VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    341
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    Same here.
     
  2. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    341
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    Capture.PNG
    @mekelek reckon that %appdata% does not get deleted when deleting VS Program data folder with Revo . I did notice that Revo even after advanced scan removal leave things in the computer. I used Everything search tool to scan afterward and manually removed the remnants leftovers.
    Without Everything I wouldn't know how to access the leftover files.
     
  3. mekelek

    mekelek Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Posts:
    518
    Location:
    Hungary
    that 1.4% or 4% can become 50-60% on a low-end CPU real quick.
    either way, this CPU usage thing doesn't seem to be related to how VS functions rather leftovers or badly migrated settings/whitelist.
     
  4. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    341
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    It make sense. I came to the same conclusion.
     
  5. askmark

    askmark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Posts:
    392
    Location:
    united kingdom
    I'm manually removing the ProgramData\Voodooshield folder. Is there also an %appdata% folder as well that needs to be cleaned up?
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,053
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    %appdata% is from XP as there was no ProgramData Folder, all newer OS's it's ProgramData.
     
  7. askmark

    askmark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Posts:
    392
    Location:
    united kingdom
    Thank you for clearing up the confusion.
     
  8. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,053
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2017
  9. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    Mme plat strikes again. So, I'll try a 100% absolute tabula rasa next time. Who knew?
     
  10. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    341
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    @plat1098 Yes Mme! That seems the way to go. Clean uninstall (tabula rasa) clean install.
     
  11. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,417
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    +1. I saw no VS appdata files on either of my machines.

    Edit: Also, regarding the high CPU usage, it doesn't seem to persist ... no evidence of it now.

    Edit 2: Strike that. It's back up there, must be some sort of contention.
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2017
  12. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    945
    Location:
    Canada
    Something strange happened this morning, when I turned my computer on a VS box popped up, I needed to re-register my Pro subscription, everything is working fine now but am wondering if anyone knows why this would happen or if it has happened to anyone else? Thanks.
     
  13. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,843
    Location:
    KEEP USA GREAT
    digmor crusher, howdy...Dan is having some issues with the registation and he is working
    to fix it..be patient ;)
     
  14. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    945
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks hayc59
     
  15. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,843
    Location:
    KEEP USA GREAT
  16. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    945
    Location:
    Canada
    Yah, I've been reading that forum for a couple weeks now seeing Dan has been absent from here for awhile, not sure about joining though, too many forums takes away from the beer drinking.:confused:
     
  17. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,977
    Yes, same thing happened to me a little while ago. And, after I re-registered, a popup asking to taking a snapshot, which I the allowed.

    VS_V4.0b_ install_22.JPG > VS_V4.0b_ install_23.JPG

    Also, the CPU usage problem is back, for me. This occurred just before I had to re-register VS, as above. VS had just failed to load at start, and I had to manually load it.

    VS_v4.0b_CPU usage excess_04.JPG
     
  18. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    2,011
    Location:
    Canada
    It must be a bug because I have the exact same problem.
     
  19. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    On a machine with EAM on it also, I'm experiencing mild shutdown delays with a message related to Program Manager when VS 4.0 is installed. CPU use was abnormally high as of two days ago. I reinstalled 4.0 after also deleting the folder in ProgramData, as well as two registry keys and the driver. CPU stays at 0% but this doesn't mean much now. Later? I have VS on two computers and the license should be good to cover both, right?

    1. Registration boxes pop up after every startup.
    2. Re-registering VS and clicking "save" does not survive the startup
    3. If VoodooShieldService is disabled via clicking "yes" in below white box, shutdown is not impeded in any way. Clue.
    4. If all EAM's real time components are disabled, no shutdown message about Program Manager appears but shutdown is still mildly delayed. EAM doesn't seem to affect registration issue.
    5. If release v. 3.59 is installed over top of v. 4.0 beta, registration is remembered and there are no problems at all.

    vs free popup.PNG

    The developer made it very clear on MalwareTips he's aware. I see that reported problems affect some and not others Also: clicking the "Update Check" tab doesn't show the "You are running..." message right away, there's a marked delay there.

    Edit: It's been a few hours now and maybe there's some flow from VS to here because CPU/registration problems haven't materialized again. Very nice! Still a Program Manager message at shutdown but that's comparatively no big deal. Great!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 6, 2017
  20. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,977
    :thumb: I am going back to back bed, and CPAP. I am I like the zombie apocalypse. ;)
     
  21. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    2,011
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks for that plat1098

    I guess I will go back to version 3.59 until this problem is solved.
     
  22. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    945
    Location:
    Canada

    Doesn't seem to be a problem here.

    2017-09-06 14_30_39-Task Manager.png
     
  23. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    341
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    Happened to me just this morning.
    I registered then after making sure all worked fine I turned the computer off.
    When restarted VS did not startup, I had to do that manually. Note that VS is set to logon at startup.
    Turned the machine off and restarted once more and all is fine, for now...
     
  24. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    341
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    No CPU usage problem here neither.
    And yes @hayc59 Dan is working on it. Sent feedback as requested.
     
  25. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    775
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    This thread seems to be very confusing and not at all favorable for VS - too bad.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.