I hadn't had Glasswire, then I would have been oblivious to the change.

    VS scan_initiated by me after Glasswire alert_01.JPG

    VS scan_initiated by me after Glasswire alert_03.JPG
     
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,045
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Because it's a Windows System file and VS said it was safe!
     
  14. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,967
    Ipso facto!

    Edit: Also, a few hours before, @Triple Helix , if you look carefully at my screenshot of VS logs that I posted, you will see that certain files were allowed [a few hours earlier], as a result of me allowing the following Windows updates [September]:

    2020-09 Cumulative Update for Windows 10 Version 1909 for x64-based Systems (KB4574727)

    2020-09 Cumulative Update for .NET Framework 3.5 and 4.8 for Windows 10 Version 1909 for x64 (KB4576484)

    Windows Malicious Software Removal Tool x64 - v5.83 (KB890830)
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2020
  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,045
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    2020-10-13_19-27-51.png
     
  16. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,045
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes it's Patch Tuesday and I'm running build 2004 and your still on 1909.
     
  17. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,967
    Thanks, but I am still on Build 1909. :)

    Edit: I see that we just cross-posted. ;)
     
  18. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,967
    So, just before next month's Patch Tuesday, I will get the updates for October...:cool:;) Pays to wait, methinks.
     
  19. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,045
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    No issues what so ever with build 2004. But when 20H2 comes out I always install using the ISO file from MS. Okay I got it you haven't even installed the October updates!

    Your always behind in the times! :p
     
  20. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,967
    Since, I got this Surface Book 1 laptop, I have never used an ISO file, just the [old] Windows Updates route. :D
     
  21. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,045
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  22. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,967
    @Triple Helix

    From that link, that you posted:

    Create Windows 10 installation media

    If I went that route, I would most probably bork my laptop. Just saying. :)
     
  23. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,045
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    You can use that just to download the ISO, no need to make any media!

    2020-10-13_20-16-12.png
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2020
  24. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,967
    I don't see point of doing that, since it would probably in the order of 4 GB's
     
  25. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,045
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Okay forget it! You can delete the ISO after installing!
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.