VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    4,698
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Guilty as charged. :)

    I've only seen it on my low end laptop though for some reason.
     
  2. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Hehehe, yeah, Krusty the trouble maker ;). Yeah, that is all that is going on... VS is checking the screen size without the taskbar in place... it should be a very easy fix.
     
  3. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    There is some pretty bad stuff going on as we speak.

    It is important for us to remember that we are in this together.

    We may not be on the same team, but we are certainly on the same side.

    Please do not forget that.
     
  4. _CyberGhosT_

    _CyberGhosT_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Posts:
    451
    Location:
    MalwareTips "Your Security Advisor"
    +1 :thumb:
     
  5. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    Italy
    Has anyone tried VS with the latest Windows 10 Cumulative Updates? I read about some 3rd party security softwares having problems with the KB4022716 and causing black screen at reboot
     
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    4,698
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    No problem with my three Win10 x64 machines.
     
  7. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    494
    I took the latest win10 updates yesterday, after which I installed the latest beta edition of VS, and all is fine aboard my ship.
    Besides VS, I am running only windows defender (which, by the way, is working much better than it did previously).
     
  8. Crystal_Lake_Camper

    Crystal_Lake_Camper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Posts:
    78
    after a long time of vs abscence I decided to install again , and I must say I am very pleased with this release :) it seems much faster than the previous releases I have tried. the first three startups , I got the " greyed out " desktop icon , but it is a thing of the past now :p thanks for your hard work Dan!!!
     
  9. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    332
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    Running VS 3.59b. I installed the latest CU update this morning. All is working fine.
     
  10. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    Italy
    Thanks everybody for the feedback :)
    Have you had to uninstall VS before updating Windows or there's no need for that?
    Mhmmm, I think it's time to quit Comodo and join Dan ;)
     
  11. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    332
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    Did install the CU update on top VS. The all process went smooth as...
     
  12. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    494
    I don't remember ever seeing someone say that VS borked their system after a Windows update. But anything's possible.
    Making a system image before running a cumulative update is probably a good idea, because you can never know what software or hardware conflicts are lurking around the corner.
     
  13. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    332
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    Better safer than sorry, yes 100%.
     
  14. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    Italy
    So, I may try TinyWall + VooDooShield + Windows Defender (even if I'd prefer a cloud-only AV)
     
  15. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    Italy
    Is this combo lightweight?
     
  16. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    Italy
    Are you using any other AV beside VS ?
     
  17. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    332
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    Panda AV free.
    MBAE free.
    HMPA free browser protection.
     
  18. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    Italy
    Thanks/Grazie ;)
     
  19. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    332
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    You are welcome. Ciao
     
  20. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    494
    On my system, yes. Every system reacts differently to security softs, you have to try it out to know whether it is good for you.
     
  21. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    Italy
    Yes, that's true :)
    I asked that question because Windows Defender is always at the bottom on AV-C performance test http://chart.av-comparatives.org/chart1.php
     
  22. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    494
    Right. Good question.
    I used to have a problem with WD, that when I opened my download folder, which is full of heavy files, it would load very slowly. They fixed that problem.

    The other thing that people complain about is when WD does its daily scan. I never suffered from that, because I leave my PC running all day, so it scans when I am eating lunch or whatever. People who close the lids of their laptop all the time, they might still have a problem... I can't comment.

    The RAM usage has gone down, but Avast is still lighter in that respect.
     
  23. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    The etherlands
    VS and KB4022716 working fine on two machines, KB has not appeared for newest laptop (ThinkPad Yoga) on WU yet for some reason.
    No need to uninstall VS.
    I have KB4022716 issues on one old notebook though, also containing VS, but the problem is with Comodo Firewall ... Firefox crashes: https://forums.comodo.com/bug-repor...omodo-dragon-internet-chromodo-t119915.0.html
    Others are experiencing similar: https://forums.comodo.com/bug-repor...ws-apps-on-win-10-cu-kb4022716-t119922.0.html

    So maybe VS is the way to go! ;)
     
  24. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    The etherlands
    :thumb: Need to remember to do this!
     
  25. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    494
    VS is the way to go, but I assume Comodo will have a hot fix very soon, so just export your CFW config, keep it under your pillow, and sit tight for a couple days