VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,456
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi Daniel

    Have just logged back on, and was about to send the email to Dan...and then I saw our post. Thanks for doing that.

    Will be interesting to see what Dan has to say...but it sure seems like a 32bit specific issue.

    Regards, Baldrick
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,396
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    :thumb:
     
  3. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Posts:
    1,068
    Location:
    Da mean streets of Brooklyn
    Hey, @VecchioScarpone :): No worries, I got it too by right clicking Shade exe., picked at random out of downloads. VS scanned it, deemed it safe and I denied the UAC. Then got the No Internet Connection in lower right. I repeated the above and this time, no message. Had it a few times in the earlier beta, forgot which one. Otherwise, this is good ,right? Little shutdown drag but that's it. :thumb:
     
  4. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    332
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    Yes just a small nuisance, no worry.:thumb:
    Thanks
     
  5. mesaboogieman

    mesaboogieman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    UK
    Hi all
    Dan has confirmed that there is an issue installing VS4.08b on Win 32bit pc's which will be corrected in the next release.
     
  6. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,456
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Thanks for the update...that is good to get confirmation on. But just for reference; in my case the install on Win 32 fails from 4.06b onwards. I suspect that this is not just me but affects all running 32bit Windows.

    Regards, Baldrick
     
  7. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24,505
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  8. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    332
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
  9. zarzenz

    zarzenz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Posts:
    480
    Location:
    UK
    Thank you VecchioScarpone.

    I am pleased to confirm 4.09b has fixed the 32 bit issue and all is working well.
     
  10. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    332
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    Glad to hear that.
     
  11. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,413
    I installed over the top of 4.08b. But, I also needed to re-register VS, which seemed unexpected.
     
  12. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    The etherlands
    +1
     
  13. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,413
    You, too?
     
  14. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    332
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    Me three. Reported but did not get an answer which I didn't expect, it is not a big thing me think.
     
  15. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    483
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I did a clean install of 4.09 Beta. All is well so far :thumb: No issues to report.
     
  16. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,456
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Have done an over the top (of 4.08b) install of 4.09b and am still seeing some spurious detection that I would not expect... so will try a completely clean install to see if that resolves the issue.

    Does anyone know if the Rules are now working... it would seem not... but given the above I thought I would check.

    Regards, Baldrick
     
  17. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    513
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
  18. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,456
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
  19. SSherjj

    SSherjj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    133
    Location:
    New York, USA
    Hi Tarnak,

    I installed 4.09.b over top of 4.08b and I was also surprised that I had to re-register. But it's alright..:)
     
  20. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    The etherlands
    I actually have had to re-register, and move the shield, several times.
     
  21. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,396
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Same here on a clean reinstall of v4.09
     
  22. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,413
    With so many new changes with a beta, it is no biggie. :)
     
  23. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,413
    Hi Sherry,

    :thumb:
     
  24. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    332
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    Expect few more registration prompts at random and after cold starts.
    The Man is working on it, though not directly but he hinted so on his last post on MT. ;)
     
  25. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,413
    Well, I didn't expect to see this one, because Kerish Doctor has been running together with VS for months on this system. Needless, to say I allowed it, i.e. "ALLOW FALSE POSITIVE"

    VS_KerishDoctor_Blacklist False Positive_marked unsafe_01.JPG