VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. Telos

    Telos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Posts:
    151
    Location:
    Baana
    Clearly to drive sales. Isn't that the point? To gain control of settings.

    Besides, who wouldn't want to pay for the option to hide the shield :argh:
     
  2. Izettso

    Izettso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Posts:
    34
    I noticed something interesting when installing an Adobe Flash Player update.

    I have set Adobe Flash Player to remind me when an update is necessary rather than to update itself automatically.
    Note that I normally run VS on Smart mode and it turns itself to ON as soon as I start any browser on my PC.

    This is what happened: The occasional Adobe Flash Player update message came up as soon as I rebooted my computer and when I clicked on the update button, the browser ran and I downloaded the update program on the Desktop. I closed the browser (exited the program) and I ran the Adobe Flash Player update. The browser automatically opened to an information page in Adobe and I could navigate from there to any other website. However, during all this time when the browser was active the VS shield continued to indicate "OFF". It was only when I again closed the browser and restarted it that VS showed the usual "ON" indicator.
     
  3. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    1,836
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Indeed interesting, shouldn't happen. Dan should easily be able to replicate this. Or others corroberate?
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,287
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I think VS is great as it was designed to do! Dan please don't add any other unnecessary bloat to VS. Shields are the right Colors and in the Right spots as it has always been.
     
  5. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,664
    Location:
    Canada
    Agree with you Triple Helix:)
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,287
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    :thumb:
     
  7. _CyberGhosT_

    _CyberGhosT_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Posts:
    373
    Location:
    Earth
    Another long time user voicing here that it is perfect the way it is. Quoting the old adage " If it aint broke, don't fix it."
     
  8. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    834
    Location:
    "Here on Wilders"
    Agree :thumb:
     
  9. askmark

    askmark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Posts:
    234
    Location:
    united kingdom
    Also agree.

    For me the big shield provides a sense of security because I know I'm being protected if its there. I'm therefore more than happy to give it some of my desktop for that piece of mind.
     
  10. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,797
    While, I no longer use VoodooShield, when I did use it, one of the first things I did was to disable the desktop shield. I've also always disabled it on other people's computers I've installed VS on. In my opinion having the shield as a systray icon would be a much better option.

    But, having said that, as long as the shield can be hidden, it's not a big deal in my opinion.
     
  11. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    939
    Also agree
     
  12. Behold Eck

    Behold Eck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Posts:
    478
    Location:
    The Outer Limits
    Absolutely spot on.

    In fact the shield sort of acts like a red flag i.e. if it`s not showing you know somethings wrong immediately.

    Been trying VS out with different combinations of security app`s(not just trad AV`s)and can`t find anything that conflicts with it.

    Regards Eck:)
     
  13. andi_cro

    andi_cro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Posts:
    39
    Location:
    Croatia
    This thing still pop's up from time to time...
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Sand

    Sand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    @andi_cro happen also for me with Chrome, I would like to know what is it, I have sometime to re-allow it, only that pop-upping on last stable.
     
  15. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,837
    Location:
    United States
    Thank you guys for all of you input on the desktop shield gadget! It would take forever to respond to each one, but I appreciate your guy’s help. It is probably a good idea to keep it the way it is for now, but if you guys ever think of a way we can improve it, or anything else, please let me know!

    Here is the latest beta version. There should not be any serious issues, but I did make a lot of changes, so it would not surprise me if there is a small bug or two we need to fix.

    I still have not started working on optimizing the exploit payload blocking… I want to get the PeddleCheap test up and running before I make any changes.

    But here are most of the important changes.

    - The memory leak is completely fixed

    - The update prompt should no longer be stuck in the back AFTER this version

    - The regional settings that caused missing buttons should be fixed… if not, please let me know

    - The blacklist and VoodooAi scans should be even quicker now… they are highly optimized now.

    - VS now starts with the service, so it should start much faster.

    - Since VS now starts with the service, I removed the option “Start VoodooShield when I start Windows”

    - The multi-user functionality should be working pretty well now. So VS should be working properly for users who log off of the computer and log in as a different user / switch user. If there are any bugs with this, please let me know.

    - There were tons of other small fixes and optimizations as well.

    www.voodooshield.com/Download/beta3/InstallVoodooShield359b.exe

    I will catch up on any of the non desktop shield gadget related posts soon (unless I need to respond to one of those as well). Thank you!
     
  16. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,317
    Dan - Where does a beginner for VS begin after install? Thank you!
     
  17. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    459
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Did a clean install of the new version. Starts much faster on boot and will let you know if there are any issues.
     
  18. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    298
    Dan - Where does a beginner for VS begin after install? Thank you!

    That is the million dollar question! If you have Pro version. Most settings are hard to figure out.
     
  19. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    459
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  20. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,317
  21. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    298
    Still most of the so- called answers are grey, need to be more black and white.
     
  22. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,007
    Location:
    UK

    I installed it and found its pretty good out of the box, for a better understanding I read the pdf that's been linked..I usually read the user guides that come with software myself rather than depend on others :)
     
  23. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,837
    Location:
    United States
    Thank you guys! @Trooper, just like they were saying, you might want to start in AutoPilot mode for a day or so, then maybe switch to Smart Mode. There really is nothing to configure or to set... pretty much everything is automatic, and what is not automatic, you will be prompted for your input.

    If you do not have a VS Pro license, PM me the email address you would like to use for your account and I will set that up for you. Most people do not need VS Pro, but it is nice to have in case you want to tweak a thing or two to your liking. I am running VS Free as we speak... then again, I was able to choose what most of the default settings should be... except when the wilders users twisted my arm and changed my mind ;).
     
  24. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,664
    Location:
    Canada
    Too funny :):argh:
     
  25. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,379
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi Dan

    Thanks for that...however, I have just tried and over the top install and I am getting the following:

    upload_2017-6-19_21-19-58.png

    Have tried this twice with the same result once with Run as Admin and the initial without. Am now doing a clean install having uninstalled and deleted all vestiges.

    Wish me luck. ;)

    Rgeards, Baldrick
     

    Attached Files: