VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,756
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    @Rainwalker please look for a PM.
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,756
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Here is 4.99 beta2. There are a few minor bug fixes and one somewhat major fix. For some time now, a few users have been experiencing an issue where VS does not start when the computer is rebooted. I was at a client’s office fixing his computer, and I noticed that his computer took an extra long time to boot, and also noticed that the VS driver did not initialize correctly, so I knew what the issue was immediately. VS had a 1 minute timeout on the driver initialization, so I simply chanced the 1 to a 3, and we should be good to go now.

    www.voodooshield.com/Download/InstallVoodooShield499beta2.exe
    SHA256: 5803785304a3d970b5851ee748ed8ef67ac1bee188c9c91bc0710228ffdcec79

    https://calendarofupdates.org/index.php?topic=770.msg10361#msg10361
     
  3. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,266
    Location:
    USA,IA
    I'm a first time user of Voodoo Shield free and have a question if someone could help.

    What is better for a novice user that doesn't know anything about computers ie Grandma type, Smart mode which is default or auto pilot?
     
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,183
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Probably Autopilot, although it is ever so slightly less protective in that mode. Many here and elsewhere use that mode though, so...
     
  5. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,266
    Location:
    USA,IA

    thanks for the input. Are there any nag screen to buy the pro version?
     
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,183
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    From my memory, yeah, once a week I think. Been a while since I used the free version so you might like to wait for confirmation from someone else.

    From memory, when you install it it will prompt you for an email address, but I think it works fine if you just close that box. Again, hopefully someone else can confirm.

    Not really a great deal of help, I know.
     
  7. Bertazzone

    Bertazzone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    211
    Location:
    Wonderland
    I agree that Autopilot may be the best mode for casual users. If that works OK for you, great. If you still receive prompts (alerts), you might wish to change the "Security Posture" setting to moderate. If most of what you do on your computer is the usual web browsing, email, etc., Autopilot should work just fine. In fact, VoodooShield's developer recommends Autopilot for companies that test AVs as this mode is the most like an AV (minus the automatic scanning of course.). You are always welcome to ask more questions here if you run into problems. I doubt you will have any. :thumb:
     
  8. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,628
    Location:
    Deep Into The Blues Baby..
    Brocke...Hello
    you can also get your answers and help over at COU forum where there is a dedicated thread and support here:
    https://calendarofupdates.org/index.php?board=21.0
     
  9. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,183
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    https://calendarofupdates.org/index.php?topic=770.msg10711#msg10711
     
  10. serejka4902

    serejka4902 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Posts:
    8
    будет русская версия?
     
  11. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,183
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Google Translation:

    "will be the Russian version?"

    I suspect the developer would need to arrange a translator.

    "Я подозреваю, что разработчик должен был бы устроить переводчика.
    YA podozrevayu, chto razrabotchik dolzhen byl by ustroit' perevodchika."
     
  12. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,183
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    https://calendarofupdates.org/index.php?topic=770.msg10806#msg10806
     
  13. rm22

    rm22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Posts:
    353
    Location:
    Canada
    I'm trying out V5 after not using VS since the V3 days - lots of changes. I'm curious what happened to the Vulnerable Process blacklist - powershell, cmd, wscript, cscript, etc...
     
  14. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,367
    It is hardcoded and not visible to the user. It got very long.
     
  15. rm22

    rm22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Posts:
    353
    Location:
    Canada
    ok - thanks for the reply. so how is the blacklisting applied then - with VS ON I am able to launch CMD, Powershell, etc. without triggering a prompt
     
  16. Cache

    Cache Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Posts:
    428
    I have been using VS for a few years now and whilst my subscription ran out last year, I have been quite happy with the free version. I have not been paying attention to the recent developments however and the Security Posture setting is new to me. It just shows blank in the free version and I am curious to know what it is set at by default. Anyone know? TIA.
     
  17. Bertazzone

    Bertazzone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    211
    Location:
    Wonderland
    This depends on your Mode and Security Posture and other settings used, e.g. "Automatically allow by parent process..." . So Autopilot mode with other settings @ default will give you none or maybe one. VS is more user-friendly from V 3.

    @Cache It's been a while since I used the free version, but I believe default is Aggressive security posture.
     
  18. Cache

    Cache Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Posts:
    428
  19. rm22

    rm22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Posts:
    353
    Location:
    Canada
    I am definitely getting that feeling... I've only triggered one block when I tried to launch some stuff from a USB drive & the only maintenance has been cleaning up some command lines with generic wildcards - I like it...
     
  20. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,548
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    I'm tempted to try it again. A friend put the new v5 on his machine and says it's averaging about 30mb RAM and is light as a feather.
     
  21. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,593
    anybody care to share some ui images (of the recently released v5)?
     
  22. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,183
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I don't currently have it installed but it looks pretty much the same as v4.x.
     
  23. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    704
    Location:
    Italy
    I read Dan was thinking to release VS as a free-only version, removing the Friday nag screen and settings lock.
    Is there any plan about it?
     
  24. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,593
    ok, thank you. :thumb:
     
  25. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,593
    where did you read that?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.