VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. mekelek

    mekelek Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Posts:
    518
    Location:
    Hungary
    VS 3.49 works perfectly fine until 4.X bugs get fixed.
     
  2. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,413
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    v4.15 is not designated beta.
     
  3. Alexhousek

    Alexhousek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    634
    Location:
    USA--Colorado
    I think you mean 3.59? Buddel, I would go with 3.59 if I were you. There is something unique about your situation or set-up. I know of no one else who is having the amount of issues that you are having. I would suggest sending an email to Dan at VS along with your developer logs and see if he can help you problem-solve.

    BTW--the app really does work for most people. Please don't blame the app for something that appears to be unique to your situation/computer.
     
  4. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,591
    I don't blame VS; I just said it didn't work here. Sorry for the misunderstanding. But due to the fact that VS does not run properly (or not at all) on my machine, I decided to uninstall it. And no, I do not intend to go back to v3.59. I had been trying to make it work for a week. I do think it's time to stop trying now. I will try to find an alternative to VS that works here. Or I will just live with my current security setup, which should be sufficient protection for Average Joe (i.e. for me).
     
  5. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    1,367
    Have you tried to contact Dan?
     
  6. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,591
    I contacted him by e-mail regarding some other VS issues last week, and I posted my new VS issues in the CoU forum. Anyway, a solution to the latest set of my VS issues is not needed any more because I uninstalled VoodooShield. I just found it way too time-consuming to spend a whole week trying to get a single app working.
     
  7. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    775
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    You are much more patient than I. I uninstalled it earlier due to the same reasoning - just too time-consuming for me.
     
  8. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,323
    Location:
    USN Retired 1969 ~ 1992
    Patients is a virtue. :) Besides spending retirement checks, what else do I have to do. :argh:
     
  9. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,267
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I just installed 4.15 and so far so good. Registration worked as expected, well a lot better than expected actually. ;)

    Will run in Smart Mode for a while and see how it goes.

    This is the first version of v4.x I've tried. :thumb:
     
  10. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,267
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    It seems a lot more is auto-allowed with this version. :thumb:

    I'm happy with that and I'm sure Dan hasn't made VS any less secure. VS seems to use slightly more RAM while FF is open than I remember but I'm OK with that too. I haven't restarted my machine since installing so don't know if that is a factor.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,374
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    In my experience anti-executable(s) have always given me problems with my computers (and I have tested many of them). Why don't you try Sandboxie, even though it is not the same thing, when restrictions are applied in its configuration, it will behave like an anti-executable as you can choose what programs are allowed to run in the sandbox. Only a suggestion of course...
     
  12. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,267
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I wonder if your issue could be related to your DNS settings?
     
  13. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,267
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    For some reason VS doesn't detect that Chrome has closed while using my VPN.

    Logs sent.
     
  14. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,267
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I've even restored this machine from an image a few days ago then reinstalled VS. For some reason after I close Chrome VS still shows it is an open web app, but Task Manager does not show any Chrome processes running.

    Yes, I have disabled "Continue running background apps when Google Chrome is closed" long before I installed VS and it doesn't make any difference.

    Two other Win10 machines do not have this problem.

    Any ideas?
     
  15. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,591
    Maybe, I don't know. I don't use any special DNS settings, and I'm definitely not willing to change those settings just because a piece of software refuses to work here.
     
  16. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,591
    Thanks for your suggestion, @Osaban . Much appreciated. I tried Sandboxie a couple of months ago but didn't like it. I'm currently using OSArmor from NoVirusThanks in addition to my anti-malware solution. I think this is sufficient protection for me. If something goes wrong here, I can always rely on my backup software.

    Are there any alternatives to Sandboxie that are worth trying?
     
  17. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,374
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    Sandboxie itself has no alternatives that I know of. Many users (including me) of Sandboxie also have Shadow Defender which creates a virtual volume of the C drive therefore with a simple reboot it wipes out any malware that might have breached your antivirus protection. In the past I used Faronics Anti-executable successfully with XP, the version for Vista had bugs, and I have no idea how good it is with Win 7 or Win 10...
    http://www.faronics.com/en-uk/products/anti-executable
     
  18. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    1,367
    I haven't tried it myself. But perhaps Rehips would be a good alternative for you.

    There's a thread for it here.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/rehips.364248/
     
  19. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Why didn't you like Sandboxie??
     
  20. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,763
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Quick Q.

    Would an addition of VooDooShield be overload for Windows 10 if installed with ERP + RansomOff?
     
  21. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,591
    Too complicated for me. I must admit that I haven't tried it for ages. Maybe I should give it another try. Will think about it.

    @Osaban Thanks for your reply. Much appreciated.
     
  22. Alexhousek

    Alexhousek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    634
    Location:
    USA--Colorado
  23. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,591
    Thanks, @Alexhousek Will read the articles later today.

    Later edit: I read the documents you posted above and some documents in the Help section of the Sandboxie website. I also installed this program to see what it looks like. Hm... I don't really like what I have seen so far. It's still rather complicated and a bit confusing (for me as an average user). I don't think this will be a keeper. Anyway, thanks very much for your suggestion. :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2017
  24. B-boy/StyLe/

    B-boy/StyLe/ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    309
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    @Buddel,

    SecureAplus is a good alternative to VS as well. You can give it a try if you want.
     
  25. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,591
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.