VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. mekelek

    mekelek Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Posts:
    518
    Location:
    Hungary
    there are definitely bugs with the rules, had to go back to 3.59 that is running absolutely flawlessly.
     
  2. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,966
    I am sticking with v4.05b, despite it's chattiness! Always, onwards an upwards. ;)
     
  3. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,998
    Location:
    .
    Does VS memory seem normal for 3.59 AutoPilot. Seems a lot compared to WebrootSA.
    1237.png
     
  4. SSherjj

    SSherjj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    174
    Location:
    New York, USA
    Well can I ask if you ever install/download or make many changes to your systems? I couldn't stop the popups when uninstalling programs. installing programs..etc etc..It was driving me goofy with the continuous popups...maybe it's the lack of rules or my settings that I need to look into..I'm still in learning mode trying to figure out VS.:argh:
     
  5. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    341
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    Rigth click VS taskbar Icon, activate disable/install mode, that is recommended when installing / Uninstalling apps/programs.
     
  6. SSherjj

    SSherjj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    174
    Location:
    New York, USA
    @VecchioScarpone! How simple is that? I really appreciate that information. Geeze sometimes it's in front of me and I don't see it. Thank you!!:oops:
     
  7. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    341
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    You are welcome;)
     
  8. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,966
    Hi Sherry,

    I don't install as much new software like I did on my XP desktop. So, I don't get too many popups, and if I do, I seem to handle them OK. I just roll with the punches, so to speak. :thumb:
     
  9. SSherjj

    SSherjj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    174
    Location:
    New York, USA
    I think I might install too many programs on my W 10...

    Well I'd like to update VS to the latest Beta again but I'm busy working on my machine to handle the VS's latest...right now anyways..I'll just wait to install 4.05b

    ...but I am happy to hear you are rolling with the punches.:D
     
  10. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,966
  11. _CyberGhosT_

    _CyberGhosT_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Posts:
    457
    Location:
    MalwareTips "Your Security Advisor"
    lol, right :p
     
  12. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,991
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    No, that definitely looks excessive to me, but I used VS in Smart Mode.
     
  13. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    883
    Location:
    USA
    This is what I get with 3.59 in Smart (default) mode:

    [Edit] Just checked the other modes. The memory usage remains consistent with ALL modes for me.

    upload_2017-9-28_9-0-37.png
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2017
  14. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    883
    Location:
    USA
    Even 3.59 gets very busy if I forget to do this! Sometimes I even have to exit VoodooShield completely. But that happens rarely enough that I am willing to live with it for the extra protection! :thumb:
     
  15. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    341
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    I could not agree more:D
     
  16. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,044
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Mine isn't that high with v3.59b in Smart Mode.

    2017-09-28_15-29-26.png
     
  17. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    341
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    v405 Smart mode
    VS.PNG
     
  18. SSherjj

    SSherjj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    174
    Location:
    New York, USA
    v3.59 in Smart Mode

    VDS.PNG
     
  19. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,998
    Location:
    .
    Okay,...v3.59 Smart. Okay,....after machine Restart.
    1241.png
    and now
    1242.png
    and now
    1243.png
    leak?
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2017
  20. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,991
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  21. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,998
    Location:
    .
    and after Scan
    1244.png
     
  22. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,998
    Location:
    .
    1245.png
    guess, norm for me is ~50/~15
    1247.png
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2017
  23. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,998
    Location:
    .
  24. SSherjj

    SSherjj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    174
    Location:
    New York, USA
    Hey Tarnak, How's v4.05b running for you? I am rather curious..:D
     
  25. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,966
    @SSherjj

    Hi Sherry,

    The only difference that I have noticed are these "Command Lines" which have appeared while running v4.05b. ...I hope they are OK.

    rundll32.exe nvcpl.dll,nvstartuprunonfirstsessionuseraccount

    "c:\windows\system32\cmd.exe" /q /c rmdir /s /q "c:\users\owner\appdata\local\microsoft\onedrive\17.3.6966.0824\amd64"
    "c:\windows\system32\cmd.exe" /q /c rmdir /s /q "c:\users\owner\appdata\local\microsoft\onedrive\17.3.6966.0824"

    c:\windows\system32\windowspowershell\v1.0\powershell "get-appxpackage c27eb4ba.dropboxoem | remove-appxpackage"
    c:\windows\system32\windowspowershell\v1.0\powershell "get-appxprovisionedpackage -online | where-object displayname -in \"c27eb4ba.dropboxoem\" | remove-provisionedappxpackage -online"

    "c:\windows\system32\rundll32.exe" devmgr.dll,deviceproperties_rundll /deviceid "root\net\0000"
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.