VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    You probably have the "Automatically allow specific critical Windows processes" disabled. I can debug this with that feature disabled, so that the prompts are correct. Thank you!
     
  2. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Thank you hamo, Moose World, Baldrick and andi_cro!
     
  3. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    I am not sure about the whole memory usage thing, and how different apps detect different usage. I read an interesting article about this several years ago, but I have since forgotten what all it said. If I happen to find it, I will let you know. Thank you!
     
  4. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
  5. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    I have to stop on page 489 for now, but I hope to catch up on the other posts this weekend. Thank you guys, have great weekend ;).
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,057
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I wasn't asking for a change, Red means VS is not protecting and Blue means it is protecting. So all is cool here! I think you meant @SHvFl and his comment in Task Manager: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/voodooshield.313706/page-489#post-2616081

    Also the Memory is about the same in the last few builds that I have posted and I'm fine with it and think it's great. And it's true I highly recommend VS with WSA in a layered approach and most of us Security Guru's don't need any as I never been infected by accident. The real need is Education on Security.

    2016-09-09_18-58-24.png

    Daniel ;)
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2016
  7. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    947
    Location:
    Canada
    Dan is doing an exceptional job developing this product, especially since he's almost a one man show. It is and will be one of the best softs to protect your computer. Why is it not fully developed? All software has glitches and Dan is working them out, give him a chance.
     
  8. Bowhunter26

    Bowhunter26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Posts:
    36
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    3 machines here running VS 3.38, no freezing issues so far for me.

    Thanks Dan for all your hard work!
     
  9. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    835
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    You can't not be impressed with Dan's tenacity and his friendly warts and all approach to customer service. It's so refreshing!
     
  10. askmark

    askmark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Posts:
    392
    Location:
    united kingdom
    Could not agree more. VS is one of the best programs I've come across in over 20 years of using PC's. I couldnt imagine or want to use a PC without it.

    The freeze issue is at worst inconvenient but certainly not a show stopper. To say VS is not ready for practical use is in my opinion simply not true.
     
  11. faircot

    faircot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    224
    Location:
    UK
    Dan
    I had a freeze with b338 earlier today that locked a large (150Mb) PowerPoint file I was saving. Killing VS restored things and allowed my file to close and save.

    Do you want the logs; there seem to be quite a few in this version?
     
  12. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,600
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi Dan

    Hope that you are well?

    So far so good and nothing untowards to report in term of v3.38 Beta...humming along nicely.

    Nice job...as per usual.

    Regards, Baldrick
     
  13. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,709
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    Dropped back to Win 8.1 a couple of days ago from Win 10. Installed VS immediately and updated to 3.38 and then began installing a dozen different pieces of software. Voodooshield doing well, even with over a gigabyte of MS Office Ultimate 2007 installation. No problems with VS to this point, and just about finished putting everything back. I don't know if software installation is relevant to anything concerning VS.
     
  14. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,044
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    No doubt, Dan is a friendly guy.
    He also acquired professional help, to fix the freeze issue,
    but as long as this issue is not solved, this peace of soft is not ready for use, in my opinion.
     
  15. josin

    josin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    Thats not true, not every one experience the notorious freeze issue. I for myself never experienced the freeze for a long time. I feel the more the feed back the less the bugs in software and for that every one here should help by installing every new version.
     
  16. dbrisendine

    dbrisendine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Posts:
    51
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Just wanted to say that the last 4 versions (3.34 ~ 3.38 ) have been running fine for me; no freezes and obeys all settings or input by me when asked or alerted. Keep up the great work!

    Win10 x64 AU, various Security suites over the last four versions with no issues
     
  17. Gillor

    Gillor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Posts:
    84
    Location:
    UK
    I feel the same about Windows10 and its Anniversary update - from a company with 119,000 employees and a Market Cap of $340 billion.

    But like VS, not everyone has had problems.

    At least VS doesn’t claim to be a stable release.
     
  18. zarzenz

    zarzenz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Posts:
    502
    Location:
    UK
    I like many others have also reported here, have never had a single freeze on any version at any time.

    However I have noticed that with all the work that Dan has been doing with the recent versions, this seems to have improved the feel of it and it seems snappier in the way it responds to any interaction when required.

