VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. MrGump

    MrGump Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Posts:
    406
    3.55 working great on Win 10- 64bit

    one this is blocked that i haven't seen before "c:\windows\system32\rundll32.exe" c:\windows\system32\mbcfg64.dll,rundllentry mbcfg64
     
  2. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    993
    I'm going to guess everyone here that stated "it's running fine" rebooted their computers to test the self-protection feature, right?
     
  3. simmersK00L

    simmersK00L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Posts:
    323
    Location:
    USA
    2x
     
  4. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,536
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Yes, indeed...reboot done immediately after an over the top install...and all appeared, and still appears, to be working fine. :)
     
  5. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,820
    Location:
    Canada
    Yeah,same for me. Thanks Dan,great job!:thumb:
     
  6. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    591
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Same here, no issues to report :thumb:
     
  7. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,889
    Location:
    localhost
    Second day testing 3.55beta2 and no issues.
    In previous versions I had problems logging-in after boot.
     
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,522
    I finally put 355b2 on my vm. Installed over the top and it was a disaster. So I restored back did an uninstall and clean install of b2 and now it is purring nicely
     
  9. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    19,841
    Code:
    [03-19-2017 15:56:53] [DEBUG] - DriverCommunicationService::Client disconnected
    [03-19-2017 15:56:53] [ERROR] - VoodooShield has entered self-protection mode. | C:\Program Files\VoodooShield\Notify.exe | C:\Program Files\VoodooShield\VoodooShieldService.exe | True | False
    This can be seen in the log, but there were no issues after a login/logout/reboot with 3.55beta2
     
  10. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,756
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    With VS I always do a clean uninstall using Revo then reinstall after a reboot. Also 3.55b2 is working very well.
     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,522
    Lesson learned
     
  12. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,756
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Not a lesson just my preference. ;)
     
  13. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Installed 3.55b2 over top of 3.53 early this morning with no problems so far.
     
  14. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,820
    Location:
    Canada
    Just noticed something today. I have VS set to "Smart mode" but if I switch Windows off and then restart it, the configuration
    change by itself to "Always On" mode...
     
  15. Cache

    Cache Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Posts:
    428
    Which is what should happen:

    "3.54 Changelog

    Boot time protection… VS will start in Always ON mode, then toggle to your previous mode after 10 seconds. If we need to make this longer, please let me know."
     
  16. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,820
    Location:
    Canada
    O.K. Thanks Cache.:)
     
  17. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    All the positive comments for v. 3.55 were encouraging so installed over 3.53. No discernible impact on restart/startup. VS 3.55 beta2 sank some teeth into a Lenovo hardware diagnostic tool (35% CPU? 2 minutes to launch?), but this is a very seldom run thing anyway. Any improvements anticipated for scan times?
     
  18. smith2006

    smith2006 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    793
    V3.55 beta 2 no go for me, will encounter this error multiple times (8 to be exact) after logon to computer.

    Have tried clean uninstall & reinstall, still hit same error.

     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2017
  19. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,522
    I just installed 355b2 on my first desktop. Did the uninstall reinstall route. Totally routine and is working well.

    Pete
     
  20. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    332
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    Same here. It is hard not to feel frustrated when it seems only you have big problems. (Like me)
    I sent the Dev service logs to Dan. Don't mind me telling you, I suggest you do too, If you haven't done yet, he really appreciate that.
    I'm back and forward from 3.53 to the newest one, none seems to work for me. :'(

    Dan promptly work on the bugs he found on mine and anyone else logs, he is a very considerate fellow.:thumb:
     
  21. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,665
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Also decided to take the plunge on 355 beta 2. I have always updated over the top, so image in hand, decided to do the same again.
    Rebooted. No issues to report, so far.
     
  22. MrGump

    MrGump Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Posts:
    406
    installed 355 again, no problems. win 10 64bt
     
  23. mesaboogieman

    mesaboogieman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    UK
    Hi
    I have the same issue and have sent Dan my logs.
     
  24. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    12,632
    Location:
    UK
    Had a little bit of an issue when installing VS 355 as a clean install on Win 7 64bit

    I had uninstalled the previous build and removed all ProgramData folders and rebooted.

    During 355 install I got an error windows saying VS failed to initialize one of the required components and to try a repair.

    I just ran the installer again and there were no issues this time.

    DevelopersLog.log showed one Error entry only

    '[03-20-2017 09:52:58] [ERROR] - VoodooShield failed to start the driver service.'

    Windows Event Viewer showed...

    Description:
    The VSScanner service failed to start due to the following error:
    The system cannot find the file specified
    Description:
    The VoodooShieldService service terminated unexpectedly. It has done this 1 time(s)

    Source: Windows Error Reporting
    Date: 20/03/2017 09:52:34
    Event ID: 1001
    Task Category: None
    Level: Information
    Keywords: Classic
    User: N/A
    Computer: ***-PC
    Description:
    Fault bucket 545249486, type 30
    Event Name: CLR20r3
    Response: Not available
    Cab Id: 0

    Problem signature:
    P1: voodooshieldservice.exe
    P2: 3.10.108.0
    P3: 58cccda6
    P4: System.ServiceProcess
    P5: 2.0.0.0
    P6: 530f0542
    P7: a3
    P8: 2c
    P9: System.ServiceProcess.Timeout
    P10:

    All seems to be working well now.
     
  25. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    12,632
    Location:
    UK
    Had a little issue with self protection and had to do a hard reset :D

    PM sent.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.