VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,278
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    G'day Paul,

    I've seen that, as mentioned somewhere in this thread, happen on my machines after running PrivaZer and telling it to shut down my machine when finished.
     
  2. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,416
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    I am not running Privazer anymore, but wondering now if it could be CCleaner with some setting in CCEnhancer.
     
  3. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,278
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Mmm... Sounds possible!
     
  4. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,416
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Actually, on second thoughts, may have seen that too. Will have to monitor and see if I can detect a pattern.
     
  5. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    751
    Location:
    Italy
    If this is what happens, it's an intended behavior
    VS starts in "Smart Mode", then switches to the mode that was active before the last shut down
     
  6. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    884
    Location:
    USA
    I have noticed that when I leave VS in "Disable / Install Mode" and reboot, that status survives the reboot.
     
  7. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    751
    Location:
    Italy
     
  8. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    Yes, I changed the default setting to remind you when VS is totally off to 2 minutes instead of 5. I've shut it down while in disable/install mode myself. I forget VS is actually there as it is.
     
  9. andi_cro

    andi_cro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Posts:
    49
    Location:
    Croatia
    100% Proactive protection on all ransomware :thumb:
     
  10. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    I meant 3rd party updates initiated without user input. Unless whitelisted like Google Updater, I'm not sure how the user will know it failed if there's no error message. Especially on AutoPilot.

    Another question: How do I prevent programs from automatically opening my default browser, like MyPlayCity games?
     
  11. andi_cro

    andi_cro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Posts:
    49
    Location:
    Croatia
    After Windows update...
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,292
    Location:
    USA,IA
    Anyone here use the free version? I’m sure most use the pro version here but looking to use the free version for non tech family members
     
  13. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    751
    Location:
    Italy
    i'm using the free version in autopilot mode and everything works smoothly
     
  14. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    341
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    Using Pro with default setting, which tantamount to using the free edition (I believe). No problems.
     
  15. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    And so did Dan leave this forum or just take a break? Guessed I missed the memo.
     
  16. andi_cro

    andi_cro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Posts:
    49
    Location:
    Croatia
    Probably is on vaccation :)
     
  17. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    We will see I guess. He did threaten to leave.
     
  18. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,538
    Location:
    Sweden
    I had correspondence over e-mail with him. He's alive but he told me he was sorry for not answering my e-mail quickly (took him 2 days (1 work day!)). That tells me he's busy with stuff and I'd rather have him active over official e-mail than here at Wilders. :)
     
  19. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    This is good, thanks for the update.

    Good thing he didn't release anything before he took a sabbatical, right? Next to HitmanPro Alert, VoodooShield is the quietest, most mannerly software on this machine. :)
     
  20. Erastus Seymour Pott

    Erastus Seymour Pott Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    UK
    I have only just found out about VoodooShield and am keen to give it a try out ... I see that a lot of members are running it alongside HitmaPro.Alert with no issues, does it play nice with Sophos Endpoint (Version 11.0.11 UTM) as well ?
     
  21. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    I also noted that when Dan stopped posting so did a few others from Malwaretips:cautious:
     
  22. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Hehehe, sorry, I will be back soon ;). I have been trying to finish up the web management console... it is seriously cool. It is a lot more work than I thought it would be, but it is seriously turning out amazing. You can control pretty much every aspect of VS installed on an unlimited number of computers, in real time. For example, if there is a breach of some kind, you can lock all of the computers down with one click. You can also adjust all of the settings. The coolest feature is going to be the one where if an end user wants to allow something, it will be sent to cuckoo automatically, and the admin will receive the report, along with the other file insight, and will be able to allow or block the item.

    Just curious, who else stopped posting on MT? Do I have stalkers ;).

    I have tons of pms and emails to catch up on as well, I hope to do that soon. Thank you guys!
     
  23. Nitty Kutchie

    Nitty Kutchie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Posts:
    160
    Dan I will like you to install Internet Download Manager on your pc, put VS in smart mode,then download something with IDM and tell me if you can solve that problem that pops up with VS and also please sort out the chrome bug.
    Thankyou.
     
  24. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Cool... I just tried IDM, and everything worked as expected... what error are you seeing? I tried it with the latest version of VS, but it should be the same.

    As far as Chrome goes... this totally cracks me up (in a good way). People forget that VS is an anti-executable, so there will be blocks from time to time. I will hardwire in the software reporter tool, but I keep forgetting to do so. Also remember, VS does not take the easy way out and solely allow by digital signature... that is dangerous.
     
  25. Nitty Kutchie

    Nitty Kutchie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Posts:
    160
    VS ask for IDM if to allow something with explorer wow64 i may have things mixed up,when you download with IDM open the file location with IDM an you should get it happening.
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2017
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.