VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. Houley456

    Houley456 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    186
  2. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,271
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  3. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,271
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    https://voodooforums.com/forums/topic/voodooshield-5-70/page/2/#post-5940
     
  4. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,390
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi all

    https://voodooforums.com/forums/topic/voodooshield-5-70/page/3/

    With best Regards
    Mops21
     
  5. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,271
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,271
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    https://voodooforums.com/forums/topic/voodooshield-5-70/page/3/#post-5971
     
  7. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    I try to automate things as much as I can; VPN killswitch, autostart script, system imaging scripts, etc. One thing that I have not found out how to do with Voodooshield is to whitelist those scripts, preferable with hash checking to prevent modification. I know that I can whitelist entire directories, but that does not seem safe in the slightest. How can I whitelist my scripts with Voodooshield?
     
  8. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,271
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Can't you put VS in Training mode, then run your scripts?
     
  9. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,390
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi

    Any Infos for a new User to start with Voodooshield which best Setting to use free and paid Version

    With best Regards
    Mops21
     
  10. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,271
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Dan's default settings work pretty well, Mops21. I move the Desktop shield to where I like it and disable the countdown timer in UI Tweaks so I can see anything blocked while I'm away from the machine. Other than that I use defaults. Not sure now what settings are available in the free version.

    Some like to set VS as Always On, but I am happy with Smart Mode.
     
  11. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,053
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Same here Smart mode and I move the desktop shield to the top centre of the screen.

    2020-08-18_9-32-48.png
     
  12. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,283
    for my money, vs needs a complete ui redesign. dan should hire a professional for that job. seriously.
     
  13. amico81

    amico81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2017
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    Germany
    is it possible to tweak the free version for a better performance? i know that the most settings are disabled in the free version
     
  14. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,053
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    In your opinion! There's many new things under the hood and that's what matters.
     
  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,053
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Not sure it's been way to long since I used the free version.
     
  16. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,283
    well duh!

     
  17. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,053
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Well let me put it IMO, VS doesn't need a redesign. seriously!
     
  18. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,283
    it's all good. i respect that. :thumb:
     
  19. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,598
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Completely agree with you, TH...VS wants to completely steer away from the 'more fluff than substance' approach that some apps seem to go for these days. IMHO it is perfectly formed as it is. :thumb:
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2020
  20. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,271
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I forgot, there is also an Autopilot Mode, which will give less pop ups and is not a bad option for a new user.
     
  21. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,378
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Agree 100%. GUI is easy to understand & use -- and that's what GUIs are for.
     
  22. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    I wouldn't mind a gui update. As it is right now, some fields and options are illegible when you're not using the default Windows theme.
     
  23. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,378
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Dan gave me a very early beta of 6.0 This beta includes (as Dan says) "massive changes" so, if you want to test it out, it would perhaps be prudent to do it virtual or first make an image. Here are the link and the main parts of Dan's related comments.....
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2020
  24. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,271
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Hi bellgamin,

    It sounds pretty cool, but I think I'll wait for a few more fixes.

    Cheers.
     
  25. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,378
    Location:
    Hawaii
    @Krusty -- I understand. However, I hope that others will help out. Dan's betas have NEVER totally crashed for me or caused a BSOD. It's usually just minor bugs & glitches here & there.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Okay, I installed this new beta -- it's designated as 5.95 but represents much of what will be in version 6.0.

    I installed the beta on top of 5.78 (latest non-beta). Beta 5.95 installed without a hitch & is running now very smoothly. I worked my way through all GUI options quickly and everything worked fine except, as Dan indicated, the "Add Custom Web App" button has not yet made operational at GUI's Settings > Web Apps.

    I'm running Win7. It needs test runs by those running Win10 & Win8.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2020
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.