VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Yes, it is definitely by design, but the logic was a little confused. It will make a lot more sense in the next version. It was close, but there were a couple of things that might be confusing, like if someone tried to run an msi file with VS in Smart Mode / Inactive. It will make sense, I promise ;).
     
  2. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Yes, it is running great, so it is no longer in beta. I still have not released it to the public, but plan to tomorrow. Thank you!
     
  3. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    I am trying to figure out the cmd problem... do you have this issue if you uncheck the Do Not Blacklist CMD in settings / Tweaks? Thank you!
     
  4. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,121
    When will the version of VS that uses service be released? Thanks! :D
     
  5. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    It will be at least a month from now, but I am guessing 1- 2 months from now. It kind of depends on how long it takes to get this version right, and it looks like things are going really, really well. So it should be sooner than later, but you never know in this business ;). Thank you!

    Btw, are you wanting to run VS with UAC or something? Just curious!
     
  6. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,121
    Yup, :) I am not using UAC as a security tool but to obtain an admin privilege when using my Standard User Account.
     
  7. AlexCross

    AlexCross Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Posts:
    81
    Location:
    Romania
    No WAC for me while VS is running :p I don't see any benefit of having it if VS is installed.

    Ps. I like how destiny works in my advantage, happy to see the stable version being available exactly on my birthday :D
     
  8. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    I see ;).
     
  9. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States

    Happy Birthday!!!! Is your birthday on Saturday? If so, we have a present for you ;). The next release is even cooler.

    I agree, viruses slip right past user account control... I see it all the time.
     
  10. djg05

    djg05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,563
    Any program will do but here is a specific link

    http://www.aidecad.com/out/pdf-dwg.exe

    All that happens with default settings is that the shield will flash a couple of times.

    I have been looking at VS a little more closely and see under Advanced settings that it protects the Download Folder. Presumably that is the one specified by Windows. In my case I keep them on another partition. I think others do this to. So can there be a specified folder you can set in VS to protect.
     
  11. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    Yes if it's unchecked it blocks cmd
     
  12. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    I think the next version will work very well for you, it will be ready tomorrow sometime. Please try it, and if it doesn't work right or does not make sense, please let me know. Thank you!
     
  13. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    So if you check the box, everything works, right? This will help me figure out if I am on the right track or not. Thank you for your help!
     
  14. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    BTW, I just tried that program, and it worked. This really is odd, I am hoping the next version fixes this. Thank you for your help!
     
  15. AlexCross

    AlexCross Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Posts:
    81
    Location:
    Romania
    Thanks! Yep, 27.07, my lucky day :cool:. Can't wait to test the next release ;) .

    Btw, I think that the balloon about SPPVSC process was fixed in this release, it didn't pop today at all, it would pop ~5 times a day in the old version.
     
  16. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    I see what you are saying now, sorry, I was tired didn't know exactly what you meant I guess. All I have to do is point the User Space Protection to the Windows special folder "Desktop" (and downloads). I think this will be a lot easier for the user, do you agree? The way it is right now, basically any folder named "Desktop" or "Downloads" is protected. Thank you!
     
  17. djg05

    djg05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,563
    Hi Dan

    Sorry to nag you when you are tired.

    That seems that it should work. I was thinking that you could put something in the custom area that the User specify, such as you do with Allowed Folders. There maybe other areas that a User wants to protect, but you don't want the program to get too complex.

    Looking forward to the new version, but PLEASE in your own time - you don't want to wear yourself out.
     
  18. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    It is totally cool, I appreciate you guys helping me! I am close to finishing this version actually, I just have to figure out how to get the path of the Documents folder if the user changes it. How do you change the path... do you right click on the Documents folder and choose Properties? When I do that, VS returns the original Documents path, but this shouldn't be too hard to figure out.

    Then it should all be good... except the cmd issue... as soon as I hear from MRF71 it should be clear how to fix that.

    Yes, we might be able to add special protected folders... let's keep than in mind for the next version. I like the idea, but to keep VS as fast as possible, it is best to only add things that users will use. I think they might use that feature, so we can think about it! Thank you!
     
  19. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    Correct :)
     
  20. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,053
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hi Dan also note that Office 2013 uses My Documents more than previous versions such as Outlook Backup.pst file is now in there.

    Daniel

    Capture27-07-2013-1.25.09 PM.jpg
     
  21. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Ok, cool, thank you for letting me know! I should have that fixed this weekend sometime!
     
  22. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Cool, thank you, I will keep that in mind. Where does 2013 store the main pst by default?
     
  23. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks :D
     
  24. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Ok, here is the latest version... all of the balloons, flashing and prompts (if deny by default is disabled) should work perfectly and make sense. If not, please let me know. Like I was saying, now that we have 4 modes, the balloons, flashing and prompts do different things, depending on what mode VS is in.

    Also, I included C:\ProgramData in the "Do Not Whitelist Items in the App Data Directory". Programs should not be stored here, but if anyone has a program in this directory that VS keeps blocking (and will not whitelist) please let me know. Viruses LOVE to hang out in this directory and the C:\Users\User Name\AppData directory.

    The only other 2 things I have to do is the cmd fix and figure out how to tell VS that the user changed the documents path!

    Thank you for testing VS, I really appreciate it!


    www.voodooshield.com/freeoffer/Install VoodooShield.1.21.exe
     
  25. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Hmmm, I am having a heck of a time finding the path of the Documents folder when the user changes it. For example, if you point Documents to D:\Data\Documents, then you search the registry for "D:\Data\Documents", it is not there. Do you change the location of the documents by right clicking on Documents, properties... then Include a folder... then Set Save Location? Or do you have another utility that does it? If we can figure this out, it will be super easy to fix in VS. Thank you!
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.