VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Very cool, thank you guys for letting me know!
     
  2. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    341
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    Clean install of 3.58. Smooth as...
    Thanks.
     
  3. Houley456

    Houley456 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    186
    3.58 running nicely with Win Defender, HMPro.Alert....Zemana Antilogger....
     
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,288
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  5. Cache

    Cache Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Posts:
    432
    Location:
    Mercia
    3.58 smoothly installed over the top of 3.53. All running well. :)
     
  6. C_64

    C_64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    Estonia
    3.5.3 => 3.58 Very smooth indeed, thanks! Very nice.
     
  7. MrGump

    MrGump Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Posts:
    406
    v358 working smooth as a stick of butter on Win 10 64bt
     
  8. smith2006

    smith2006 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    797
    Upgraded from 3.53 to 3.58, seems running fine.
     
  9. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,419
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Updated 357b1 to 358. No problems before or after. Win 10 Pro x64 CU.
     
  10. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    Cleanly installed 3.58 this time around. No problems or issues so far. :)
     
  11. gorblimey

    gorblimey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Posts:
    157
    Location:
    West Oz
    Hi Dan - I haven't explained myself as well as I should. I certainly was not in the least attempting to tell you how to set VS up for per-user profiles, I'm fairly sure there are two or three different routes in that. But using the registry is--if brutal--at least simple, I've done it on a couple of legacy apps to make them multi-user.

    For myself, I can--and probably should--live with SMART (Default) which picks up a lot of alerts, showing me where the speed-bumps are, what needs to be ironed out. But the rest of the family doesn't need that irrelevant detail. Currently I'm working around the problem by using AUTOPILOT, hiding the Shield Gadget, and setting the family's tray icon to only show notifications.

    However, there is a train of thought that non-tech users really don't need to be bothered by or with stuff they don't understand (just ask Microsoft!!!). To a certain necessary extent, I go along with the philosopy: for example, I neither know nor care how OLED screens work, only that they do work. When they break, it's a SEP.

    Your philosophy is good, and very advanced, which is why I have VS in the first place, and why I'm already using it as my primary engineered risk management solution (Avast is only a secondary engineered solution). However, one of my responsibilities in this household is to maintain the computer system without forcing the rest of the family to learn the gory details of good, bad and indifferent software. In order to achieve my goal, the GUI needs to have per-user settings. That is, Wife and Off-Spring should run on AUTOMATIC, while myself and Admin run on SMART (Default). I think I can leave the Shield (globally) hidden, all notifications can come through the SysTray icon, which I can control on a per-user basis. When (if) I set up the Guest User, obviously there can be no question at all of anybody fiddling with anything which impacts the OS, which means (I think) that even the SysTray icon will have to be totally hidden, along with the Avast icon and a few others.
     
  12. Cache

    Cache Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Posts:
    432
    Location:
    Mercia
    @VoodooShield Hi Dan Just a quick question regarding AutoPilot mode. The User Manual says
    "When enabled, VoodooShield will automatically deactivate after 10 minutes of system idle, in order to allow background processes and updates to run properly. When the user returns to the computer, VoodooShield will automatically
    reactivate upon mouse or keyboard use."

    When running in Auto mode, it is not clear to me what difference it makes if VS has deactivated or not. When it shows OFF, will it not perform the same as when it is shows AUTO? I can see that the change in SMART and ALWAYS ON modes makes perfect sense but in AUTO mode it seems to me that VS should perform the same whether on or off, making switching off unnecessary, but maybe I am missing something.

    Also, when VS toggles to OFF in SMART and ALWAYS on modes, my understanding is that it is then essentially running in AUTO mode making AUTO toggling to OFF a bit redundant. But I may have it all wrong in which case I would appreciate your clarification. :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2017
  13. Izettso

    Izettso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Posts:
    55
    Clean install of v. 3.58 after uninstalling v. 3.57. No problems experienced.
     
  14. ghodgson

    ghodgson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Posts:
    835
    Location:
    UK
    Installed 3.58 over the top of 3.53 - all good so far.
     
  15. mesaboogieman

    mesaboogieman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    UK
    Hi
    Running latest 3.58 and had an odd issue yesterday. My laptop (Win7 32bit) had been running for several hours and I noticed that the VS icon in the systray had disappeared. Checked the task manager and VS was still running as far as I could tell. Rebooted and VS icon returned ok.
    Anyone else seen this?
     
  16. gorblimey

    gorblimey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Posts:
    157
    Location:
    West Oz
    Not with VS but yes, the SysTray is a bit... wobbly?.. from time to time. Another of M$ charms... oh wait, didn't those disappear for W10? :p
     
  17. guest

    guest Guest

    How far are we from seeing VS in AVC tests? I remember to read the it was something planned to do.
     
  18. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    I am guessing sometime after Dan finishes his web interface project?
     
  19. KoalaK

    KoalaK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Hi,

    Switched from 3.53 to 3.58 by uninstalling/rebooting. Last version is working like expected
    Congrats Dan
     
  20. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    990
    Installed 3.58 over 3.53. Works great.
     
  21. askmark

    askmark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Posts:
    392
    Location:
    united kingdom
    Installed 3.58 over 3.56 on latest W10 Insider build. No issues so far, other than VS loading slower, but this is to be expected in this build :(
     
  22. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,057
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    3.56 do a clean reinstall to 3.58 see here: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/voodooshield.313706/page-625#post-2668423

     
  23. Telos

    Telos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Baana
    3.58 running well here. Thanks!

    BTW, I'd like to see the command line entries dated so I can see what has been added over the past day. And speaking of time entries, how do I change the whitelist to default to a time sort instead of "process" (similar to User Log).

    ...and another thing... I can never remember to activate install mode. How about including an "install mode" option on the notification window for exe and msi files? I know that is lazy-arsed of me, but I'd wager better than half of my installs/upgrades run afoul of VS.
     
  24. askmark

    askmark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Posts:
    392
    Location:
    united kingdom
    Thanks for the advice but I don't have a problem with 3.58. It's just it now uses the old startup method...
     
  25. TheBear

    TheBear Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    Voodooshield 3.58 working fine here.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.