VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. askmark

    askmark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Posts:
    392
    Location:
    united kingdom
  2. djg05

    djg05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,563
    Just as I went to shut down 336 to install 337 I found it had frozen. Am enclosing the memory at that point. Also second one running 337
     

    Attached Files:

  3. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    @VoodooShield
    Installed 337 over the top of 336, no issues.
    BTW I have never experienced any problems especially freezing whatsoever on various setups.
    I keep on installing all these new versions purely to see if anything breaks ;)
     
  4. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,976
    I installed this about 40 minutes or so ago, and chose Auto Pilot mode, and rebooted....Seems Ok...I am running in free version mode, initially.

    SAP popped up and I allowed the installer. And, another one advises of a new startup, which is from Panda Global Protection.

    ScreenShot_VS_3.37beta_install_03.GIF

    No freezing in evidence, but maybe I wouldn't know, anyhow.
     
  5. askmark

    askmark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Posts:
    392
    Location:
    united kingdom
    If you don't mind me asking, what OS and real time security software you're using?

    I'm using Win 8.1 and Win 10. Never had any freezes on the Win 10 machine, but the Win 8.1 laptop has froze on all the betas, including 337, sadly :(
     
  6. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,484
    hp printer still produces alerts with every print, even on version 3.36
    but I think I fixed it by editing the command line with a * wildcard:
    rundll32.exe c:\windows\system32\spool\drivers\x64\3\hpinksts7212.dll/*
    if this edit is ill-advised, please advise, as I am code-illiterate.
     
  7. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    893
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Okay, installed this version over the top of 3.36 or is a clean install advised?
    What are the changes in this version?
     
  8. simmersK00L

    simmersK00L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Posts:
    323
    Location:
    USA
    installed 3.37 2 minutes ago. mem vs 30,508k & vssvc= 16,800. seems about the same as 3.36. not expecting a freeze ;)
     
  9. guest

    guest Guest

    I haven't experience any freeze and I have installed almost all the releases.
    I hope you can finish with the bugs and focus on new features and enhancements
     
  10. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,599
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
  11. MrGump

    MrGump Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Posts:
    406
    3.36 was in install mode but did not allow me to install NVida GeForce Experience till i shut it down.
     
  12. PaleDark

    PaleDark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Posts:
    55
    I wish to know if 2 license were purchase separately, can the duration be "stacked"?

    Or does it need to be key'ed right after the existing one pending expiry?
     
  13. djg05

    djg05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,563
    Win 7, P Firewall, SB, Avira
     
  14. solitarios

    solitarios Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Posts:
    200
    Hello.
    I would like that in the version free have the option of removing the desktop shield gadget.
    Best regards.
     
  15. KoalaK

    KoalaK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Right-click VS Icon in systray and click hide

    I had no freeze with 3.37 after 10 hours of use
     
  16. solitarios

    solitarios Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Posts:
    200
    Thanks a lot! :thumb:
     
  17. schmidthouse

    schmidthouse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Posts:
    26
    Location:
    Sunny Okanagan Valley Canada
    On that note.......I have had to keep allowing the NVIDIA GeForce Experience "backend update" process since the very beginning.
    Frustrating.
     
  18. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,484
    if you have pro edition, you can go into command lines, and if you find that the command line for NVIDIA is very long, especially with a lot of arbitrary characters in it, you can edit it.
    You add /* after the main process, and delete the rest, and save.
    try it.
     
  19. hamo

    hamo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Posts:
    67
    Location:
    Egypt
    I think we are very near from Final Version, I hope no more beta,

    2016-09-08_23h04_38.png
     
  20. ieno

    ieno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Sorry to report that 3.37 appears to have frozen on my Win10 machine after coming out of sleep just now (autopilot mode). VS Service is at 21300K memory, VS.exe is at 60560K.
     
  21. TheBear

    TheBear Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    I just received a warning from VS beta 337 that an .exe file was suspect. The dialog showed a voodooai rating. I am used to seeing a dialog that says the file was checked by 57 antivirus databases AND also information from voodooai. Has there been a change that I missed? what happened to the 57 antivirus databases.
     
  22. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,044
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    Sorry, and don't get me wrong,
    but a one and a half men show seems to be not enough, to face today's challenge.

    The concept of VS seems simple, but not fully developed, to be ready for practical use.

    I'll give it a try, when ready to use.
     
  23. The concept of the toggle on and off lock is simple but effective. The addition of VoodooAI is brilliant considering it beats other machine learning solutions like Invincea and Cylance.

    Problem is in the technical implementation of stopping an unknown executable, suspending it temporarily to do the VoodooAI rating and Blacklist scan.

    The down side is that Dan also has a consultancy / support business to run (VS started as side kick to save on support time after infection of clients).

    The upside is as soon as Dan has sold his consultancy businesses, he has time and resources to hire some developers to weed out this nasty freeze issue.

    The freeze issue is not a program logic error but most likely a wrong way of interacting with the OS (like memory leak or access right dead locks).
     
  24. guest

    guest Guest

  25. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Here is the latest… I am hoping the freeze issue is fixed, if not, I am talking to a software company on Monday, and they are going to help me figure out what is causing the freeze issue. I have been cleaning up the code and performing optimizations so that it will make a lot more sense to them when they see it. Visual Studio has a code analysis feature that helps to optimize the code for design, reliability, performance, security, etc. Most developers that I have worked with do not think it is necessary and do not bother performing the code analysis, but I always find that it helps quite a bit. It basically offers ways to make things more efficient and reliable.

    So that is that I have been up to… along with tracking down any memory leaks. I am hoping that between cleaning up the code, performing the code analysis and tracking down the memory leaks, the freeze issue will be fixed once and for all.

    I also added some logging to the dll’s… that is about the only thing we have not checked, so if VS freezes, please send me your logs.

    I highly recommend everyone upgrade to this version asap!

    Thanks again for all of your help and patients, I will catch up soon!

    https://voodooshield.com/Download/beta3/InstallVoodooShield338.exe

    BTW, this is the only link for 3.38 that I have posted... I will update my signature and the website download once we know it is working well... I think it is ;).
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.