    This leads me to believe that the freeze issue is more to do with some peoples hardware or firmware or configurations in their systems rather than with the coding of VS. Surely if there was a software issue then it would freeze on all systems regardless of any other factors of individual systems.

    So my thinking is this... the latest versions have improved the overall workabililty of the program which is what happens with all application updates. I really don't think there can be any problem with the basic coding in the software otherwise every single person using it would have had a freeze by now.

    Great work Dan... you are a credit to the world of developers and your friendly attitude here is wonderful.
     
  19. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,750
    Location:
    EU
    I don't have any freeze issues either on win10 Pro (x64) latest build. Nor any other issues I have encountered so far. And yes........great work Dan.
     
  20. faircot

    faircot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    224
    Location:
    UK
    Right. Another freeze just now with 338. Again, I was saving and uploading a large PowerPoint file to Dropbox when VS froze. I can't see anything unusual in any of the logs and VS was using 45k of memory - higher than usual but not excessive, I'd have thought.

    There's definitely a pattern here in this PC.
     
  21. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    I had to stop using VS a while ago due to freezes but after following this thread and the updates on the issue, I'm also inclined to think it's inherently this machine. It's either-or, because I d/c using it due to the pure randomness of freeze--whether it was my machine's fault or the software itself didn't matter.. It's more difficult to isolate the cause when it's your machine versus the software. I have small but signif. memory leaks, periodic RADAR PRE LEAK..., maybe that has something to do with it.
     
  22. PaleDark

    PaleDark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Posts:
    55
    Hi, I wonder if Voodooshield have a guidebook or user instructions on the settings? I tried to search it in the website but couldn't locate it.
     
  23. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Hey everyone, I will catch up soon, but real quick...

    I experienced a freeze and it happened while using Chrome (I normally use Firefox), and I remember that we initially thought that Chrome might be one thing that is triggering the freeze. When I looked at the logs, I noticed that right before I started Task Manager to kill the VS gui, there were 3 processes with massively long command lines... like this:

    cmd="C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe" --type=renderer --enable-features=AutomaticTabDiscarding<AutomaticTabDiscarding,*PreconnectMore<PreconnectMore,*TranslateUI2016Q2<TranslateUI2016Q2,UsePasswordSeparatedSigninFlow<PasswordSeparatedSigninFlow --disable-features=DocumentWriteEvaluator<DisallowFetchForDocWrittenScriptsInMainFrame,UpdateRendererPriorityOnStartup<UpdateRendererPriorityOnStartup --force-fieldtrials=AppBannerTriggering/Aggressive/AutofillEnabled/Default/*AutomaticTabDisc

    Anyway, if we can reliably duplicate the freeze issue, it will be a super easy fix, but since we cannot reproduce it on demand, I have to wait several days (3-20 or so), and even then, it is difficult to isolate because typically I am just running VS by itself, and not in a debugger. So I am going to run VS in a debugger for several days, with Chrome installed, and see if we can isolate the bug. I am also gong to email Vlad to see if he thinks that the massively long command lines might have something to do with the freeze issue.

    But yeah faircot, can you please send me your logs, and if possible, point me to when the freeze occurred? If you made a copy of the logs right when it happened, it will be easy... just let me know if that is the case, and I will know that the freeze happened at the end of the log.

    And if anyone can figure out how to reliably reproduce the freeze issue, please let me know, thank you!
     
  24. mesaboogieman

    mesaboogieman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    UK
    Hi
    Dan, just for your information I have never had a freeze (so far) and I use Firefox. Is it worth polling the members to see if the freeze is only associated with Chrome users or has this already been done?
     
  25. WildByDesign

    WildByDesign Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Posts:
    2,587
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    @VoodooShield Good point on the long Chrome command lines. Many of the Chrome processes contain very long command lines generally. And if I do recall correctly, Vlad did do heavy work on the command line functionality (wildcards and such) with his early work on VS. So that is certainly a possibility. I hope that you are successfully in tracking down this freeze issue.

    Another thing that I have noticed is that many users here had mentioned that VS had froze right after coming out of sleep mode (or hibernation, whichever the proper terminology is). Since this VS freeze issue affects some users and not all, it could be that some users disable sleep mode / hibernation and also maybe dependent upon power plan settings in general. Maybe even a combination of having Chrome running on the system with massive command lines along with coming out of sleep mode.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.