VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Congratulation on your new Surface and windows 10. Please provide a review of it.
    I am sure we will miss all your icons in the task bar! :D
     
  2. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,979
    I couldn't write a review to save my life...:D So far, I haven't done anything on it, yet, to muck it up....I haven't got the hang of using a trackpad. But, I foresaw that, and bought the Surface Arc Touch Mouse at the same time. I might never bother trying to learn how to use the trackpad.
     
  3. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,712
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    334 installed and an hour later closed the laptop to eat dinner. Came back a couple of hours later and VS had frozen. Right clicked on the icon and it opened, showing it had flipped from smartmode to training mode. That hadn't happened before.

    I tried closing it with process explorer but no go. Had to restart.
     
  4. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    I am afraid 334 also froze here. Usual problem, icon not responding, etc.... memory consumption normal.
    Sorry can't provide the logs (for an unrelated problem I had to reimage the system). If needed I can provide them the next time it freeze.
     
  5. faircot

    faircot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    226
    Location:
    UK
    Ditto
     
  6. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Cool, thank you for letting me know about the freeze... Vlad is working on the memory leak right now, so that should be fixed soon.

    If VS does freeze again, please let me know what the memory utilization is!!!!

    I will catch up soon, thank you!
     
  7. hamo

    hamo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Posts:
    67
    Location:
    Egypt
    First freeze for me, Version 3.4,
    When installing Ad guard the installing freeze , right click VS freezing appear !

    When ending VS processes from task manger , the installing of Ad guard resuming normally.

    2016-09-01_00h03_53.png
     
  8. ieno

    ieno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Unfortunately, 3.34 froze here as well (after resuming from sleep) on autopilot mode, which didn't happen in the earlier versions (where it only seemed to freeze on whitelisting modes). Also, the desktop shield was entirely gone, as opposed to earlier versions in which the shield was still there when freezing. Richt-clicking the VS tray icon does give the non-removable context popup though.

    Memory usage.
     
  9. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Hey everyone, I will catch up soon... but I wanted to mention that I just upgraded the Cuckoo Sandbox, and I was curious if you guys could throw some files at it to see how it does! Vlad is still working on the memory leak issue, I hope that will be fixed very soon, thank you!
     
  10. faircot

    faircot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    226
    Location:
    UK
    Walked away from the PC for ten minutes and came back to find VS frozen.

    Here's the memory usage at that point.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Memory usage during freeze
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,366
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2470799,00.asp

     
  13. Cache

    Cache Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Posts:
    432
    Location:
    Mercia
  14. lunarlander

    lunarlander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Posts:
    314
    I don't like the way PC Mag tries to shoehorn VS into the antivirus category and compare it with other antiviruses. It is an anti-executable and should be called so.
     
  15. guest

    guest Guest

    Indeed one of the few good detailed review from PC Mag.
     
  16. Why does VoodooShield recommends WSA?

    Marketing and security wise it would make more sense to tell people VS is the perfect add on to Windows Defender.

    Go figure: there are about 3 billion devices running Windows OS. M$ wanted Win10 to achieve a market share of 1/3 (which they did not obtain).

    Avast has about 240 million, AVG 75, Avira about the same, Bitdefender with its engine sold to other AV about the same as Avast, so let's assume all other AV's included, third party AV's are on 1 billion Windows devices, this means that WD potential is at least as big as all other combined.

    WHY WSA? I personally think WSA is one of the best AV available (it had a white list mode, like Smartscreen and Avast has) just does not make sense from security perspective nor marketing perspective.

    Remember: Choosing one person out of a group is saying no to the others (which happen to be competitors to).

    So suppose WSA has 20 to 50 million endpoints covered, which is 2 to 5 percent max of the total third party AV market and WD's market share.

    What is the rationale behind mentioning WSA?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 3, 2016
  17. Maybe but for the future of VS it is better to think bigger with al this fuzz about next Gen machine learning / artificial intelligence in security world.
     
  18. I responded in that thread over at MT, this was my response.
     
  19. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,071
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    With the top Shield being Red that tells me VS wasn't on, as in Learning mode or in Smart mode with no active Browser or email client open? And it freezes? Mine is blue as I have both open.

    2016-09-02_9-56-11.png
     
  20. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    well, this time I found it like this, unresponsive and OFF. Last time it was unresponsive and AUTO (how I always set it up at install).
     
  21. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,071
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Did you have a Browser or email client active at the time? As I always said I have not seen the freeze issue on my 2 Windows 10 x64 systems so just wondering.
     
  22. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    I am sure I had the browser open but not active.... can't remember if I had Outlook open, possibly. :)
     
  23. andi_cro

    andi_cro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Posts:
    49
    Location:
    Croatia
    VS 334 on Windows 10 x64 AU
    Autopilot mode...
    Image 1.jpg Image 2.jpg
     
  24. hamo

    hamo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Posts:
    67
    Location:
    Egypt
    First, VS on all mode depend on user experiences.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------

    msdt : Microsoft System Diagnostics Tool.
    Msdt.exe is able to record keyboard and mouse inputs. So VS show you that .The msdt.exe file is a trustworthy file from Microsoft but not essential for the system, depending on your choice.

    chrome.exe : Chrome.exe is able to manipulate other programs, record keyboard and mouse inputs and monitor applications. Therefore the technical security rating is 18% dangerous. Chrome.exe is not essential for the Windows OS.
    ( We know that when we use google , no privacy at all ) but the file is legal. you should allow it to use chrome as browser or toolbar .
    Also depending on your choice.



     
  25. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    Salutations/Greetings!!!

    From: Earlier Post: 12120 is the latest version of VS ready.:thumb:
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.