VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. mekelek

    mekelek Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Posts:
    518
    Location:
    Hungary
    i haven't noticed any abnormal CPU usage from VS.
    I would suggest deleting the appdata/voodooshield folder that has the settings and reinstall VS. it can help a lot.
     
  2. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,977
    :thumb:
     
  3. djg05

    djg05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,563
    Just reading through this thread I get the same feeling. Not installed it yet and think I will wait a while.
     
  4. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    341
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    Thanks for the suggestion but I already did that and more before installing VS4.0.
    I completely removed any trace of previous Installation etc of VS with Revo and Everything. Nothing was left before installing VS4.0.
    Actually I had to do that to be able to register before Dan made some changes to the server as many user could not register.
    Please note that I had to use a fresh download of VS4.0 exe.
     
  5. askmark

    askmark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Posts:
    392
    Location:
    united kingdom
    I really wouldn't worry. The rules are completely optional.

    VS is evolving but that doesn't mean it's becoming bloated.

    Please also remember, this is a beta release, so unless you're prepared to test and report any issues then I would stick with 3.59.
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2017
  6. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    341
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    @mekelek

    Sitting home nursing a nasty cold and having nothing better to do I took up your suggestion, got rid of anything about VSagain, as mentioned on my previous post. Rebooted, reinstalled VS and?

    Capture.PNG
    I must somehow missed something when uninstalling with Revo.
    What can I say but thanks :thumb:
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2017
  7. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    341
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    :thumb:
     
  8. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,419
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Revo Uninstalled 3.59b and installed 4.00b on both machines without incident, and re-registered successfully. No CPU usage issues (<2%).

    I had to reboot to see these default rules, on my secondary machine.

    I wonder if it is worth posting here, if Dan won't / can't respond here? Maybe better on the 'other forum'? Maybe better on the 'other forum' where he is active?
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2017
  9. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    Well it's worth posting in here for me, up until at least now, just for @mekelek's recommendation to delete appdata. You'd think a routine uninstall and removal of vsscanner.sys would be enough, nope. When the updated 4.0 version comes out, I'll plop it on this workstation after removing everything VS. Glad to see @VecchioScarpone got things in order, it took a bit of extra work, for sure.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 5, 2017
  10. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,977
    I just installed ReHIPS, and rebooted. However, VS didn't load at the restart. So, I manually started VS. Then I checked CPU usage, and lo and behold, it is back to normal. :)

    VS_v4.0b_CPU usage excess_02JPG.JPG
     
  11. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,419
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Similar here.

    On primary machine, I noticed high usage: 23%.

    Rebooted, VS did not start, though set to automatic. Started manually, and it is OK now.

    Edit: VS is top process at 24% and 13% CPU on two otherwise idle machines.
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2017
  12. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    775
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    I am just staying away from VS for a while until things "settle down." Don't need additional problems.
     
  13. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,419
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    I have the same question, also LibreOffice, etc.
     
  14. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    Is the constant outbound connection on port 80 for error reporting now?
     
  15. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    762
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    Feed Back:

    Had to enter username and password with version 4.00b.
    High CPU on 1 PC.
    Reboot and you have to start manually.

    Looking forward the fixes.:)
     
  16. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    Is there a newer version then the one released the other day?
     
  17. mekelek

    mekelek Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Posts:
    518
    Location:
    Hungary
    funnily i didn't delete appdata but i had this "bug" with previous VS versions where deleting the folder got rid of the high cpu usage, so i thought you guys can give it a shot.
    i don't have any issue with auto starting, and the speed of things and urls opening increased tremendously.
    rules are working as intended after the initial "bug" that disappeared after a pc restart.
    very satisfied.

    also Revo gets rid of registry and other leftovers, but i don't think it touches anything in appdata.
     
  18. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    I think I found another bug. Posted at other forum.
     
  19. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    This is typical of v.3.59 with Edge/1 tab open (Wilders, but of course) on the older machine. VS said yesterday the updated 4.0 would be coming out "within the next day or two" but given all these issues reported in just the past 12 hours, I actually wouldn't mind a week (more?) if that's what it takes. Seriously.

    vs normal proc.PNG
     
  20. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,653
    Location:
    USA
    It's to be expected. It's a first release. You could probably wait a month more, and the same bugs would still be present. It takes lots of different testers to discover the bugs, or they usually go undiscovered.
     
  21. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,843
    Location:
    KEEP USA GREAT
    hehe..yo folks are the testers
     
  22. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    Not exactly the point, it was more like wondering whether the developer's taking his time and harvesting bug reports over time, not putting pressure on himself to hustle something out before a self-imposed deadline. I don't install third party software or modify the registry to contend with a beta issue. That's when the software comes off. We spoiled and yappy users can wait, it's worth the wait.
     
  23. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    And Dan needs a break. BUT he prolly won't take one. I am sure he is getting swamped with his error reports the software is sending back. If anything he will try fix those first.
     
  24. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

  25. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    I am one of those that am not seeing that. Every time I open an app it jumps to maybe 1.7 % for a few seconds and drops back to zero. I even tried opening 5 programs one right after the other and still goes back to zero % with overall CPU usage for entire machine 4%
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.