VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Hi Dan

    The 2nd 3.54 beta is installed on test box. So far so good. Reboot was also good. Win 7 Pro x64

    Pete

    PS the start up time is excellent
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,045
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    @VoodooShield Very nice Dan keep up the great work! ;)

    Terminate via Task Manager! Also can't start any new Programs!

    2017-03-14_11-19-17.png 2017-03-14_11-19-51.png
     
  3. askmark

    askmark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Posts:
    392
    Location:
    united kingdom
    @VoodooShield

    All working great here. Rebooted several times with no issues, using 3.54 "Krusty" beta! on Win 8.1 Ent. x64
    Thanks for the updated version and all your hard work.

    Mark
     
  4. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    I have had several requests to respond to the following post.

    https://malwaretips.com/threads/voodooshield-discussion.63827/page-9#post-607449

    My best advice is to stop worrying that companies that are trying to protect you, are spying on you. We use the absolute bare minimum of information that is required to sufficiently protect our users.

    The reason for the 100mb file size limit in VS is simply because those files / hashes do not exist on the blacklist service… so there is no reason to even check. Why burden the servers with a request from a file that is too large to even be on the server?

    Besides, think about how long it would take to upload a 100mb file, while noticing that VS returns the results and displays the user prompt within a second or so… a file of that size could not possibly have uploaded in that amount of time. The same logic applies to VoodooAi… it does not upload the actual file either.

    If you do not want to use a certain feature in VS, simply disable that particular feature.
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2017
  5. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    Yes, I learned this the hard way. Never. Again.
     
  6. _CyberGhosT_

    _CyberGhosT_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Posts:
    457
    Location:
    MalwareTips "Your Security Advisor"
    ;):thumb:
     
  7. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    I have seen file is too large for VT a few times. I think it was when I was installing a new program.

    I installed the first 3.54 beta earlier but has issues booting up so am going to uninstall and try Krustys build.
     
  8. pablozi

    pablozi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Posts:
    215
    Location:
    nowhere
    Amen!
     
  9. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    Is anyone else having an inordinately long wait time for the latest Windows 10 cumulative update to finish installing? It's been 45 minutes now and it's currently stuck on "Working on updates 15%. Don't turn off your computer." I know there was a lot of whitelisting done to VS before this version release but could the toggling from Always On to your regular mode at restart be involved? If not, I'll have to look at other reasons because this update's success looks doubtful. I'm trying to be a good doobie and resist the urge to pull the plug out of the wall.
     
  10. _CyberGhosT_

    _CyberGhosT_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Posts:
    457
    Location:
    MalwareTips "Your Security Advisor"
    Pasted it over there Dan ;)
     
  11. _CyberGhosT_

    _CyberGhosT_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Posts:
    457
    Location:
    MalwareTips "Your Security Advisor"
    I had it DL & Install quite fast, but yes the initial reboot took forever, after that though I am back to a fast reboot.
     
  12. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,199
    VS 3.54 (AutoPilot) - KrustyBuild
    Vivaldi Portable

    If you run Vivaldi & close it, & try VS icon, nothing happens & only sound appears.......
    If you exit VS, Windows FW popup for Vivaldi appears.......
     
  13. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    All the insider builds seem to take along time for me. I turn off all my protection and go uptown most of the time. I am impatient too.
     
  14. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    Yep, the update installed successfully, FINALLY. But it took an unusually long time!
     
  15. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    "I'm trying to be a good doobie and resist the urge to pull the plug out of the wall."

    That was the secret. Have a doobie and wait.:isay:
     
  16. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    Yeah, boredog, next time. Strictly for medicinal purposes.:cool:
     
  17. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,064
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Hey Dan,

    As requested I have emailed you the log. I hope it helps. ;)

    Cheers,
    Krusty
     
  18. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    341
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    After restart or shutdown then restart, Windows 10 either take a long time to open after the welcome screen, or it does not open at all.
    Pressing the tower restart button is the only way to get around it.
    Also if I exit VS before shutting or restarting the computer that wont happen.
    Note that once Windows Defender was "turned of by unknown process" on reboot.

    EDIT: I'll try 3.54 Krusty and report.
     
  19. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,064
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    The log does show a few blocked items on my machine so please do send Dan an email with the log.

    Thanks. :thumb:
     
  20. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    341
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    3.54 Krusty
    Nope, same issue.

    EDIT: Note that once Windows Defender was "turned of by unknown process" on reboot. As per attachment.
    Capture3.PNG
     
  21. VecchioScarpone

    VecchioScarpone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Posts:
    341
    Location:
    Down Under the Southern Cross
    @Krusty. I shall.
     
  22. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,199
    I tried without VS installed & here updates installed under 15 mins..........
     
  23. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,064
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    The version wasn't intended to solve the problem, it just logs what needs to be allowed.
     
  24. guest

    guest Guest

    Can we have this?

    @VoodooShield
     
  25. guest

    guest Guest

    And an option to select which engines from VT should be considered. I would like to discard some.

    Will you release voodooai as a stand alone product?

    @VoodooShield
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.