VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    VS Review HERE https://www.youtube.com/user/ThePCSecurity
     
  2. djg05

    djg05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,563
    Hi Dan

    After many weeks of non freezing from VS (330) it has started freezing again. In my case it usually occurs after installing a program.

    I had noticed recently that when I start the computer in the morning I get a warning about being in training mode and do I want to normal. This may happen because if I have been trying out progs I don't check the state of VS before shutting down. I have now updated to 331 and will see what gives.

    The particular program which seemed to cause it is NCR Moneyline
    http://www.nchsoftware.com/personalfinance/index.html
     
  3. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    732
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    Salutations/Greetings!

    Thank you for answering my post from early:

    11747,11748,11749,11750 ect...

    Appreciate the feedback!!!
     
  4. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    I have not had a freeze since installing 3.30 beta so far.
     
  5. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,124
    Location:
    UK
    Having this problem on both the new releases Dan ha published here....Using Win 10 x64 AU 1607 fully updated via Windows updates...I've uninstalled and reinstalled several times and its just groundhog day...It installs fine just fails on reboot.

    http://i.imgur.com/x2Ryy6e.jpg
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,037
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    No freezing issues with 3.31 beta and never did with any of the other builds, and the did you work on the USB code as it showed upon inserting a USB drive! Did you fix the Disable/Install bug as it doesn't look like it? If not can you tell what you did fix from the list.

    Daniel ;)

    2016-08-12_17-51-48.png 2016-08-12_17-54-23.png 2016-08-12_17-57-32.png
     
  7. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,965
    Location:
    Canada
    Since the latest Windows 10 update, right after boot, Voodooshield is blocking DISMHOST.EXE Any idea what is that and how to fix it?
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2016
  8. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,373
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Win 10 Pro x64 AU (1607). VS 3.30 (not SBS unfortunately) in Disable / Install mode, frozen on wake from sleep but still blocking dismhost. Will send logs.
     
  9. TheBear

    TheBear Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    Yes, let me know if you find out. also, VS is warning about c:\windows\syswow64\reg.exe
     
  10. Gein

    Gein Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Posts:
    208
    and rundll32.exe
     
  11. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,124
    Location:
    UK


    Having had the same problem with MBAE I checked their forum and it seems those who did a live update had no problems but those who like me did a clean install did..MBAE wasn't loading (they released a build to try and counter the problem and asked for feedback and it has , MBAE now works for me)...I'm guessing the problem I'm having with voodoo is due to the clean install.
     
  12. faircot

    faircot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    222
    Location:
    UK
    A quick update about 3.31 SBS beta. Since installing it two days ago I haven't had a single instance of it freezing on me. This compares to an average of 2-3 instances a day of VS locking up on recent previous betas.

    It's looking good so far.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2016
  13. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    820
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Have you tried the latest version 3.31 form here: https://voodooshield.com/Download/beta3/InstallVoodooShield.exe ?
    That worked for me on a clean install of Win 10 AU.
     
  14. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    820
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Had my first freeze of VoodooShield 3.31 when installing the dutch version of Nitro pdf reader from https://www.gonitro.com/nl/pdf-reader/download
    I will sent the logs to Dan @VoodooShield
    Will try the version with the SyncBindingSource removed now.
    And VoodooShield SBS freezes when opening a pdf with Nitro... logs sent.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2016
  15. faircot

    faircot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    222
    Location:
    UK
    For (Dan's) information, VS doesn't freeze here with PDF-Exchange editor - I've been using it this a.m.
     
  16. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Cool, thank you guys... I think we are getting close to fixing the freeze issue! Someone recently mentioned the DriverCommunicationService being disconnected, and in the logs that Gandalf just sent, it was pretty clear that it is what is causing the freeze issue.

    Here is the DeveloperServiceLog entry:

    [08-14-2016 11:44:47] [DEBUG] - DriverCommunicationService::Disconnected
    [08-14-2016 11:45:05] [DEBUG] - DriverCommunicationService::Connect 50 threads

    Which matches the DeveloperLog (GUI):

    [08-14-2016 11:44:40] [DEBUG] - taskmgr.exe (5640) AllowReason: 0x0103 (This is where you brought up the task manager to kill VS!!!)
    [08-14-2016 11:44:40] [DEBUG] - SRD::HP: ctx=372, allow = True (00:00:00.0001780)
    [08-14-2016 11:45:03] [INFO ] - Runtime: 2.0.50727.8745
    [08-14-2016 11:45:05] [INFO ] - ******************* User started VS 3.31 Beta ***************************

    I have already emailed Vlad to see what he thinks, but please continue to run the SBS version for a couple of days, so we can see what happens.

    I hope to have the other bugs fixed in the next couple of days as well, so we should be good to go, and I will catch up on the posts I missed soon, thank you!
     
  17. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    820
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I would be great if you finally can isolate and fix the freezing issue :thumb: Glad to be of help. I will keep the SBS version installed.
     
  18. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Cool, thank you! Actually, the more I look at it... I think when you killed VS in the task manager, that is what disconnected the DriverCommunicationService.

    That's ok, there are only a few other small things it can be, so I will keep looking!
     
  19. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    820
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ok, I will keep running the SBS version and let you know when/if it freezes. Next time I will collect the logs before killing VS by the task manager.
     
  20. Spruce

    Spruce Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Posts:
    297
    Installed latest beta right now :) using on-demand scanner as backup enough, or keep Avira?
     
  21. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    820
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    From the faq
    So I would keep Avira.
     
  22. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,037
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  23. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    oh oh just hd a freeze and didn't even know it till I right clicked the tray icon. then I knew.

    going to try 3.31 now.
     
  24. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,124
    Location:
    UK


    I have, no success. Installs and works perfectly but fails on reboot...I might turn secureboot off if upcoming builds don't work, I've read varying reports of its usefulness here and there...


    Edit: Please lets not turn this into a secureboot debate, it will just be a decision I make..This is about problems I'm having with the topic, voodoo shield, not anything else :)
     
  25. guest

    guest Guest

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.